We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was so-so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge & Spa le Refuge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morin Heights
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything was so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Spa le Refuge during the weekend of October 2nd and 3rd. We were expecting an experience appropriate for a three-star hotel. What we experienced was more like a two-star hotel.

Pros:

The reception staff very very friendly and seemed genuine.

The backyard spa area is relaxing and pleasant. It was an interesting experience to be outside in crisp October weather in a bathing suit and then be in a hot tub watching the sky (with Jupiter in prominence).

We also has a massage in our package and the masseuses were exceptionally talented at their craft.

The next-day breakfast was satisfying. The eggs arrived with potatoes and fruits and a few slices of tomatoes. Toast and coffe/tea is all you can eat from the bread bar area.

Cons:

The driveway entrance is almost on the corner of two provincial highways. So, if cars start to accumulate while waiting for a green light in front of the Refuge, then nobody can turn into the driveway from the opposing direction. We had to go further to the gas station, turn around and come back, wait in line until the light changed so that we could finally enter the property.

The restaurant staff don't seem overly thrilled to be doing their job.
The meals included with the package were minimal. My entrée was a bowl of soup, which arrived in a small bowl and was half full. My main meal was the fish of the day. It came with minimal garnishing. For dessert, I chose the apple pie. It arrived with a burnt bottom crust. I sent it back and asked for another slice. The second slice arrived with a burnt crust. The dinner was a very disappointing experience.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    18
    13
    12
See reviews for
4
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Val des Monts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

The rooms clean, the food was exceptional, service at front desk was very good.
The steam room: very dirty, shower didn't work.
The quiet area inside: ceilings are falling apart and it seemed and the blankets were not changed.
The cold spring: two steps down and then to get into the running cold water you need to take two steps up again, why not just make it flat.
The luke warm pool: Dirty all around the edges, dirty at the bottom.
the hot tub: was ok
The restaurant was excellent 10/10
Outside in general: zero gravity chairs are broken, some are even dangerous, WEEDS everywhere, there was a plastic water bottle inbetween the rocks for 2 days, no one bothered to pick it up.

Do not go here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skullfrackim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morin Heights hotels

quebec
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

I did not stay at the hotel but the spa was not good. The hot tubs were cold and tepid. The staff at the fron tdesk was nice but there was some grouchy mean man staring at you all day and making it very unpleasant and definitly NOT relaxing. Less expensive than Scandinave but as the sayin goes you get what you pay for. I definitely would NOT recommend this place.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank familymontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

I went at this place with my girlfriend in the beginning of January 2008. I was looking for a nice little place to spend a little romantic week-end far from big city (but not isolated either). I booked for a room with bathtub, and for a dinner at the restorant. The meal we had there was really good (good value with the combo) and the little restorant they have there is really nice. Before I went there, I never experienced the concept of Nordic bath, but I must say that if I wouldn't have booked a room with a bathub had I known I would spent most of my evening in the spa and sauna. They are very well designed and you don't have to walk too much. The breakfast was better than you sometime can expect for a place like this.

On the negative side, we were put on the first floor, near the laundry room, and we had noise coming from there early in the morning and late in the evening.

Anyway we had a really pleasant stay and we would come back anytime.

  • Liked — The baths, the food
  • Disliked — Noisy first floor
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Olbernatchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2008

I live in Morin Heights and regularly attend the several spas in the area but this one is the worst! There is nothing wrong with the spa itself, the reception people are just horrible.

First off, I always call ahead to find out if their promotions are still on offer and never get a kind response, I usually get "well, who told you that? It has never been that way here and we cannot give you that rate!" This, while I look at the current local paper's advertising??? Or, they are currently offering a $25 dollar special if you go in the evening with a pasta dinner is included. When I call, I tell the lady that I don't want the pasta dinner, just use of the spa. She tells me that that would be 30$ and there's no place this evening, I'd have to reserve for another night...

Guess what, I'll just go elsewhere, thanks!
I find their service people appauling!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank simnonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PQ
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2008

This spa has the worst customer service of any spa my wife and I have ever been to. It is certainly the worst in the Morin Heights/Saint Sauveur area (and we have been to them all).
Staff are rude and arrogant. They have no idea how to be civil to people and treat you as if it's a privilege just to be allowed through the door.
It's a surprising attitude given the competition from the other two, excellent spas nearby - Spa Le Baltique and Ofuro.

I can't recommend this place - which is a pity because the spa facilities themselves are quite good for the price

  • Liked — The Facilities
  • Disliked — The terrible staff
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank barefootinthewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Refuge for 1 night package and paid about $300 for a "suite" (mid-week) We were off to a rough start when we got a the front desk and found out that there were additional charges that we were not informed when booking.. Really it was not about the charges, but the attitude was a real turn off. We were 3 couples in the entire hotel and they wanted to charge us for showing off 2 hours early (we did not wanted the room but rather have access to the spa) It does not make sense to me to go for a day at the spa in February and enjoy the sun only starting in the mid-afternoon... The sun goes down at 15:00... We foudn it pretty ridiculous.

The manager was quit rude and not customer focus.

We asked for a suite we saw and their website when we booked to discover that again there was extra charges to get this room. We ended up paying another extra for the room. It was nothing special. However, it was very clean.

The dinner was included in our package and was delicious. The service was also very good. The ambiance and everything was perfect.

The breakfast was a different story. We asked for orange juice and got pinneaple juice. We told the waitress and she refused to acknoledge her mistake and was very rude. Eventually, the 2 other couples got down for breakfast and had the same comment. She was still in compete denial!!!!!

The spa is nice, it is cozy and quiet.

I would not recommend for people to sleep there. One day visit is enough.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Nieblax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morin Heights
5.8 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel & Suites Les Laurentides
Hotel & Suites Les Laurentides
#6 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge le Clos Joli
Auberge le Clos Joli
#1 of 2 in Morin Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#4 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.4 mi away
Relais St. Denis
Relais St. Denis
#2 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Watel
Hotel Spa Watel
#3 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge & Spa le Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge & Spa le Refuge

Property: Auberge & Spa le Refuge
Address: 500, route 364 Ouest, Morin Heights, Quebec J0R 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Morin Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morin Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge & Spa Le Refuge is one of the only places of the region that offers in the same establishment a service of lodging, restaurant, massage and nordic baths with an access to the Simon River. At the junction of two country roads emerges the discrete shape of the Auberge & Spa Le Refuge, a small piece of paradise. Its complete range of packages makes it the perfect relaxing spa destination. A cozy cocoon to relax and revive yourself, it also offers Nordic baths to experiment the thermotherapy and thereby eliminate the negative effects of stress and rediscover your mental and physic well-being. Our restaurant features a sophisticated cuisine that will even please the fine palates. The beauty of the presentation and the true tastes make it an excellent choice. Our casual dining room will extend the relaxation with even the possibility of having breakfast with your bathrobe on. Isn't it amazing? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge & Spa le Refuge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge And Spa Le Refuge
Auberge & Spa Le Refuge Hotel Morin Heights
Le Refuge Morin Heights
Auberge & Spa Le Refuge Morin Heights, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing