We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Painted Peppercorn - CLOSED

The Painted Peppercorn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Erin, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Came recommended by our daughter - Great find off the beaten path - food was very good and service was exceptional

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    33
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great little Restaurant for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have enjoyed lunch at the Painted Peppercorn many times since it first opened several years ago and have always enjoyed the ambience, friendly service and the simple but wholesome food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the local flavours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Have eaten here on almost every visit to the county - their soups in the fall are amazing! Everything so full of flavour and fresh. Staff has always been friendly. Loads of character. Worth the effort to find - just off the main road. Park at the end of the street in the municipal parking.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AnitaMacTDBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Oozing with smiles, homeliness and experiences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

One of our ways to spend the weekend is to rent a car and travel to a far out county and eat at a local restaurant. We had picked Picton, the other weekend and I checked up the Painted Peppercorn.

A little difficult to locate while you are driving around, I had to get down, park the car and locate the restaurant on foot. A few signs for the weak sighted and distracted would have helped.

Not knowing what to expect, we went in and were lucky enough to get the last seats at a the packed small joint. The restaurant had the outlook of a well maintained and cared for establishment.

Being vegetarians and travelling with a child, our options are generally limited to greens and something that our kid will take a liking to. My child's pizza on a pita, and the lentil curry along with a quesadilla (that was made vegetarian on request) were good (not great though). But what really made the food absolutely lovely was the care that was put into the process. Right from guiding us on the order to serving desserts we were delighted with the warm reception.

I would probably not recommend the restaurant for vegetarians but it fulfilled the purpose for which we had undertaken the trip from Toronto to Picton - to visit some place new and be charmed by the county and its people.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank saraadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Small and cozy with big flavour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is an excellent restaurant for a good lunch. The meals are well prepared and flavourful and the staff is quick and very nice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Painted Peppercorn also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing