We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merrill Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Picton
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelers Inn(Belleville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
297
67
22
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
67
22
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspicnic lunchchef michael sullivanprince edward countypacked lunchbox lunchfood and winewine and cheeseold mansionduck breastcornish henthird floorwonderful mealhot dishhot breakfastbeautiful roomlocal wineriesthanksgiving weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 398 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just spent 2 days in Picton for a wine tasting tour and stayed at The Merrill Inn with 3 of my girlfriends. Staff could not have been friendlier. Edward made our stay warm and welcoming. He was most helpful with his knowledge about the surrounding areas and what we should see and do. Furthermore, we had a lovely and delicious dinner at the Inn as well as the included breakfast buffet. We would recommend it to anyone visiting the area!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Silly man. I just thought the M.I. was this fantastic, friendly re-done old mansion as a cool inn at a very wonderful place to be. Really good coffee and food, sincere friendliness.

However, the Mrs., who is an un-named, award-winning interior designer, was impressed with all the "attention to detail." Everywhere, and in every way. "It was a feast for your eyes and other senses, but it met all the functional requirements: towels so soft, pillows so comfortable, beautiful dining room settings which change with meals, gas fireplace in room, antique furniture, sensuous aromas in the bath products, spotless rooms, etc., etc. Meticulous attention to detail make you feel secure and even pampered."

Apparently this design stuff is much more than just cushions everywhere - what would I know, I'm just a guy. Croissants at breakfast were sinfully good. Did I mention the coffee? Grange pinot gris with smoked trout as supper appetizer was the killer pairing of all time. (Also try Closson Chase chardonnay, Sandbanks Baco Noir Reserve, or just about any other County wine.) 4.99999 out of 5. Only way it could have been better - I'm really, really stretching it here - was to have Art-Is-In bakery bread (Ottawa) with supper.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent accommodation, service and extras. Highly recommend this spot for visitors to the beautiful area. There was iced tea and cookies in the afternoon, a delicious breakfast and lovely nooks for reading the materials provided on the history of the region.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaHac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

we have stayed here before and preferred the 3rd floor rooms to the first floor rooms. Nice touches include: cookies and iced tea upon arrival, in-house amenities (lavender bath products), robes (although didn’t find them at first), magazines, newspapers available.

If you like baths, bath on first floor was very small (too small for woman, let alone tall man). Each room has its own air conditioner, and sound of dripping AC from room above was very annoying.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolphinOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merrillinn, Owner at Merrill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in regards to your stay with us which we appreciate very much.

In regards to the bathroom features of the guest rooms, I would like to clarify that all bathrooms have a Full Sized Tub and Shower. In January of this year we also installed new high quality residential Moen faucet and shower sets and waffle weave bathrobes that provide an enhanced quality experience for our guests

We look forward to seeing you again in the future and thank you again for choosing the Merrill Inn for your stay in Prince Edward County

Regards,
Edward Shubert
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

i had the pleasure of taking advantage of a special offer for room dinner, breakfast, and picnic lunch at the merrill inn in picton, ontario. we were also given free coupons for wine tasting at two of the nearby wineries. i highly recommend this picturesque venue. the owner, edward was nothing less than extremely helpful, cordial, and made us feel as if we were sharing his home with him. our room had its own ballcony overlooking a beautiful garden. meals were quite good. the accomodations were spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. the location is convenient in terms of getting to the many attractions that prince edward county has to offer. a very worthwhile respite from the busy lives we lead in the city.

Room Tip: one can view all the rooms on line and choose. our room had a private balcony, the only one in the inn.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3msg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews