We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay!”

Sleepy Hallowell Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sleepy Hallowell Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 42 Picton B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last weekend with another couple. We had the small bedroom with a shared bathroom. The room is small but functional (we just needed a place to sleep!) It has air conditioning which is nice on those hot summer nights. It was very quiet and we both had a restful sleep. The room and bathroom were clean and well decorated. The location of the BnB itself is great - you can walk down Picton Main Street very easily from there, and it's also just a short (10 min) drive to Sandbanks. The owner kindly loaned us a Sandbanks pass (thus saving us almost 20 bucks to get into the park). The breakfast was yummy and served in a beautiful dining room. The owner was lovely and very accommodating to us - this was a very pleasant stay and we will definitely stay here next time we visit Prince Edward County. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPicton, Owner at Sleepy Hallowell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We thank you for sharing your review with others. The Provincial Park Pass to Sandbanks is worth its weight in gold, and is well used by our guests! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The room you had is definitely a small one, not one we usually give away. It was great that you travelled with another couple. Maybe next time, you can flip a coin for the bigger room! LOL. Thanks again for coming, and we look forward to your return! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at Sleepy Hallowell and we've enjoyed it every time. The home is a lovely old home and very cosy. Our room was great - the bed is so comfortable and we had a fantastic sleep. Sherlyn is a wonderful host and very friendly. She is the right mix of attentive host who also lets you do your own thing - she was even kind enough to let us use the pool quite late at night (the pool is definitely another bonus for us!). Our breakfast was absolutely delicious and Sherlyn accomodated both myself (vegetarian) and my partner (non-vegetarian).

We find that a lot of the B&Bs in Picton can be quite pricey, so for us the price is very reasonable with the added bonus that you get to use the Sandbanks pass (otherwise you have to pay to get into the park). We sat outside on a warm summer's evening and sipped sangria in the lovely garden, ahhh so relaxing...

Picton and the surrounding area is very pretty with gentle rolling hills and farms. It's a great weekend getaway. Sleepy Hallowell's location is great as you are just a short drive from Sandbanks and wineries but you are within walking distance of Picton's main street and go out for a bite to eat (we always go to the Acoustic Grill, a great little pub - they had yummy sweet potato poutine). We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gennji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPicton, Owner at Sleepy Hallowell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience staying at our family run bed and breakfast. We also appreciate that you continue to return here again and again. You are most welcome at using our Sandbanks pass, and pool. You and your partner are respectful patrons of our establishment and will always be invited to stay! Kind regards to you both, and we wish you a happy and safe summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

i have stayed at this b and b it is quite lovely i see the other bad review in june and i dont think that person actually stayed there, there is not a negative to be said of the place the pool is clean and away from the main building the gardens and flowers are lovely you can tell the owner cares the hosts are wonderful sherlyn was very nice from the moment i arrived and very helpful and ryan was very pleasant for a young man the room was impecable and clean and very comfortable and the breakfast was fabulous in the morning with a great variety and more than i could eat in short a great bed and breakfast and would go back there in a heartbeat oh and she has free park passes for the sandbanks an added bonus in closing a great place at a very reasonable price

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPicton, Owner at Sleepy Hallowell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to share with others your positive experience staying at our bed and breakfast. We enjoy making guests feel welcome and comfortable. I am glad you found the service, food and rooms to your liking. We truly aim to please! We look forward to your return. Perhaps then my son will have finished his apprenticeship as a chef, and he can make you a breakfast that will make you want to take up permanent residence here! Take care, and well wishes to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My family and I have been coming to this bed and breakfast for several years. Not because we always get top service, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the food is incredible; but because the owner and her son are what makes the place so special. The two of them are warm, kind people who bend over backwards for their guests.

The young lad is a respectable and polite host whose maturity exceeds his years. He will help put the bags in your room if he is around. The owner goes out of her way to make the stay a pleasurable one as well: The use of clean pool towels and pool, the loaner guest pass for Sandbanks, a bbq, the gazebo her son put together with netting so that we can enjoy the summer evenings without being eaten alive!, and the suggestions she provides whenever we have asked, all make this place a traditional destination for my family.

Anyone who has actually stayed here would clearly see that this is a wonderful bed and breakfast, hands down.

Thank you, Sherlyn and Ryan. Keep doing what you do so well!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPicton, Owner at Sleepy Hallowell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We appreciate the time you have taken to write about our establishment. It is heart warming to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have enjoyed your loyal patronage, and will open our doors to you and your family. It has been nice to see our kids grow up into fine young adults. I hope they will return here to continue the tradition once they settle down to start a family of their own.

You know you all have a place here...just make sure you book ahead of time to guarantee the rooms!

Kind regards and good health to all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We found our visit at Sleepy Hollowell very comfortable, cozy and relaxing...Our host ( Sherlyn ) was very helpful. When asked, where are some nice places to dine and visit in Picton..She guided us towards some very nice places to visit...,we were even provided with a FREE pass at the local beach ( Snadbanks ) located on lake Ontario...We had a blast! After coming back from dining we had a very refreashing swim ahhhh...We found our room very relaxing and after watching some TV we later turned in for a great nights sleep! When the morning came we greeted with a breakfest fit for a king, we never left wanting more!

All in all...The service, pricing and comfort, Sleepy Hallowell will be seeing us again and soon! Thanks again Sherlyn for making us feel at home!

Don and Greta.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPicton, Owner at Sleepy Hallowell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
You are most welcome, and thank you for posting your review. We at Sleepy Hallowell Bed and Breakfast try to make our guests stay a positvely memorable one. We look forward to your return, and will gladly continue to provide the quality in service, rooms and meals. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed here one night in the summer and will not recommend to anyone to stay here. We are a middle-aged couple who like quiet and we are friendly people. We were looking for a peaceful night rest at a place with a "homely" and clean feel. We did not get what we were looking for.
Owner is not friendly nor is she hospitable. The owner along with her teenage son and family also live in the same house. The son is in a band and they played music loudly on their guitars at night during our stay.
Room we stayed in was ordinary with dusty curtains and itchy linens. TV was old with missing remote control. Sink was old-fashioned with one faucet for cold water and one for hot water....??? (Could not use either faucet for any length of time without having to switch to the other one).
Strong incense smell when you walk in the door and at night there is a very strong smell of marijuana smoke.
Food for breakfast was cold and generic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sleepy Hallowell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
I cannot believe that this was posted as a review for my business, and feel that it was maliciously written and highly slanderous with little truth to it. In fact the only thing mentioned in this review that was accurate is the fact that I have a son who lives with me. We are the only two who live here.

I question the authenticiity of it being a patron who actually stayed here. In looking at my bookings, the only reservations I had for June 2012 were three rooms as I am employed at a school and work with children who have special needs. None of these guests wrote this negative review, and were equally shocked to find out that someone could write such things about this establishment. If it was not these three, then there was no one else who could have stayed here and this has been posted in error or with malicious intent.

My son does not play guitar, or any other instrument for that matter. Despite having paid for lessons when he was little, he was not interested. He is not in a band, his friends are not in a band, and we have never had a band play here.

The only thing in the bathroom that is antique is the claw-footed tub. The taps have a hot and a cold that can be turned on separately or together. It is a regular tap that can be found in any modern bathroom. Again, the description given by this so-called guest is not of any of the bathrooms in my house.

As for the highly slanderous statement that illegal drugs could be smelled on the property, it is disheartening that someone could write something so incredibly wrong and it still get posted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I will make this short and sweet and to the point. My family and I stayed and this bed and breakfast and absolutely loved the hospitality, breakfast and beds! The hostess was very helpful and providing suggestions as to where to go, things to do and allowed us to use her Sandbanks pass. We originally booked for one night, but then stayed for three. The swimming pool was an added bonus. The fact that she has bathing suits of all sizes available as well as towels for guests' use was an added touch. My daughter forgot hers at home! The house was charming, and the gazebo was cozy with the fire lit at night. We highly recommend staying at Sleepy Hallwell, and recommend going to Prince Edward County.

Room Tip: We had the front room and the middle room. The beds were very comforable, and we appreciated the twi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPicton, Owner at Sleepy Hallowell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We are thrilled that you have posted a review detailing your experience here. Thank you for your positive feedback. We also appreciate constructive criticism as we strive to continue offering our guests a wonderful holiday. You are most welcome to return, family and all! Kind regards to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
1.0 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
104 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
404 reviews
4.0 mi away
Empire Inn and Suites
Empire Inn and Suites
#12 of 12 in Bloomfield
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Edwardian House Bed and Breakfast
7.2 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
437 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Hallowell Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hallowell Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sleepy Hallowell Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9 Upper Lake Street, RR3, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepy Hallowell Bed and Breakfast is a two story century house that has been operating as a B&B since 2000. It offers warm hospitality, friendly service and comfortable air-conditioned bedrooms...not to mention a seasonal swimming pool. A friendly and relaxing visit awaits! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sleepy Hallowell Bed And Breakfast Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing