We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's food.”
Review of BeeJay's Cafe - CLOSED

BeeJay's Cafe
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Palmer, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's food.”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Hey, I get it. We're in the Yukon and pretty far from everywhere. The burger was good. The fries were good. My wife's chicken was cooked and after some discussion she got most of the rest of her order. The service was OK. I'm not really looking for "good service" in place like this.

It's food in Watson Lake. It's alright. We didn't check out the other options but certainly would in the future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeTambien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    20
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Creek, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outside bad. Inside good.”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The outside looks like an intentionally run down movie set. It certainly doens't look like somewhere that serves food. It's a run down service station and if I hadn't been staying in Watson Lake for a week I'd probably never have noticed that it has a cafe attached. I had a Monte Cristo with a salad, hard stuff to screw up but the salad was fresh (not always easy in the Yukon) and the Monte Cristo had both cheddar and Swiss with turkey and ham, so I was pretty happy with everything. I haven't eaten so well at a gas station since Cusco.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Full of Character”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Beejay's serves decent basic breakfast food with friendly helpful service. I enjoyed eating here because it was outside my normal experience.

The trucker at the next table was talking to some other guys and telling them that the grizzlies were coming down to the road now. The restaurant is attached to an automotive service shop.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HOPEFULLY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchburg, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Watson Lake, A place to fill up”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We found an ad for this little restaurant in the mile post magazine. From the outside it leaves you with the impression there is more to be desired. The service was good. The place was clean and the food was good. My husband had the salisbury steak dinner and I had a salad and the price was mid twenties. That isn't bad for this area. There is not a lot of choices in this town but I would eat here again if in this area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyme4relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“very nice cafe”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had breakfast here during outr travels along the Alaskan Highway. The food was very good and so was the service.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank gazza53255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BeeJay's Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing