We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of better things in Watson Lake”
Review of Kathy's Kitchen

Kathy's Kitchen
Restaurant details
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“one of better things in Watson Lake”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We found ourselves in the late evening of 24 hour daylight and were very pleased with Katy's Kitchen. Good menu, quick service and tasteful meals. We were north bound and passing through so a local's recommendation for Kathy's was a rewarding conversation. Do not know about alternatives but would eat at Kathy's again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    64
    32
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only place open and good food”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Traveling south in early November and it was very cold (below zero C). Cathy's was the only place we found open and their food was good. So glad there were there or we would have been hungry. The plus is the food was good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AKFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBay, ON
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Probably should be the first place to try in Watson”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We went here upon recommendations from several people in the town. They serve a number of home comfort foods including Salisbury steak, fish and chips, steak and pork chops. Mains are priced at $14-22. Each evening they also have a daily soup and dinner feature. One of us ordered the Salisbury steak, one ordered the fish and chips and I ordered the pork chops. All came with soup or salad, fries or mashed potatoes and vegetables. The salad, fries and vegetables were fine. The fish seemed to be done properly, the Salisbury steak was a bit overdone and my pork chops were WAY overdone. They also serve a variety of 14 inch pizzas, which are incredibly expensive (>$30 each). The menu indicates that they are also open for breakfast. Given the lack of options in the town, this may still be your best bet. I should learn not to order pork chops in a restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kathy's Kitchen Yum, Yum”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were hungry when we got to Watson Lake and we enjoyed stopping at Kathy's for a home cooked meal!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RedHatCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice place in Watson!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Food was good. Nice and clean! Nice to see in Watson, considering what I am used to when visiting Watson

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathy's Kitchen also viewed

 
Watson Lake, Yukon
 

Been to Kathy's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing