We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Little Breakfast Appetizer" and Other Surprizes”
Review of Hayes Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hayes Inn
Ranked #8 of 42 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"A Little Breakfast Appetizer" and Other Surprizes”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent the Labor day weekend at Hayes Inn. I had spotted the inn on trip advisor and liked the description that the house was empty in the evenings and that it was a bit out of the way from Picton. When we arrived on Friday there was a detailed letter which anticipated our questions. Steve, the host, offered to let us leave our bikes in his (very clean) basement. We found freshly baked cookies and muffins, homemade granola and tea. Steve had sprinkled little notes around inviting us to try a local beer or a glass of a local riesling. Thus unfolded our stay at Hayes Inn.

The house is tucked away in a corner of Prince Edward County across the street from a dairy farm and near the County Cider Company and the Waupoos Estates Winery. The street is quiet and there's a terrific view from the yard to the lake in the distance.

The house has been completely renovated evidently without consideration to cost. Our queen room was decorated tastefully. The bathroom was extremely clean with elegant marble finishes. If you like staying in a period home but don't like the fuss that often accompanies these (think pictures of ducks, flower curtains, cow-shaped milk creamers, etc), then this is the place for you. The decor is minimalist, yet true to the vintage of the house.

The breakfast is a subject on its own. For the first breakfast we had a "little breakfast appetizer" (a new concept I"m liking) consisting of mini french toast with maple syrup, blueberries, raspberries, homemade yogurt, and sprinkles of homemade granola. Then came the main breakfast: radical fluffy scrambled eggs served in an airy phyllo basket. I think there were rosti potatoes on the side, but this part is a blur. The second day our little breakfast appetizer was mini crepes with the same treatment of yogurt, berries, and granola. There followed two eggs benedict on a slab of Canadian ham with homemade hollandaise (I saw the pot in the kitchen) and some mini roasted potatoes and peas on the side.

I have only written once before on trip advisor for a B&B in Agrigento, Sicily called "Terrazze di Montelusa" (number 1 out of 95 B&B's in Agrigento). I didn't think I would find so soon after another B&B that might be comparable. The contexts are very different: Hayes Inn might be described as being in an out of the way corner of an out of the county of an out of the way country called Canada. Instead Terazze di Montelusa is centered at one of the most important tourist attractions of all of Sicily, if not Italy. Yet, a resonance and common ground are found: in the sensibility for a refined and discrete hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrPepper92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
55
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

You can go home again and have amazing food cooked by Steve Chaves at this lovely, quiet Inn with modern amenities. The Loyalists would come back in a second to have this experience. The crickets sing all night, the full moon from the second floor window is inspiring as are the lovely grounds and open space. But Steve's cooking and his open and charming personality made the stay special. Try this little gem, you
won't be disappointed.
Gianna Patriarca Milne-Allan

Room Tip: they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poetessa60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Don't be concerned by the small number of reviews - this place is excellent. The location is fantastic - out in a very quiet rural part of the county, which makes it even more restful you're enjoying your complimentary glass of local wine or beer out on the front lawn in the afternoon. But it's still only a few minutes into Picton and close to great wineries and restaurants in Waupoos and Milford. The best part of the inn, though, is the loving and incredibly tasteful way in which this historic building has been restored. From the moment you walk in, the time, money, and effort that the owners have put into it is obvious. So, as one of the other reviewers said, you get to experience a wonderful relic of the early 19th century with all of the comforts of the 21st century. Plus, Steve is a great host. He's friendly, full of information about what to do and where to eat, and every morning he makes a delicious hot breakfast, which really added to our culinary experience of the county. The fact that this place has so reviews is simply the result of it only having a few rooms - but that heightens the tranquil experience of the place; the fact that it has almost uniformly glowing ones is the result of it being one of the best places to stay in the county.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

A true gem in Waupoos! We were fortunate to stay one Friday night and it was like stepping back in time. The inn has been beautifully restored but has all the comforts and convenience of present day...WIFI, entertainment system, amazing shower, AC, home baked goodies, local wine, etc. Steve was an exceptional host, informative, personable and prepared an awesome breakfast...best Eggs Benedict ever!
We think The Hayes Inn would do well to offer dinner with a talented chef like Steve! We will certainly return to this lovely inn!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We agree with the other reviews about the positives of the Hayes Inn. Steve is an excellent host but it was wonderful to arrive without a reception desk and feel like you have the place to yourself. We were glad we read page 2 of the info sheet that told us about the food and local beer and wine in the library. The day was gorgeous and we had wine under the shade in front of the inn. The rooms are comfortable and immaculate. The breakfast is perfect; filling but not a traditional "fry up". We look forward to going back to see the autumn colours in Waupoose at the Hayes Inn.

Room Tip: The front right room has nice light late in the day and was dark enough to let us sleep in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cphillips37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were extremely fortunate to find a room available at The Hayes Inn when we left last minute for a couple days of R&R in The County!

This place exceeded all of our expectations. Steve (Innkeeper and Chef) made the reservations and directions to check in, extremely simple. The breakfasts were beyond compare! We were there 2 nights and each morning featured a new gourmet appetizer, followed by a delicious breakfast creation. The breakfasts were plentiful, artistic, and made with local ingredients.

Steve was helpful with great recommendations on dining, local sights and activities.

The rooms were fantastic! The old high ceilings, 3 large windows in each bedroom (which open!), and all with the original trim and charm. But add to that, specatular new ensuite bathrooms, potlights, internet, A/C , music and video in the common rooms, and you have all the modern luxuries.

We like to always try new places and experiences..... but we will make an exception and definitely plan to return to the Hayes Inn next time we are in The County

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are almost identical (2 have a king, 2 have a queen). Choose any one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were delightfully surprised by the sophisticated country decor with a beautiful cozy bedroom and gorgeous bathroom. It was a very quiet and private at the Inn which enabled us to relax. The fresh made muffins amazing breakfast (probably one of the best that we have ever had and we are real foodies) was a treat. They Inn would do well if it offered more meals prepared by their amazing chef and general manager, Steve Chaves. The complimentary glass of wine in the library before we set off for dinner was a perfect opportunity to meet the other guests. The Inn is situated in a quiet area away from busy roads. It was perfect and we will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Renko123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
5.0 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
410 reviews
3.0 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
121 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
13.4 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 12 in Wellington
103 reviews
10.4 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayes Inn

Property: Hayes Inn
Address: 2319 County Road 8 | N. Marysburgh Ward, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hayes Inn Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing