We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining in Picton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blumen Garden Bistro

Blumen Garden Bistro
Ranked #1 of 72 Restaurants in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Picton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Went with a group of 4 for a late lunch. Scallops are cooked to perfection! Salad was fresh and the crab cakes were tasty-but could have used a little more "zing". Service was quick and friendly & they took extra measures to ensure a food allergy was acknowledged by the kitchen staff and chef. Make a reservation and enjoy the delicious food here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YazGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    110
    22
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Locals advised us to try it and we were not disappointed. Scallops were perfect and the polenta was the best I have ever had (tasty and moist). Usually push it aside but ate it all.
Will be back for sure.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best in Prince Edward County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I spent a romantic getaway week-end in Picton recently, and this was our "fine dining" night out. The food was excellent, as were the wine selections and great desserts to finish up. The price was just what we expected for the level of food and service, a good value for a great dinner out.

We also just have to thank Kevin from The Chatsworth Suites, where we stayed, for recommending Blumen and even booking it for us!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An interesting and creative menu, great food and okay service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

The table d'hote main dish was delicious - a cordon bleu style pork with a swiss macaroni and cheese. My husband ordered the steak and enjoyed it a great deal. Our friends ordered the vegetarian main dish and the rabbit dish with gnocchi and both enjoyed their choices. The waiter was rude twice as we placed our order - with me about food allergies (I always notify restaurant when I place the reservation) and again with my husband when trying to decide how he wanted his steak cooked. This attitude put a bit of a damper on the experience but the waiter was more courteous after that. It was a lovely evening on the back covered patio area with the heaters on. We really enjoy this place but believe the staff should strive for a more caring, courteous and professional manner. The service experience will make us think twice next time. Thank you to the chef and kitchen staff for a wonderful meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection again from start to finish BUT......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

After our wonderful meal in January, we headed back again. As before, the meal was flawless, the service friendly and knowledgable. There were some lovely new dishes and hardly enough room to try them all......so we have to venture back again. Our meal would have been a total delight, but the person sitting next to us, was ugly, in my opinion, and it ruined our meal. THAT is how ridiculous the other reviewers sound. Trip Advisor is of food and service and not personal opinions of how someone looks. Blumen has food & service down to an Art. Their staff is polite, well groomed and professional. I'm pretty sure the Chef even has a pony tail. GASP! This is now our 3rd time dining there and we will return and I can't wait!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PoliteDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blumen Garden Bistro also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 
Wellington, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Blumen Garden Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing