We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fifth Town Artisan Cheese

Fifth Town Artisan Cheese
Ranked #2 of 17 Shopping in Picton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are currently undergoing upgrades at our facility but we look forward to being back in production soon! In the meantime we have both locally produced and imported cheeses for offer. Our retail store hosts a selection of decadent goods to accompany our fine cheeses.Come on out for a visit!
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Love, love, love this place! Eco friendly with their LEED building, organic, imported... Delicious! Service is fantastic, the trip is worth your while!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jevb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful facility but many cheese selections not locally made”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I had purchased Fifth Town Cheese in the past from Farmer's Markets in Toronto and was very impressed. We finally decided to make a trip up to Prince Edward County and make the facility part of our visit. After tasting a variety of delicious cheese, we chose a cheese platter to bring home with us. As per a previous reviewer, when we unpacked the cheese at home we were shocked to find that 3 of the 5 cheese selections were not locally made but imported from Italy and a couple of them were clearly over-ripe (not the same selection as we had tasted). The names of the cheese threw us off since they were obviously renamed. The facility is beautiful, but I felt cheated as I was expecting local cheese and didn't drive 3 hours for imported cheese (which should have been pointed out during the visit).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlibars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Personal service, great cheese, and a nice drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were very happy that Fifth Town is open again. The staff gave us several tastes of different cheeses we were interested in and we came home with our favourites. There is also a nice selection of homemade jams and other items. It is just a small store but very personal. We have enjoyed the wine and cheese tasting event in the past.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank familyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beware of imported cheeses”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

After reading several articles on-line I really looked forward to a taste visit. We were not disappointed and loved so many of the samples we tried. Outstanding flavours and unique selection. But it was only when we arrived home to find what we thought was locally made chees from The County, turns out to be imported from Italy and repackaged with new cute names, and not cheap. The packages are clearly marked, but the whole ambiance leaves one the misimpression that these cheeses were made in their LEED factory. Be sure to ask where the cheese is from, if that matters to you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KingstonBWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
175 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good cheese tasting but wines stole the show”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Attended a Saturday cheese tasting with wine pairings at fifth town cheese. The store has been re-opened under new management that has food experience. The tasting is a tremendous value-$20 for 5 cheeses and 5 wine pairings. I think the owner realized how tremendous it was as a comment was made on "how generous he cheese portions were"...don't know if that means they shrink following yesterday's tasting!!!. The cheeses were paired up with del gatto wines. On the cheese, the company isn't up and manufacturing yet so cheeses available for sale are either aged inventory or cheeses currently being imported in by the new owner. The goat cheeses were all very good with our fav being the Cap Cressy and Caprice. Just our humble opinion, but the wines stole the show-in fact we met everyone from the tasting at the Del Gatto estates buying wine-the Pino and Vidal were outstanding and real good values too. Great winemaking family story as well-adds to the experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank smallhanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fifth Town Artisan Cheese also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Fifth Town Artisan Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing