We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brown's Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 44 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like home!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a great stay with Diane and Ross. They made us feel very comfortable and just like home. Our chats were very pleasant. They were very flexible in their services and availability of the house. The room was beautiful and they have done a great job renovating throughout the house. We highly recommend the Brown's Manor to anyone considering a stay in Picton or vicinity.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripsITake2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
80
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I wanted to have a special birthday and decided to celebrate in Picton. It was my second stay at Brown’s Manor and the perfect choice. Diane and Ross are incredible hosts. The house is beautiful and when you step inside, it warms the soul. They welcomed us into their home and from the moment we stepped into Brown’s Manor, I knew it would be another memorable stay. The room was spacious with a large ensuite, both were spotless. Diane looked after our dinner reservations and Ross mapped out a route which gave us a good look at the diversity of the area. From farms, quaint shops, restaurants and wineries, it was all encompassing. Breakfast featured local products, a great reflection on the passion that they have for the area and its’ agriculture. We highly recommend Brown’s Manor. It truly is a five star experience. It is within walking distance of downtown Picton, a charming town with lots of character.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My boyfriend booked Brown's Manor B&B for our three-night getaway to celebrate my birthday. He knew I always wanted to experience a B&B vacation in a traditional place so although he didn't reveal where exactly we were going, it wasn't a complete surprise when he pulled into the driveway of this beautifully restored mansion. What surprised me was how wonderful the hosts Diane and Ross are! They made us feel at home right away and throughout the three days we spent there. The house was immaculate and beautifully decorated with nice period furniture. They arranged for us to stay on the top floor so that we occupied the whole floor with total privacy. The huge king-size bed was very comfortable and the bedroom was spacious. Sitting at the window seat in our 3rd. floor bedroom hideaway we enjoyed a wonderful view of huge trees in the yard. The breakfasts each morning was delicious and huge. We never had to go for lunch except the afternoon tea and snacks at Miss Lily’s Cafe just around the corner. We enjoyed our dinner at Marrill Inn very much on the first night. It was small but had a very nice ambiance and the food was the best I could remember. Unfortunately we didn’t enjoy a dinner at Blumen Garden Bistro as the food and the service were both surprisingly bad. Not simply "not up to standard, but "Bad"! Although our hosts Diane and Ross graciously pre-arranged to cover the cost of our dessert, our dining experience had already sadly reached the point of being unsalvageable. This was my first trip to Picton. Although the weather was cold, our hosts and their beautiful house made this trip much enjoyed by us, and this wonderful experience made me look forward to more trips like this in the summer time.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor which has a big bedroom and bathroom with jacuzzi and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were making our traditional Thanksgiving trip to Prince Edward County this year, and decided to book early so that we could get a room at Brown's Manor. We have stayed at this B&B twice before, but it has been well over a year and a half since our last visit. But we had stayed in contact with the owners, Diane and Ross, who we really like, and have stopped by to visit when we were in The County, even if we were not staying with them.
Being at Brown's Manor again was like returning home. The house is beautiful, with large guest rooms that are like something out of a movie. We stayed in a room on the third floor with an incredibly comfortable king size bed, and ensuite washroom with a big jacuzzi tub (and a seperate shower as well).
Diane and Ross are always willing to give opinions of restuarants to try, based on their own recommendations or those of other guests. And they are always interested in your opinion of restaurants, or any other experiences you have had in The County.
Breakfast is served at 9:00AM, at a large diningroom table, where you get to chat with the other guests. I'll be honest, that this use to be one of my main concerns with staying at a B&B. But we have found that we always have a great experience at the Brown's Manor dining table, meeting interesting folks, and often find ourselves at the table chatting for well over an hour with the other guests.
Ross and Diane put out an impressive spread for breakfast. There is always lots of coffee and orange juice. Our breakfast this time started with fresh fruit, granola and yogurt. Then comes the main course, which was egg-based on both mornings, and yet uniquely different from the day before. And there was lots of toast with delicious home-made jams and perserves. I can't imagine any guest leaving the table hungry at Brown's Manor.
The County is a wonderful place to visit, with lots to do in the summer and fall months. But this B&B is so relaxing, you want to make sure you save yourself some time to just chill out on the veranda with a good book and a glass of wine.
Of all the B&Bs we have stayed at over the years, we have not experienced more hospitable hosts than Diane and Ross, who continue to make it a pleasure to visit Prince Edward County, and specifically Brown's Manor.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about climbing many stairs, take the room on the second floor. It is very large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevScan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent two days at Brown's Manor and having read some of the reviews our expectations were high and we were not in any way disappointed, it is a wonderful B&B. Our hosts Diane and Ross were brilliant and made us most welcome in their beautiful historic home. They also offered plenty of good advice as to where to dine and visit in the area. The location is good its an easy to walk to several good restaurants.

Breakfast is delicious and imaginatively prepared. Our room was wonderful with a huge bathroom and a very comfortable super size bed. The house has is a large veranda overlooking the garden where you can relax with a drink after a hard day's site seeing.

A great place to stay when visiting Prince Edward county.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneAlan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Brown's Manor B & B recently. Good location at the corner of Main Street and Johnson St. in Picton. It is also right next to the Merrill Inn if you just want to walk to dinner in the evening. Our room was great - on the second floor with a comfortable king size bed. The bathroom is very large too, but only has a shower - no bath. The room on the 3rd floor has a jacuzzi bathtub. shower and a fireplace. The 3rd floor room is on the Main Street side of the house and apparently was a bit noisy due to traffic passing by all night. They serve breakfast at 9 am sharp and it is served 'family' style in a casual, informal manner. Basic food - fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade preserves and potatoes and eggs as well as pea meal bacon. All in all a very comfortable stay with extremely helpful hosts who were very happy to give us any information and directions that we required.

Room Tip: The large room with the king size bed on the 2nd floor is very comfortable and quieter than the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHarrington54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We really can't say enough good things about Brown's Manor. We've been to several B&Bs throughout the years, and by FAR, this is the best. Their hospitality, and genuine appreciation for their guests is overwhelming. Honestly, it's the cleanest place I've ever seen. I've worked in operating rooms that would envy the cleanliness of their establishment. We've been back several times, because Ross & Diane never cease to amaze us with their thoughtful kindness, and never-ending energy for making sure our vacation is always better than the last! Often Diane and Ross are helping us with the little things you often forget, but don't think of until the last minute eg. dinner plans, routes to festivities etc etc. And they do this graciously, and with enthusiasm. They are some of the kindest folks we've ever met. It really would be a shame to go through Picton and not get a chance to enjoy a night at Brown's Manor.
Oh. And the food? Delicious. I asked for a copy of a recipe this morning before leaving! It's nice to see such honest, loveable people running a place where you want to return time and time again.
Neal and Becky Porter.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckwith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.3 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
95 reviews
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
4.6 mi away
Bells and Whistles Family Inn
5.7 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Brown's Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2 Johnson St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince Edward County designated Heritage House with three elegant bedrooms available for guests. Tastefully furnished and very spacious, all with large ensuite bath. A leisurely 5 min. stroll to the picturesque Picton Main St., for theatre, shopping and fine dining. Two blocks away from the Crystal Palace and Yacht Club. We offer a relaxed atmosphere both outdoors on the homes' signature wrap around veranda and gardens or in our indoor turn-of-the-century common areas. Enjoy a full breakfast made with the finest of County products, served in the sunny dining room. 15 Minutes from some of Canada's best beaches including Sandbanks Provincial Park. Beach package available: parking pass, beach chairs, towels and cooler, on a first come basis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brown's Manor Bed And Breakfast Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing