We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice people, horrible coffee”

Gray Whale Ice Cream & Deli
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Ucluelet
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice people, horrible coffee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This deli had no atmosphere and the coffee was horrible. Decent service. Lots of pre-made sandwiches and baking

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    33
    15
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ucluelet, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A good place to have a quick bite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Gray Whale is a coffee shop that has been around for many years. It opens early, to catch those start there day early. If you are in a hurry and need a sandwich to go, or just want a break, to sit down for a coffee and a treat. This is place to go. There is a whale watching tour place that shares the space. So after your whale watch tour, get a coffee to warm up. The sandwich is made fresh and to your liking. But there are other nice treats as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't overlook this coffee shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a rather unassuming cafe/deli on the way into Ucluelet. We frequented it for lattes four years ago, and finally decided to give it a try on our last day in town (October 7). We were sorry we hadn't visited earlier because their lattes more than measure up to the other spots in town and in Tofino. It doesn't have a cafe-type vibe, it's a bit utilitarian in appearance, but if you want a good drink, made to order, this is the place. There are a couple of tables by the window that we favour. My husband had his latte with a pumpkin puree as opposed to the typical syrup and thought it a vast improvement as it wasn't too sweet. We also shared a carrot muffin, baked from an old family recipe, and enjoyed that too. Service was very personable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvveggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good healthy food on a budget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wanting something not fried we stopped in for a sandwich after a whale watching tour. Sandwiches were a good size and delicious. You pick your bread, meat, cheese and other toppings. They have other tasty treats as well. We tried a spanikopia and it was delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler_3187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lots to choose from!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stopped here after our whale watching for a warm savoury pastry, the servers were all really friendly and the prices were very reasonable. They had all sorts there - sandwiches, cakes, pastries, coffee, salad, cookies, ice creams...

We had an ice cream too and they have a good selection of flavours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Whale Ice Cream & Deli also viewed

Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 

Been to Gray Whale Ice Cream & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing