We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Family Vacation for Kids (Aged 5-12)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Ottawa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Family Vacation for Kids (Aged 5-12)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2006

We are a family with two kids aged 7 and 9 who stayed at Isaiah Tubbs in spite of the reviews posted here. We had a fabulous time! Yes there were flies in our room, and yes the sink was chipped but neither of these "flaws" slowed our fun.

We stayed in Lodge 1 during the week in a "classic room" which included two bunkbeds. The bunkbeds were clean and since we don't have them at home it was an adventure for our kids to sleep in them. There was a funny loft above the room with a metal ladder leading up. You could potentially sleep two older kids on mattresses up there, but the ladder would be hard to navigate at nightime. The lodge had an interesting character. It was not a homogenous hotel room that one would expect on the roadside. This lodge is about 30 feet from the sandy beach, so pristine cleanliness is a tall order. We twice ate picnic meals on a table overlooking the lake. One could have a campfire in the pit there.

Staff provided prompt, courteous, competent service. Our nightly rate included 2 excellent buffet-style breakfasts at the Restaurant on the Knoll. We ate in the screened porch overlooking the dunes and West Lake. The kid's buffet was just $5 each.

What really made our trip great was the tubing on West Lake. A booking at Isaiah Tubbs includes one free 20 minute tube ride for each child under 13 years, for every day at the resort. Our two kids took two rides each (we could have joined them for a$10 fee but chose to ride in the boat). Trips to the beaches and carload night at the drive-in made this vacation one of our best family vacations ever!!!!!

  • Liked — Location, beaches, and watersports
  • Disliked — Ventilation in bathroom
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MdmeX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    98
    66
    86
    118
See reviews for
147
141
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2006

It was our own fault we didn't book ahead in one of the most popular and beautiful regions in Ontario, but that's what happened, and that's how we ended up at Isaiah Tubbs. You could sort of sense a former glory about the place, but I agree with previous reviewers: everything was a tad threadbare, worn out and 80s in presentation, and it wasn't entirely clean, which is NOT okay given the nightly rate. Sad beach, though the bar was okay, if redolent with ancient cigarette smoke; indifferent service was also a problem and we're low-maintenance that way. The breakfast buffet is far too costly after a night on a cheap lumpy mattress and a room buzzing with flies. We killed 5 before bed, and trust me, I am a camper, used to insect life, but NOT in my hotel room. The air conditioner didn't work either and to be honest, there was a rather dank aroma to the suite that aggravated us as soon as we checked in. I think this is a place with HUGE potential, they own scads of land, but they've rested too long and let things slide, or someone can't quite afford to join the current, exciting market in the area. The upside: I saw a great Hitchcock flick because the room was so freaking hot I couldn't sleep. Always an upside, eh? Be smart, book ahead and stay elsewhere, enjoy Sandbanks in a tent:)

  • Liked — It was open when we arrived.
  • Disliked — Many things.
  • Tips/Secrets — Do the B&B thing or get a tent and do Sandbanks Park.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank NYLOVAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Picton hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2006

I recently stayed at this resort because a friend was holding her wedding there. A very fun wedding, but NOTHING about the resort impressed me. And for the exorbitant price, one should be impressed by at least one thing. The arrival itself did not leave a good impression, everything seemed a bit dingy, then we had to wait for 10 minutes while new keys for our room were cut. Upon arriving at the lodge in which our room was located everything appeared very run down and dirty. The driveways were all dirt, the fencing and pathways were all over the place. Filthy front entrance and hallways. The worst backpacker's hostel would be better in comparison.

The room was OK, just. Nice wallpaper... not!! At least it was relatively clean.

This is Ontario in the middle of summer, very hot and humid. The room had one small window and an air conditioner that did not work at all. Not even a whisper of cold air. They did at least change it promptly the next day when it was reported. But a resort charging that much should have everything in proper working order, not wait for a guest to complain.

After helping with preparations on the day of the wedding, there was just enough time for a quick shower before the ceremony started. But, and here's the kicker... NO WATER. That's right hardly a sputter from the shower. Reception was very kind to report that they were working on the hot water and it would be back on in 15 minutes, very nice for them to warn me and a little late for the ceremony.

Eventually I asked a neighbour if I could use their shower; amazingly it worked, one bedroom away!

The wedding ceremony was very pleasant, and the buffet dinner (not normally a fan) was quite delicious. Perhaps their only saving grace.

After a lengthy party and some energetic dancing, I headed back to my room for, you guessed it, a shower and some shuteye. Sounds simple in an expensive resort.

But again, NO WATER, not even cold water. That is a long fifteen minutes. There is no fun in being in an expensive resort looking for a shower at three o'clock in the morning because basic amenities are not functioning. Reception did, however, provide another room in which we could shower. A long way from where we were....

Oh, could we please get some water for drinking. No, sorry we cannot provide that at reception, here is $6 to buy some water in the vending machine. Thank-you.

A guy is pretty thirsty at three in the morning and after a long night dancing a SOLD-OUT sign is the last thing he needs to see in the water vending machine.

Next day was check-out. At least they comp'd the room that night, but only a buffet brunch in compensation for the lack of air-conditioner on the first night.

I urge anyone considering this resort to give it a wide birth. There are plenty of nice B&B's in the area. And nicer beaches too.

And probably even running hot and cold water!!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2006

Whatever you do don't go and stay here.
I've just returned from a 2 week holiday to Canada and we booked in here for 2 nights. We stayed 1!
The room was full of dead bugs, the bathroom didn't have frosted glass and was directly on the walkway. We didn't even try the jacuzzi as I really didn't want to remove the 20 + dead insects!
The bar serving snacks during the afternoon was closed even though everything we had said it would be open so we had to drive back into town for something to eat.
The service in the restaurant was appalling, ignored for 10 minutes, waited 20 minutes for the wine etc etc and again the window ledge was covered in dead insects.
The dvd player in the room didn't work, we figured out eventually that it was because it wasn't connected to anything, my boyfriends good at things like that but I'm not and I know people like my parents wouldh't have a clue what to do.
And to top it all off the walls and ceiling were that thin we could hear the room next to us snoring, the person above us get up at 6am and walk round the room for 2 hours (think it may have been a staff memeber), telephones ringing and even taps and toilets flushing in other rooms!
At one point my boyfriend flushed the toilet and ten minutes later it was still flushing so he had to turn the tap off!
We decided to try breakfast the next day and again waited 10 minutes to be seated whilst the waitress had a conversation with a fellow worker and it then took well over half an hour to make 2 omelettes, we were the only people in there!!!!!!
When we said we wished to leave they didn't seem in the least bit suprised. No wonder!
It's funny because when we booking in someone was moving rooms!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank angelbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
6.0 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
8.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belleville
BEST WESTERN Belleville
#2 of 7 in Belleville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandbanks Beach Resort
Sandbanks Beach Resort
#8 of 11 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaiah Tubbs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaiah Tubbs Resort

Property: Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Address: 1642 County Road 12, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Isaiah Tubbs Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Isaiah Tubbs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaiah Tubbs Hotel Picton
Isaiah Tubbs Picton
Isaiah Tubbs Resort Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing