We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views”

Lake on the Mountain
Ranked #2 of 39 things to do in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Could see the ferry and Picton Bay from up on the mountain. Lake on both side of the street. Scenic drive and easy to get to. Wineries along the way.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sassa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    150
    69
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

It's amazing to see this body of water situated at the top of a mountain. Lots of picnic areas, so bring a lunch and blanket and enjoy the view.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank birutebToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique place but..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice place, good panoramic view of Lake Ontario & the lake on the mountain itself is very very unique destination. Nice lake-side lunch options. However there is not much to do here other than 2 hours of relaxation

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiran V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Scenic Point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

A lovely spot for a picnic or just enjoy the view, down to the Glenora ferry or across the lake itself.
The ferry crossing seen from Lake on the Mountain is a must have photo from The County.
Nice meals at the adjacent resort too along with their local beer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blossie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Great Little Mystery to Return to Each Year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We discovered Lake on the Mountain when a co-worker suggested we go to The Inn on the Lake after she heard we were visiting Prince Edward County. And I have been fascinated by it ever since. The lake is above water level, and so there is a bit of a mystery as to what the acutal water source is. The first time we visited, we had lunch on the patio of the Inn, where we were able to see the lake when looking one way, and view Picton Bay, down below when looking the other. You can even see the ferry crossing the bay.
Since first visiting, I have found a B&B that is right on the lake and we have been staying there for our visits to Prince Edward County. We not only get to view the lake now, but also get to swin in it, which is usually a nice warm temperature when we visit in the summer months.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TrevScan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake on the Mountain also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Lake on the Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing