We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our winter getaway to Merland park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Merland Park Cottages
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Reviewed February 21, 2012

At first, I didn't know what to expect about our visit to Merland Park cottages...I was sent a request on Facebook from an acquaintance regarding an ice fishing tournament happening there. After checking out Merland Parks Facebook page and Merland Park.com, it seemed like it would be a great time so we took a chance and booked our spot. Our accommodations were excellent,very clean and nice and warm. The weekend was filled with great fishing,making new friends and some really fun games were played out on the ice(check out the pictures on Facebook!). The hosts were amazing, Kevin and Jennifer made sure we were well taken care of. The lunches and dinners were top notch and they made sure that you were full before you left. The dinners were followed by poker, which was also a lot of fun. We are definitely going back next winter for the ice fishing tournament but now we are thinking about checking Merland Park out in the summer for a weekend of walleye fishing and golfing. The cottages are beautiful, hosts are great, there is lots to do there for the young and the young at heart! I highly recommend Merland Park to anyone thinking of getting away...give Merland Park cottages a try, you wont be disappointed!

Dean Jones
St.Catharines,ON

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 55 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hospitality was amazing, friendly atmosphere. The cottage was updated, 3 bedroom with lots of room to spread out. Kitchen was very tidy and organized with all the essentials needed for daily meals. The bedrooms were a great size with lots of room for personal items to store. Fishing was great off the dock, there is an abudance of boats to rent or the option to bring your own. There is a clean , large size pool to swim in, updated with lots of great chairs to relax on. Had an amazing time at Sandbanks, short trip to the beach . Many attractions close to the resort, able to enjoy the beauty of Picton, cheese factory, fresh vegs and fruits. Restaurants were awesome! I would return for another summer vacation at Merland Park.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Our family has spent the last 5 summers vacationing for a week at Merland Park. The owners and their families have been great with us and our grandchildren, who just adore playing in the pool. They also enjoy the short drive over to the sandbanks and playing with the friends they meet there each summer. Personally I like to fish,. I find the docking adequate, and can always find some protected water with a large variety of fish to enjoy. There is alot of history in this area, and you can spend countless hours driving in different directions to study it. Looking forward to our trip next year.
Ilesy

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twodogs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Great that pets are allowed. Pool is nice and deep and clean. I wouldn't advise swimming in the lake here but there are plenty of other great beaches nearby. Short drive to Picton. Overall, decent value for money. Our cabin was nice and clean but, for the price, the decor could use a little bit of updating-- maybe replace the carpet with laminate or wood flooring and a queen sized (vs double) bed would be nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peoplevuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Cottages are private with full amenities. Stayed right on the lake with balcony facing the lake so night time was very quiet and relaxing. Enjoyed the community fire at night. Awesome fishing by day, relaxing by the pool or just reading a book on the deck. Close to town so shopping was steps away. Walmart, grocery store and liquor store are all very close so if you forget anything it’s right there. In town there are lots of little shops to spend hours in. Fresh fruit and vegetable stands all over the place so meal time was fresh local produce. Great restaurants nearby if you want to go out for dinner. There is a beach close to the cottages for day trips. Fun, family atmosphere with clean cottages that are well stocked with most of the utensils you need. Great staff and owners. We would go back again and again and again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeandTinaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We were at Merland Park ifor one week.
We were in the cottage # 2, directly on the waterfront.
The site was well - located in a small bay.
The sunsets were wonderful and we could see the fishermen returning every evening at sunset. Nice.

The pool was very clean and little used.

Our cottage was old, very rustic (like a camp in a outfitter) and not very well maintained. The bathroom had been redone. The air conditioning was very, very old and made a lot of noise.

However, I was seeing on their site and it seems to have been certain kinds of other renovations but I'm surprise to see that some things have not changed as the old cabinets in the kitchen and the furniture.

At all two years, we return in Picton but never at Merland Park. If you want more details, please email me and I'll try to help you the best of my knowledge.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NRRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
1.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
158 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
454 reviews
11.7 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 13 in Wellington
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
483 reviews
8.9 mi away
Mapiya Retreat
Mapiya Retreat
#1 of 14 in Picton
16 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merland Park Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merland Park Cottages

Address: 12488 Loyalist Pky, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range: $101 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merland Park Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Picton Bay, just 2km east of the quaint town of Picton, Merland Park is a small quiet resort. We offer our guests a charming country experience with all the modern day amenities only minutes away. Our 13 cottages and 3 motel units are spread out across 3 acres of beautiful trees and laneways with every cottage overlooking Picton Bay. Merland Park is open year round. All Cottages come with fully equipped kitchens including fridge, stove, microwave and basic kitchen utensils. Each cottage has its own propane BBQ on the deck, cable TV, with VCR or DVD in the living room (available in most cottages), WIFI, shower or bathtub in bathroom, blankets & pillows in the bedrooms as well as self-controlled heating & air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Merland Park Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merland Park Cottages Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing