We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little place we encountered on the Alaska Highway.”
Review of Nugget City

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watson Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nugget City
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Scott and Linda are just delightful people. Full of knowledge and totally committed to providing the best of friendly hospitality. David Grieg certainly does the best Spaghetti Bolognese on the Alaska Highway. Served at 12.30am complete with great red wine followed with apple pie.

At the Northern Beaver Lodge the selection of books and gifts are better than can be had in almost any city we visited. The book written by Linda,s Mum and Dad - Rivers of Gold is one the the nicest books I have read in recent times. A must for anyone with a sense of adventure and an appreciation of good old fashioned integrity.

It's a long way out but we will be back.

Thanks and best of luck for the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 107 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Cabin #4 and had a great experience. The place was a welcome stop in the middle of nowhere when lodging is scarce. The cabins were nicely appointed, (Mini-fridge, hairdryer, TV ect.) the decor was from the 90's, but clean, the bed was queen sized. The room was a little hot and there was a heating unit inside that I couldn't turn off, but I was too tired to care. The price was about average for the area and I felt glad to find a good, hot shower in the Yukon. As other travelers said the food is pricey, but it was convenient and that goes a long way in my book.

Room Tip: I liked the front cabins for the little porch, but there are lots of skeeters around. Keep the light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ch0pperd0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Well first off my friend and I motor biked up and where looking forward to it since I was there as a kid and remembered how nice it was but wow how things change, service was terrible, Went to check in to see if there were any rooms and the office was closed and a note saying go for help in the restaurant. So went to the restaurant asked and the guy didn't know anything. So he called on the radio for someone, no one answered, called again, and again, finally after 20min I gave up and went to the RV park and asked. No one there knew anything, but sent me back to the restaurant. Went back to the restaurant and by then the guy was getting frustrated with me for asking again to talk to someone. Finally someone showed up, and they told us about the rooms either a cabin or a room in a trailer they had, we asked if we could see the trailer room when they told us it was $85 a night but they wouldn't let us, But we were tired and didn't want deal with it. WHAT A MISTAKE!!!! the room was 10ftx10ft with 2 twin beds. For shower and bathroom we had to share with the rest of people in the trailer which I didn't care till I saw they had a coin operated shower. Gees, $85 a night and still have to pay for more. Went to the restaurant looking for supper and the prices where outrageous. Went back and had some of our camp food for supper. I remembered when I was a kid we could pan for gold there and it was fun and we thought it would be something fun to do. However they don't have that anymore even though there's a sign still up for it by the road. They'll let you pan for gold out back of their property but you have to bring your own pan or buy one for $25 (another rip off.) We decided just to take a quick spin down the road to the place right at junction 37. We talked to the staff there and found out we could have got the same room with free showers for half the price and that there food cost a little less also. So if you have to stop at nugget city for the night I wouldn't unless you have to cause you'll pay for it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank g k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a nicely located place near the junction of the Alcan Highway and the Cassiar Highway with cabins that are of log, fairly new, with cute front porches. The inside is basic but of a decent size. However, our experience there was mixed. We complained about the TV not working, thinking that because it is a very old Sears model, it needed replacement or fixing. We asked that on our return trip we could be put in one of the other, like-priced cabins. Through correspondence with them, they informed us that the problem was the sattelite reception, not the TV even though the TV in the cafe worked perfectly. In a third correspondence they said that the cafe TV was on a different sattelite.

The double bed mattress was good. It must have been replaced recently. Thanks for that!

Though we did not complain about it, one of the towels had an X for rags, another had a large brown stain. When we returned, we were given the exact same room though the room had new towels. However, the same blanket, worn and old smelling, was still on the double bed. It was disappointing that the owners were not willing to respect our request, which was possible since they only had two cabins rented the second night we were there. Perhaps the other cabins were in worse condition. I do not know.

Watson Lake is about twelve miles away but we have never had good luck there either.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our family stayed here for a few days recently and we were not impressed with Nugget City. The cabins (we camped and didn't stay in the cabins) looked quite nice and comfortable, but were quite expensive. The restaurant served decent food and good baked goods, but charged a RIDICULOUS $5/hr to use their wireless internet! Nearly every place along the Alaska Highway provides free wireless (if they have it) to their restaurant customers, but not Nugget City! Even in the campsites, they charge an absurd $8/day to use their wireless internet.

The bathrooms and showers are horribly dirty and were not cleaned the entire time we were there. Also, the 2nd and 3rd day we were there, the hot water tank was broken so no hot showers were available.

The last day we were there, the internet was also out. Many customers complained to the campground host because all had paid an extra $8 each to access the wireless. Absolutely NO refund was offered to us even though we could not use the service we had paid for. The campground host told us to go use the internet at the restaurant, which is on a separate modem, but the restaurant manager wanted people to pay an additional $5/hr to use it, even though everyone had already paid the $8 to use it at the campsite! HORRIBLE!!

Nugget City looks great on the outside, but they are out to nickel and dime everyone who comes through. Rude staff, dirty facilities, expensive and poor customer service.....I will NEVER stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Surmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our family stayed here for a few days recently and we were not impressed with Nugget City. The cabins (we camped and didn't stay in the cabins) looked quite nice and comfortable, but were quite expensive. The restaurant served decent food and good baked goods, but charged a RIDICULOUS $5/hr to use their wireless internet! Nearly every place along the Alaska Highway provides free wireless (if they have it) to their restaurant customers, but not Nugget City! Even in the campsites, they charge an absurd $8/day to use their wireless internet.

The bathrooms and showers are horribly dirty and were not cleaned the entire time we were there. Also, the 2nd and 3rd day we were there, the hot water tank was broken so no hot showers were available.

The last day we were there, the internet was also out. Many customers complained to the campground host because all had paid an extra $8 each to access the wireless. Absolutely NO refund was offered to us even though we could not use the service we had paid for. The campground host told us to go use the internet at the restaurant, which is on a separate modem, but the restaurant manager wanted people to pay an additional $5/hr to use it, even though everyone had already paid the $8 to use it at the campsite! HORRIBLE!!

Nugget City looks great on the outside, but they are out to nickel and dime everyone who comes through. Rude staff, dirty facilities, expensive and poor customer service.....I will NEVER stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Losang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at this place for the first time on our trip up to the Yukon. When we arrived, we checked in at the North Beaver Gift Shop, and were greeted by the friendly owner Linda Goodwin. She seemed cheerful and ready to assist you when you had a question or comment, or concern that you needed answered.

When we arrived, she gave us three keys, so that we were able to check the type of room we wanted to stay in. The cheapest of them were the sleeper cabins which pretty much only consisted of a bed and shared facilities. Then we were able to check out a cabin that wasn't too far off of the sleeper cabins, and that was not too much different from the front cabins, so we decided to stay in the front cabins.

The front cabins are very spacious, and has a comfortable bed, as well as satellite television, and a fridge, along with a spacious bathroom. The only downside of the accommodations, is that you are not able to check your email or internet from the cabin, it has to be done in the restaurant, and is 5.00/hr.

The gift shop is well stocked with souvenirs, toiletries, candies, drinks, clothing and so on, and the owner Linda also highly suggests a book that goes into the history of her family that originally owned that site and the history behind this accommodation.

The restaurant, the Wolf it Down is a cafeteria like restaurant, and has a friendly atmosphere. It appears that some locals come here, as well as guests, and also truck drivers that need a good place to eat. The food is slightly over priced, but it evens out with the excellent customer service that you get from both the cook, and the waitresses that serve you.

Overall, I would recommend this place again, and we will sincerely think about coming back to this location in further travels.

Room Tip: Ask the owner if you're able to look at a few of the rooms before you choose which one as the ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nugget City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget City

Address: Mile 627 Alaska Highway, Watson Lake, Yukon Y0A 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Watson Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Watson Lake
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Nugget City Watson Lake, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing