We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nine Gables B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nine Gables B&B
Ranked #11 of 43 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blainville, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Nine Gables. Diane and Micheal are excellent hosts. we stayed in the Petit Trianon room which is gorgeous and so comfortable. The included breakfast was different every morning and absolutely delicious. They even made a special gluten free menu just for me. We were treated like royalty! Their attention to detail is what made this experience truly remarkable for us. I recomment this B&B100% and will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicapk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninegables, Owner at Nine Gables B&B, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our lovely ground floor suite. It is always helpful when our guests make us aware of their dietary needs and provide us with feedback; since we are always looking for new and interesting breakfast items to prepare, especially ones that are gluten and dairy free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nine Gables is managed by Diane and Michael a couple who pay great attention to detail, as a result the Le Petit Trianon suite and bathroom have everything you could possible want, from good reading lights to read in bed by, a high end rain shower in the bathroom, to a very comfortable mattress. Diane was very helpful, directing us to an excellent restaurant for dinner and suggest particularly good sights to see and wineries to visit. We'll certainly return on our next trip to Prince Edward County.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Thanks for your very comfortable accommodations, cordial service and excellent tips on pond construction. We truly enjoyed our stay at your lovely B&B. Le Petit Trianon was superb and we hope to make a stay there an annual event while touring the wineries around Picton.

Gail&Denis
Ottawa

Room Tip: We strongly recommend Le Petit Trianon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninegables, Owner at Nine Gables B&B, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you can probably tell from our blog, we are always willing to talk about our adventures with The Pond and other household projects - past and present.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had an excellent time at Nine Gables. We stayed in Le Petit Trianon, a large and beautifully decorated (French-themed) room facing a quiet street close to downtown Picton. The in-suite bathroom was spacious, clean and modern. The common space for guests include a kitchen, dining room, living room and garden, which is very pleasant. After a good breakfast, we went to sit outside with our coffee, to enjoy the sun and visiting birds. The hostess was very nice and understanding. We would recommend this B&B to anyone !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0elle_P_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed in Lady Fern room (queen bed w/shared bath). Friendly hosts. Very comfortable and aesthetic room and bathroom. Comfy lounge, though didn't use it much. Delicious breakfast. Overall great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked the Cottage Rose room at the last-minute for the Canada Day long weekend, staying two nights. We found Nine Gables at the recommendation of one of our friends. The Cottage Rose has two twin beds, but it was so comfortable, clean, and cozy. The Cottage Rose room is a shared bathroom arrangement with the Lady Fern room, but the other guests hadn't arrived on our first night, so we had the entire upper floor to ourselves for the price of one room. Even when the other guests arrived, the shared bathroom arrangement wasn't an issue because the place was kept so clean and tidy. We couldn't be more happy with our experience.

The B&B is operated by Diane and Michael as a retirement hobby. They make it feel homey and welcoming, an elegant cottage getaway in the heart of Picton. Their warmth and attention to detail is evident throughout the home and mirrored in the breakfasts that they prepare fresh every morning. We had an amazing quiche, fruit tart and fresh fruit on the first day and French toast with bananas and natural maple syrup, bacon, cranberry muffins, and fresh fruit the second day. Diane and Michael also offer many brochures and maps of Prince Edward County available for guests with two binders of descriptions for restaurants and other attractions in the area. Sandbanks Beach was a wonderful recommendation by Diane. The sun room is well stocked with books and games to entertain guests and the garden is like a secret getaway filled with little discoveries to be made.

We're so glad we found this B&B, it was very affordable and we definitely look forward to visiting again in the future!

Room Tip: If you don't want to share a bathroom, book Le Petit Trianon room. If you have 3-4 people, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninegables, Owner at Nine Gables B&B, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Our little retirement business has been a delightful experience. This is largely due to the positive feedback we have received from guests such as yourselves. Our guests continue to enrich our lives on a daily basis and make our enterprise worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited Prince Edward County in May for a bicycle weekend with friends. "Nine Gables" was the perfect B&B! The room we stayed in (Le Petit Trianon) is the most beautiful B&B accommodation we've ever enjoyed. Diane and Michael are enthusiastic and helpful hosts and our breakfasts were wonderful. This was our second annual bike weekend and I'm worried that there will be a stampede for "Nine Gables" next year because we raved about it so much! We'll be sure to book early.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.6 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
5.3 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Bells and Whistles Family Inn
11.6 mi away
Drake Devonshire Inn
Drake Devonshire Inn
#1 of 12 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
11.0 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nine Gables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nine Gables B&B

Property: Nine Gables B&B
Address: 19 Maitland St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1880, Nine Gables is a cozy, century cottage located in historic Picton in the heart of Prince Edward County and offers its visitors a choice of 2 comfortable and well-appointed suites. Rates include a full breakfast using fresh local products. Conveniently located within walking distance of the Picton Main Street with its theatre, fine restaurants, cafes and shops, Nine Gables is also just around the corner from Macaulay Mountain Conservation Area for those who enjoy cycling and hiking. Many other popular attractions of Prince Edward County are only a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nine Gables B&B Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing