We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in time for a great Breakfast”
Review of Matterson House

Matterson House
Ranked #8 of 39 Restaurants in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Back in time for a great Breakfast”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

It seems that you walk into your grandmothers living room and a friend is giving you the menus and another friend is cooking for you. A small place with great breakfast flavors. You don't have to serve special food as long as you get the basics right and very good and consistently good. We enjoyed our Breakfast here, service was fast, the portions too big, I know, never complain about portions being too big, but they are, I am just not a big fan of to go, the flavors were great and the price right. Enjoy

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAJonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    174
    64
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leonberg, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the best restaurant on Vancouver Island”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We ate here and we ate there on Vancouver Island. And it was really good in many cases! But then we discovered Matterson House and were totally flabbergasted! The atmosphere, the design and the style, nearly norwegian, the service and last not least this wonderful food we had several times. So we do not only continue dreaming of Vancouver Island and of our absolute wonderful Lodge we lived in, but also of Matterson House!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fernand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice lunch in nice little old house”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stopped by unexpectedly today for an early lunch on the last day of our visit to Ucluelet. My wife and I shared a huge Caesar salad and halibut quesadillas. Both excellent. Like more area restaurants and cafes, they were closed Monday and Tuesday, which was disappointing for us.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tv40821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss it, you won't be disappointed!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

A quaint older home converted to a restaurant. It is decorated in a "grandma's house" motif and not only do they serve a surprisingly varied and delicious menu, the portion sizes will definitely satisfy a hearty appetite. The staff is friendly and you get the feeling that they are really glad that you stopped in. Don't miss this place!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Cute little spot. Enjoyed the food and the staff was friendly. The mocha cheesecake was to die for. Very glad we asked a local the best place to eat and they were right. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sometimediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matterson House also viewed

Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 

Been to Matterson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing