We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what airforcelodge.com says it is!”
Review of Air Force Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watson Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Air Force Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Watson Lake
Westfield, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exactly what airforcelodge.com says it is!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

It is rare that a place is exactly what it advertises itself to be. We took off our shoes inside the front door and were promptly given our choice of rooms. They were all perfectly clean, as was the rest of the facility. Michael was a very good host and recommended a couple places to eat before the construction workers would be hitting the local restaurants. We went to Bee Jays Cafe(nothing to look at, but a great dinner). Separate men's and women's shower rooms and washrooms with multiple private facilities in each. Clean as could be! Great value, would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    50
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
57
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We drove 11 hours from Terrace to Watson Lake and were happy to stay with Mike, a most engaging and knowledgeable person. As advertised it is a very unique place and if you like clean this is it. Walking to the bathroom or shower is no big deal just a few feet. Very quiet with the window closed as we were on the highway side. Lots of parking and interesting fellow lodgers.
Save a few bucks and pay cash and enjoy a great piece of history.!

Room Tip: get the back if you can but still great on the front- remember to take your shoes off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsthoughtful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

A nicely preserved old pilot barracks. Clean and quiet. The rooms were small, as was the TV but comfortable. We had to laugh, we asked for a bed for 2 but got two twins pushed together which was fine but the twin coverings were then tiled over the two beds, it made for tangled bedding. The shared facilities were clean and I never met another person in them. Michael was gracious and it was like he was hosting you in his home. A nice alternative in Watson Lake. A ice machine would have been nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoMensMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Good place to stop for the night when traveling the Alcan Hwy, especially in Watson Lake. This is an old military building that has lots of small rooms that have been converted to small bedrooms. The rooms sleep two but we borrowed a comfortable cot with mattress and slept three.

There was a very small tv in the room which the owner said got over 100 channels, but we did not try it because there is also free wifi and we just used that until we went to sleep.

The bathrooms and showers a communal and centrally located in the hallway. They were very clean and there was plenty of hot water.

The owner is very friendly and will tell you the good places to eat and thing to see in Watson Lake before you push on. No breakfast is served.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthCarolinaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
168 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

If you are doing the Alaska Highway and want to meet like minded people this is the spot in Watson Lake.
The place is very well run and managed and very clean with lots of nice little extras like free tea and coffee and paper towels in the bathrooms.
However all showers and toilets are shared so if you want private facilities this place is not for you.
Internet is fast and free and there is cable TV in all rooms.
It can get a bit noisy early in the morning as people start early here due to long travelling days and minimal darkness but that is the nature of things in a travellers type hostel.
Overall we really enjoyed it and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozzroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Unique guest house. The owner, Mike, is friendly and kind. The rates are just right. Don't expect it to be a four-star hotel. It is a nice, clean place for an overnight stay on a road trip. You will not have your own private bathroom in your room. It is kind of like college dorms. Bathrooms are shared: there is a ladies bathroom with toilets and sinks and a ladies shower room with many showers and dressing areas. The men also have their own bathroom and shower room.

Would I stay here again? Yes, I think so.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5SouthernGirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

A neat little stop over place. Very clean, very quiet. The owner mike will greet you personally and talk as long as you could want about the history of the place. He obviously loves his hotel.

The only downside I saw is the rooms are a touch small and it has common bathrooms. Not an issue for us, but could prove troublesome for others if the stay was in a busier time of year.

Very hard to beat the value for a nice place to sleep.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watson Lake
0.0 mi away
Inconnu Lodge
Inconnu Lodge
#17 of 40 in Yukon
10 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nisutlin Trading Post & Motel
0.0 mi away
Bonanza Gold Motel
Bonanza Gold Motel
#5 of 6 in Dawson City
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Air Force Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Air Force Lodge

Property: Air Force Lodge
Address: 136 Adela Trail | Box 825, Watson Lake, Yukon Y0A 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Watson Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Watson Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Air Force Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored historic building. Best place in town to have a quiet sleep. Enjoy the good old times with the comfort of today. Complementary coffee, tea and hot chocolate. Award winning clean. Wireless High speed connection is free. Winner of Yukon's Golden Host award 2005! Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Air Force Hotel Watson Lake
Air Force Lodge Watson Lake, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing