We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, clean and very quiet place to stay!”
Review of Nine Gables B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nine Gables B&B
Ranked #13 of 43 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and very quiet place to stay!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a really nice stay at Nine Gables B&B, the hosts Diane and Mike are very welcoming, nice and helpful, not at all intrusive. A lot of information is available and they provide tips and reviews on restaurants if you need. Our room, Lady Fern, was a bit small but the queen bed is very comfortable!! It is also very quiet so you are sure to get a good sleep there!
The garden is lovely and very well arranged, you can stay there for hours.
To add to that, location is good since you can walk to downtown Picton very easily, and you are also in a good position to travel around the county. It is very close to lake on the mountain provincial park which offers an amazing view on Lake Ontario!
Finally, the breakfast is very good and you will hardly need to eat lunch after that!
I will of course recommend this B&B, and will definitely come back for my next trip to the county.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constance F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nine Gables is located in the heart of Picton on a fairly quiet suburban looking street and within close proximity to downtown Picton. From the minute we walked in you could see the perfection of this B&B. The accommodations were the three c's extremely clean, comfortable and charming. We had the two bedrooms upstairs and a huge shared bathroom with a separate bathtub with a fountain and separate shower. There was plenty of room for all of our things and people to move around which was fine since we were all friends. Attached to the bathroom was its own parlor. The entire house was just beautiful set with a quaint rustic decor and infused with modern touches at just the right places. Unfortunately our stay was not long enough to enjoy the sun room or beautiful garden discovered on the day of our departure. The food was excellent and plentiful with alternatives for those who were vegetarians. Our hosts Mike and Diane were helpful and knowledgeable on the area and how best to get around. They had created a information book of where to go on virtually everything anyone could possibly ask for and had provided details with it such as hours of operation, ratings based on previous guests experiences. Very creative thinking. Make sure to set your plans around a late check-in and early check-out however. We would definitely stay there again on another visit to the area and we highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking to visit Prince Edward County.

Room Tip: Two choices available: one is a suite with its own bathroom, other is two bedrooms with shared bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesgreenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A lovely and quaint B&B, very quiet, clean and well kept. Loved the daily bfast options and the hosts were friendly and made for a comfortable ambiance overall.
A B&B I would recommend to others and would surely re-visit upon my next trip.
Easy to get to by car or bicycle.

Room Tip: All rooms were great:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHPToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I'd never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, so when my girlfriend and I decided on Nine Gables for our accommodation on our recent trip through Prince Edward County, I wasn't quite sure what to expect. One of my biggest worries about staying at a B&B was feeling like I was intruding in someone's home, but from the moment we arrived, Diane and Mike were warm and extremely welcoming hosts and I never felt uncomfortable during my stay. The breakfasts served were unique and actually some of the best I've ever had. My girlfriend has a gluten allergy and they provided several alternative options that she loved. Our room was very comfortable, with the air conditioning set at just the right temperature. The house is just beautiful; a great combination of rustic quaintness and modern decor. And you could sit outside in the garden for hours; it's really lovely. Lastly, Mike and Diane gave us a ton of tips about where to go and how to get around that made things a lot easier for us. And it's pretty much right in the heart of Picton, so it takes no time at all to walk into town. Highly, highly recommended, and we'll definitely be staying here again if we come back this way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Pitch perfect hosts - friendly but not fawning, discrete but not stand-offish. Excellent food and extremely clean and comfortable accommodations. Much prefer this location to Bloomfield - nice quiet area and an easy walk to down-town Picton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Nine Gables was a B&B that had the rare combination of being close to the shops and restaurants of the Picton main street (walking distance) and still feeling like a quaint and cosy bed and breakfast.We spent a number of hours just relaxing in the beautiful garden out back. Breakfast was fantastic, and Diane and Mike could not be any better hosts. I would recommend this B&B to anybody - and I'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merleperle15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed four nights at Nine Gables during our first visit to Prince Edward County. After every day spent travelling in the area, we always looked forward to going back to Nine Gables. It was comfortable, clean, quiet, cool and close by. Mike and Diane always made us feel at home. They were positive, helpful and treated everyone as a special guest in their lovely home. They prepared different, delicious hot breakfasts every morning and even accomodated my gluten allergy with some amazing alternatives. From the moment we walked into the BandB, we can tell that the hosts love their guests, their home and the county. The pretty garden is set up for guests; the sunroom is filled with games, visitors' information and Diane has painted a map of the county on one of the walls with all the hot spots her guests should visit. Mike and Diane are well informed about the county and are glad to share that with their guests. They are thoughtful and generous by providing guests with towels and chairs for the beach, they even provided us with vouchers for wine tastings and golfing. We highly recommend Nine Gables and we look forward to our next stay there.

Room Tip: "Le petit Trianon" room is on the main floor, is beautifully decorated, with everything yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2hunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.6 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
5.3 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
4.3 mi away
Bells and Whistles Family Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nine Gables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nine Gables B&B

Property: Nine Gables B&B
Address: 19 Maitland St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1880, Nine Gables is a cozy, century cottage located in historic Picton in the heart of Prince Edward County and offers its visitors a choice of 2 comfortable and well-appointed suites. Rates include a full breakfast using fresh local products. Conveniently located within walking distance of the Picton Main Street with its theatre, fine restaurants, cafes and shops, Nine Gables is also just around the corner from Macaulay Mountain Conservation Area for those who enjoy cycling and hiking. Many other popular attractions of Prince Edward County are only a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nine Gables B&B Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing