We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Safe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Air Force Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watson Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Air Force Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Watson Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and Safe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hotel was a welcome refuge on my trip across the Alcan. The owner was very friendly and offered great advice on traveling the highway. Traveling by my lonesome, I was especially pleased with how comfortable I felt at this location; a welcome contrast to how I felt exploring the rest of the town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunscreen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    49
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
56
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

The owner is kind and so friendly, this building is an amazing place and it was a pleasure to stay in somewhere so beautiful. One of the best accommodations I've ever had the pleasure of staying in.

The standard of the finish in our room and especially the washrooms are impeccable, along with this it is amazingly clean and the lobby area with coffee is a cool place to chill out.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Mike is an awesome host at one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in. It is the site of where the pilots who shuttled planes through Canada and Alaska to Russia in the Lend Lease Sale during WWII. A friend of mine recommended it to me, and I recommend it to everyone. Reasonably priced, bathrooms are down the hall, separate men's and women's facilities. Furthermore, Mike will help you in a jam like locking your keys in the car! The taking off the shoes thing at the front door is normal in the northland, Canada and Alaska, and is part of the experience. A GREAT place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebiBye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a great place to stay for the budget traveller. The owner is one of the nicest people on the Alcan and the rooms are spotless. We plan on returning here on our way back from Alaska in the Fall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeStartToDrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
277 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was a nice place to stay and good value. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Clean rooms and facilities. It was about a mile out of the town centre, so a nice 15 -20 minute walk into town for some food. Unusual to have to take you shoes off, but it was explained this helped keep the place clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LincolnshireBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was our second stay at the Air Force Lodge. this time we were not actually going through Watson Lake but decided to drive from the Cassiar highway junction specifically to stay here. The host is wonderful, the place is spotless and the price is right. It is not a hotel so much as a special Yukon experience. facilities are simple. You enter into the center of the building in a room with a large dining table, some chairs and a kettle for coffee. You take your shoes off and check in. (Since we live in Northern BC I never thought much of this. I have to take my shoes off at several businesses, but I understand this surprises many people.) The fabulous host talks to you and answers all questions. He is truly a delightful host. You are shown the communal washrooms and shower room. I have not used the showers but the washrooms are clean. And it really does remind me of summer camp. Then you go to your room. These contain a bed, a chair and a TV. The wifi works very well. Lighting is good. Everyone I chatted to in the hallway and front room were friendly and relaxed about this odd little place.

I would not suggest this to anyone who needs their own facilities or does not think the above description sounds fun. But if you need a clean safe place at a decent price then I encourage you to give it a try.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jemmaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

For the most part it was fantastic! As mentioned in other points, it is shared accomodations with the bathrooms and showers. Everything is completely spotless and the owner is very nice and helpful.

If there is one thing that I wish I could change it would be the soundproofing. I fell asleep with my tv on at literally the quietest volume it could go, and it woke up my neighbour, who then woke me up by pounding on my door at 4:00 a.m. I of course had not intended on falling asleep with it on, thus waking someone up.

Also, if you have a Virgin or Bell cell phone, you may have issue getting reception here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watson Lake
0.0 mi away
Inconnu Lodge
Inconnu Lodge
#19 of 39 in Yukon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nisutlin Trading Post & Motel
0.0 mi away
Johnson's Crossing RV Campground and Motel
Johnson's Crossing RV Campground...
#1 of 1 in Johnson's Crossing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Air Force Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Air Force Lodge

Property: Air Force Lodge
Address: 136 Adela Trail | Box 825, Watson Lake, Yukon Y0A 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Watson Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Watson Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Air Force Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored historic building. Best place in town to have a quiet sleep. Enjoy the good old times with the comfort of today. Complementary coffee, tea and hot chocolate. Award winning clean. Wireless High speed connection is free. Winner of Yukon's Golden Host award 2005! Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Air Force Hotel Watson Lake
Air Force Lodge Watson Lake, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing