We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Bed and Breakfast We've Stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Francis Boutique Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We were looking for a B&B on our way to Tofino and found this great place! Very friendly staff, great breakfast, very clean and a great price too! The town of Ucluelet is very nice with walking trails close by. Next time we're out this way we will definitely stay here again, actually hoping to learn some kyaking!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 324 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2010

I stayed here before and after a sea kayaking trip to the Broken Group Islands in Barkley Sound. It is a very friendly family run business and is linked to Majestic Sea Kayaking which is run from the same location. I would definitively recommend it to anyone who is going on one of the sea kayaking trips. The entire staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pscork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Hi Tracey and Ted,

WOW…simply “Majestic” the accommodations are absolutely fabulous. Our hosts were more than kind and available if needed. The breakfasts are amazing. The area in which Majestic B&B is located was such an incredible gift to me. The peace and quiet of the area, the stunning wildlife – I will never forget sitting in the hot tub watching and listening to several eagles flying over my head and calling to each other as they land in a tree that is within easy viewing distance!!!! Listening to the sea lions and harbor seals barking and just sitting to watch the life that exists on the water was such a beautiful opportunity to be with nature. I look forward to coming back again and taking a kayaking trip and having the time to hike on the Wild Pacific Trail.

Thank you Tracy and Ted for a memorable and nurturing weekend.

Sincerely,
Katherine Potter
Jun 3-6/10

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatherineVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Our experience with Majestic Ocean bed and breakfast was top notch all the way. Our 4 person crew stayed in a 2 bedroom/1 full bath suite that included an upperlevel walkway and furnished deck area. The view from the outdoor area and the main bedroom was gorgeous. The outdoor hot tub on the waterfront was one of our favorite areas. We watched seals following the fishing trawlers in, while bald eagles flew overhead and a kingfisher had his fish dinner on a nearby dock. The common room was a lovely cozy livingroom area with flatscreen tv and desktop computer for everyone's use. Attatched to the common room is a dining area where a great tasty homemade breakfast is served at the time you request, and a kitchenette fully stocked for hot drinks. The best part, however, are the friendly and helpful owners who are always there with answers.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjoebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

my husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in late May. this is a very clean and friendly place. super quiet at night. We stayed at Emily Carr room, very spacious room and comfortable bed. a large spa quality bath room. Tracy and the French young lady worked there are very friendly. We really enjoyed our hot home cooked breakfast, the fruit bowl is wonderful. Tracy even packed the home cooked cookie for us for the road while we are leaving. We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yannygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Highly recommend the trip to Ukie and the kayak to the islands - great guides, great hosts, great breakie, and truly amazing kayak experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kermit7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We found this place through TripAdvisor and chose it because it sounded less touristy than Tofino; and was a change from hotels on our trip. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay - despite arriving in torrential rain. Tracy and Ted quickly made us very welcome with a home made treat to have with our tea on arrival.

The room was freshly decorated, very clean and spacious.

There is also a common room with the internet available - while there we suggested they added a headphone set so that people could use Skype or similar - and we believe they were going to do that. Breakfasts were served here (if not outside) and we could help ourselves to tea and coffee at any time. There is a TV available but we did not watch any, just enjoyed the peace and quiet. Similarly there is a hot tub which we did not use.

The breakfasts included fresh fruit, granola, orange juice and tea or coffee plus a different treat each day - blueberry pancakes with maple syrup, french toast, omelette and apple cake - all delicious! And on two days when warm enough we ate it on the verandah looking out over the inlet - where we could see seals and bald eagles.

While there the weather was initially drizzly then cleared up. The walks around the local headland and further north on Long Beach gave great views. A visit to Tofino to the north must include the Eagle Aerie art gallery - the art of Roy Henry Vickers.

We went on a whale watching trip but unfortunately did not see any (!) - but enjoyed the trip nonetheless - and we could have gone back for a free trip the next day but did not have time.

For a meal out, the Black Rock resort was pricey, but we would recommend fish and chips take away from Jiggy's - Tracy will direct you - along with others which we did not get to.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kipps58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
247 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Francis Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Francis Boutique Inn

Address: 1536 Peninsula Rd, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada (Formerly Majestic Ocean Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range: $171 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Francis Boutique Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Francis Boutique Inn is a luxurious adult only, five star, multi award winning small hotel. The centrally located property is perched on a hilltop and adorned with beautiful harbour views. The four elegant and thoughtfully designed ‘hotel-style’ rooms are spacious, modern and clean. All suites also have access to the wonderful outdoor spa hot tub to soak in after a day of walking the trails and beaches. The Francis is also just a short drive away from Tofino, surrounded by Canada’s treasured Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, and just minutes to Vancouver Island’s highest rated Wild Pacific Trail. Come stay and be right at home. TIP: Bring your swim gear: The outdoor modern spa hot tub truly is wonderful; & because we are adult only & have only four suites by design, it is impeccably clean; it has tons of jets, & tucked away under the trees in the back of the property under a gazebo + has a star light displaying on the ceiling. Very relaxing & beautiful at the end of your day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Francis Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing