We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Nine Gables B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nine Gables B&B
Ranked #11 of 42 Picton B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed toward the end of May 2013 and enjoyed Nine Gables tremendously. We were in Le Petit Trianon, which is a large, beautifully decorated bed/sitting room with private bath. We also had the use of the large living room, sun room and lovely garden. The place was very clean and tidy, the host very helpful and friendly, and the breakfasts were amazing. We loved the place and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
69
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our second visit staying in Le Petit Trianon suite at Nine Gables, and everything certainly lived up to our expectations. Diane is a very welcoming, friendly, gracious host, who gives great suggestions for places and restaurants to visit. She even remembered our first visit two years ago! The house is beautifully decorated and has a lovely, calm atmosphere. The wonderful garden is the perfect place to sit and relax after a day out. Diane's breakfasts are delicious and bountiful; she obviously puts a lot of thought and effort into creating her menus. We will definitely return and highly recommend this B&B in beautiful Prince Edward County.

Room Tip: Le Petit Trianon suite is very comfortable and convenient, having an en suite bath and its own priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncb2135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in the Le Petit Trianon suite. Perfect for those that need some extra space or privacy. It features a sitting area, and a private entrance. The shower was great. The breakfast were substancial, with an excellent selection of items. She tries to feature local ingredients when in season.

My one complaint against is that the bed in the Le Petit Trianon suite is _very_ firm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtlBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in mid-May 2013 for two nights for birding at Prince Edward County. The host is wonderful. The place is clean and tidy, we feel very comfortable while staying. We absolutely love the place and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Everything about this bed and breakfast is wonderful. The house is immaculately clean and in good condition (while still feeling like a comfortable home). Breakfasts were amazing - normally it can be an after-thought but they were the best meals of the day! Basically it was like staying with a really classy aunt. I would highly recommend this for anyone and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here in Aug, 2012 and absolutely loved it. The hosts are wonderful, inviting us to help ourselves to tea and use of the fridge, making us the most wonderful breakfasts.
I went with a girlfriend for a mid-week summer getaway and we enjoyed it so much we will DEFINITELY be back. We stayed in Le Petit Trianon suite. It was spotless and we loved the private entrance.
great location, parking, lovely quiet neighbourhood, lots of space to sit outside or inside
No hesitation to recommend this to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela1440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninegables, Owner at Nine Gables B&B, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are glad that your stay with us was so memorable that you took the time to write about it several months later in March when the dog days of summer seem so far away. It is always an unexpected pleasure to get such positive reviews especially during the off season. With the start of another busy summer season, we are always delighted to welcome back returning guests. It's especially nice to see familiar faces again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have stayed here for at least two nights in August for the past two years (2011 and 2012). We absolutely love the place and the breakfasts are absolutely delicious.

The B&B is really comfortable and perfectly decorated and full of elegant country charm. You are really made to feel at home, with a little spot in the fridge to store beach snacks, or any other little goodies you might pick up!

Diane is a fabulous host and is full of great suggestions for places to visit and restaurants to try. We had been to Picton quite a few times and she suggested visiting a less frequented beach and we really enjoyed it! We also really appreciate being able to borrow the Sandbanks beach pass, as it really adds even more value to the stay.

We always have a great sleep in this lovely and quiet B&B that isn't too far from the sights and sounds of Picton and the Sandbanks!

Room Tip: The two rooms upstairs share a bathroom - which has never been a problem. But it is a real treat to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapitalBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.6 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
104 reviews
11.0 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
5.3 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
8.5 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nine Gables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nine Gables B&B

Property: Nine Gables B&B
Address: 19 Maitland St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1880, Nine Gables is a cozy, century cottage located in historic Picton in the heart of Prince Edward County and offers its visitors a choice of 2 comfortable and well-appointed suites. Rates include a full breakfast using fresh local products. Conveniently located within walking distance of the Picton Main Street with its theatre, fine restaurants, cafes and shops, Nine Gables is also just around the corner from Macaulay Mountain Conservation Area for those who enjoy cycling and hiking. Many other popular attractions of Prince Edward County are only a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nine Gables B&B Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing