We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Manse Boutique Inn & Spa
Ranked #4 of 42 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario Cnaada
2 reviews
“Spectacular”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent August 24/25, 2012 at the Manse Boutique Inn for a family gathering. The accommodations were perfect, the hosts were second to none and the dining was spectacular. We biked the county road 7/8 route which is approximatley 60 km. A great ride with little traffic and the cars that we did see were very considerate to cyclists.
Would definately return to this Inn and highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a getaway. Picton is a beautiful town and the downtown shops were very appealing for one of a kind shoppers.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the balcony rooms which overlooks the pool, hot tub and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunfunvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
126
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This small boutique hotel is beautifully appointed and stands out in Picton for it's elegance. We have stayed several times at the Merrill Inn as well as a nice B&B and we strongly prefer the rooms and amenities at The Manse. The service is excellent and the breakfast was generous and effortlessly catered to our preferences and allergies. This is the place to stay in Prince Edward County.

Room Tip: We were traveling with another couple. Rooms 1 and 4 share a common balcony which is nice to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtemisToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We had a last minute mid week getaway to lovely PEC and stayed at The Manse. This inn is second to none! The room features, amenities, personal service and location make this a must-stay in Picton. Kathleen and Chef Chris are amazing hosts. The breakfast is scrumptious with personal choice and if you want a real treat have dinner here too! The grounds are spectacular with waterfall, beautiful landscaping, hot tub and pool...all immaculate! Main St is a stones throw away but you would never know it dining in tranquility adjacent to the waterfall...true oasis in Picton!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

we were lucky to find this new hotel on the Prince Edward County website. Love the area, but not many choices for accommodation of you don't like B and Bs. The owners have done an amazing job - every luxury has been thought of. we still prefer the comfort of the Claramont, another Picton inn. - rooms are bigger, bathrooms (and tubs! more comfortable), but Claramont has made it impossible to stay less than 3 nights on long weekends, not buy meals, etc.

tricky to find the Manse - make sure you ask for directions first - you can see from main road, but you may not be able to get there.

small things could be improved - lighting in bathroom - hard to put on makeup, bigger bath towels, full length mirror. also a warning, that there are a lot of stairs, so challenging for someone with disabilities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphinOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Manse review
We only stayed one night at The Manse because we were late booking on a long weekend and they were booked solid for the rest of the weekend, a good sign for business.

We loved the modern, chic styling and attention to detail in the decor.  It felt more like a boutique hotel in a big city which is what we like.  The bed was extremely comforable with great linens, we slept really well.

The Innkeeper Kathleen was fantastic, really helpful and personable.  The food prepared by Chef Chris was delicious, really a step above what we've experienced at other Inn's and B&B's in the area.  

We went with the prix fixe dinner which I highly recommend.  There are some great restaurants in the area but Chef Chris's thoughtful menu, presentation and tasty food pairings is worth a try.  While it was rainy, we ate outside on the porch and it was lovely.  The food was excellent for the value; smoked salmon salad, beef tenderloin, chocolate ginger cake - wow!  Breakfast was outstanding with eggs anyway we wanted them or pancakes or crepes home cured bacon, yogurt & muesli.

We didn't get a chance to soak in the pool or hot tub but they're nice additions and we'll surely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruttegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Let me just start by saying, we were very excited to come home just to be able to write this pleasing review. We had such a great time at this boutique Inn that we are delighted to share our experience with others in hopes to promote this fabulous new little Inn.
We stayed at the Inn with 2 other couples. We were warmly greeted by Kathleen immediately upon arrival. She made us feel so at home while she explained all the Inn and the area had to offer.
There is no doubt that the personal attention paid to detail in the renovations by Sian and David makes this a beautiful spot to spend a couple of days. The Inn has all the modern touches but managed to keep a warm and cozy feeling as well. There are 2 rooms on the 2nd floor with balconies and they were very inviting. How nice to be able to sit out and enjoy a glass of wine in your room after a great day of wine tours!
Kathleen and Chris run the Inn. Kathleen is a delightful host and manages the Inn (and many other things) and her husband Chris is the Chef. The food was absolutely magnificent. We never had anything that wasn’t fabulous. We enjoyed a delicious dinner on our first night and then made the mistake of going somewhere else for dinner the second night. Our breakfasts were made to order. The homemade spicy prunes and yogurt… the very tasty smoked bacon… all so yummy.
We would definitely go back again and recommend this as wonderful place to stay.
Kudos to Sian and David for their vision in renovating such a great Inn and also for finding such a great couple as Kathleen and Chris to manage it… oh, and thanks to Kathleen for her suggestions on wineries to visit. We really liked the wines at Devils Wishbone and Closson Chase.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor with the balconies are very nice. Not sure paying extra for the suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug5Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

What a treat to see how a handsome old stone residence can give pleasure today, thanks to inspired renovation, good taste, fine decoration, elegant landscaping together with efficient and pleasant management!

My impressions of The Manse based on my two-night stay are overwhelmingly enthusiastic. The establishment combines the best of modern facilities and the good vibrations of being in a heritage building, as well as the amenities of a fine hotel with the intimacy of an upmarket B+B.

The recent re-imagining of the former Presbyterian Church minister’s residence into a chic inn has already won a renovation award, and I think it deserves more. For example, the wrap-around porch and gazebo, and upper level Gothic-shaped windows, all seem to be part of the original structure, but it became obvious from looking at “before and after” photos that they were added as part of the renovations. To me, this is top-notch architecture.

The landscaping, with its big blocks of local limestone, native grasses, and transplanted mature trees and bushes, its pleasant winding flag-stone paths and delightful little limestone waterfall and pond, is a lovely bonus. And during our visit in July’s heat wave, the attractive swimming pool was a great treat.

The rooms and bathrooms, while not large, have spacious windows (ours, #1, had French doors and had a great view overlooking the garden and pool), top end furniture, beds, bedding, bathroom and lighting fixtures, as well as attractive local art.

The Manager, Kathleen, is friendly and helpful, and can provide advice on tours of the nearby vineyards and other sights; her husband Chris prepares delicious customized breakfasts, and is available by prior arrangement to prepare private dinners on site.

The location of the Manse deserves mention: it is just beside the church and so is sufficiently set back from Picton’s main street. This means that there is virtually no traffic noise and that it is ideally situated for strolls along the pleasant main street and through the town.

For a place that had opened so soon before our visit, it was remarkable how few “loose ends” there were, and how minor they were. This Inn is set to provide much pleasure to many guests in the years to come – in all seasons. We hope to return!

Room Tip: Room 1 has tall French doors and a gorgeous view over the garden and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarsawWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
1.9 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
129 reviews
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
467 reviews
10.3 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 13 in Wellington
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manse Boutique Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manse Boutique Inn & Spa

Property: The Manse Boutique Inn & Spa
Address: 10 Chapel St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manse Boutique Inn is a completely renovated 107yr old building. Modern finishes, high quality amenities and a commitment to our guests allow us to stand out in Picton.The Manse is a b&b style Inn with a dedicated couple innkeeper/chef to host your stay. We pride ourselves on a private intimate experience at The Manse.A note to unregistered guests, we are open to the public from 10am - 5pm, so that all of our attention is placed upon our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manse Boutique Inn & Spa Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing