We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family place very close to Sandbanks provincial Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandbanks Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Picton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent family place very close to Sandbanks provincial Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The place is very clean beautiful and close to the Sandbanks Park as well as the dunes which is a major attraction in the area.
The owners Tim and his wife were very helpful and supportive.
A must visit place and highly recommended for your vacation to Prince Edward county, picton or Sandbanks.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kunal_Shreni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
22
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

My name is zeb, my wife and i used to be seasonal campers at the sandbanks dunes park for three years. We bought a new house and decided to move are trailer to a park that was closer to are new home so that we could cut down on travel time. This was about six years ago, and we still regret it. we have been in two parks since then and none of them come even close to the experiance we had at sandbanks beach resort. although we are in a different park we find ourselves going into prince edward county just to get that amazing feeling back. The location, pepole, atmosphere, and management at this park are amazing. this place is truly one of the best places to stay if you want a relaxing vacation with tons of things to do. After six years of trying to find a place that would make us feel the same way as we did when we where at sandbanks beach resort, my wife and i have decide to move are trailer back to the place that makes us TRULY HAPPY!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Zeb460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I just came back from sandbanks beach resort.

I was with my friends and rented a nice cottage at 2068-40b.

Very clean, quiet and nice trails all around.

People are nice and the owners Tim and Joanne are very nice people and taking care of their park.


I will definitely go back in july.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel_Savard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Although the location near the sand dunes is beautiful, the park is very trashy. Bathrooms are not clean and playground for children is falling apart. The owner was not helpful when we required help with the smallest of items. There are LOTS of much nicer places to stay near-by!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank 873Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our family has been going to this trailer park (Sand Dunes location) for the past four years. It's amazing if you have young children as it is the closest place you can stay to the Provincial Park (3 minute walk through a path to Dunes Beach) and there is a playground in the middle of the park. We always opted for a trailer right in front of the playground so we could relax and read while keeping an eye on the kids. There is also a nice dock you can swim from if you don't feel like the beach some days. West lake is beautiful and the sunsets over the dunes are the best I've seen. The place is very well maintained with about 8 very clean, new rental trailers with the remainder of the park occupied by seasonal renters who own their trailers. It is a very quiet park at night but that doesn't mean you can't enjoy a nice campfire if you keep the noise to a minimum. My favourite thing about this place is how dark and peaceful it is at night - best sleeps ever! And the kids are able to roam free and hang out with the multitude of seasonal and visiting kids. We even get friends to come with us each year which makes it all the more fun - eating and drinking wonderful Prince Edward County food and wine.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanderlust A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
201 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked two “tent” sites for six adults (three couples all 26 and 36 year old) for two nights. We were told at booking at this was a family resort and that we would have to be quiet after 11pm. Although we did not go to bed at 11pm, we made sure to keep our voice at a strict minimum and simply chatted around a fire.

Our first initial thought of the place when we arrived Friday was that there is absolutely no privacy. The lots are small and very tight together. There are trees, but not enough to provide shade or privacy.

On our first morning, the Manager came over and told us we had been very quiet and that he was impressed and pleased with us. On the second morning, he came over and yelled at us that we had broken our promise and that he had received complaints from “everyone in the Park” about how loud we were on both nights. Right after the interaction with him, two neighbours, who had heard everything, came over to tell us they hadn’t heard anything. The complaint came from a family, who were also in a tent. Her complaint to us was not that we were loud but that we had our fire running still after midnight and that she could see the shadow in her tent (lots of extremely close to each other).

I would not stay here again, even if I was travelling only with my grand parents. The privacy is pretty much null and I believe that we would have received complaint no matter who I was travelling with. My friends and family are not the type of people to go to bed at 9pm when camping.

I must say, the beach at the resort is nice (hard sand once you pass the rocks) and from what I saw, they take really good care of their grounds as well as great care of the trailers they rent out. The Dunes beach is a few KM’s away and the others are easily accessible by cars, so location is ok. The bathroom facilities are ok. There is a shower and a bathroom with running water. It’s nothing fancy but serves the strict minimum when camping, which is totally acceptable.

Although my own personal experience was poor, I would still recommend this place for families with young children who are VERY quiet and low key and go to bed before 10pm. If your style is to stay up part of the night eating marshmallow on the fire, no matter your age, go somewhere else... This place offers no privacy at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anikabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This resort is nice and pleasant IF you have a family and are in bed by midnight. I am in my early 30's, I stayed at this campground for 2 night with two other responsible, young professional couples. We stayed up until 2-3am both nights, quietly having beverages and marshmallows. Music was off. There was no loud talking, laughing or excessive noise. The morning of our departure, the owner confronted me very aggressively. He yelled at me saying that EVERYONE at the campsite had complained to him of our late night rowdiness. This was strange considering the morning after our first night at the campsite, he told us our conduct had been terrific on the first night. He was rude, aggressive and arrogant in his approach. I have been camping at private/public campgrounds for years, I understand the need to respect other people's "quiet time". We were NOT disruptive; several of our close-by neighbours confirmed this to me prior to our departure.
I will not be going back. If you have a family and plan on having a "lights out policy" by 10pm, this place will be fine for you. If not, I strongly suggest you stay away. I am a paying customer. There is no need for aggressive, arrogant, profanity ridden rants conducted by campground Owners. Moreover, this Resort is not geared towards campers in tents. The lots are small, hard, with no privacy at all. This is a trailer park, not a tent campground.

Room Tip: Not a place for tents. This is a trailer park. The tent site offer no pricacy whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
6.5 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
8.7 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
19.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Belleville
0.6 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
4.3 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Beach Resort

Property: Sandbanks Beach Resort
Address: 1818 County Road 12 | R.R. #1, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandbanks Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sandbanks Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Beach Resort Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing