We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, un coin magnifique, un posto bellissimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Francis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Francis
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Genève
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place, un coin magnifique, un posto bellissimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We spent 3 nights with our daughter in the upper deck suite, ideal for a couple + one person, last June ! It had a fabulous view and we could watch from our terrace eagles fliying and nesting in the trees just above us, deers grazing under our windows, even an otter swimming and playing in the water, just a few meters from the bathtub ! Warm welcome from the owners, nice chats with the other friendly guests, good tips for restaurants and walks. There is so much to do in Ucluelet and around, we just loved it and particularly this B&B. Nous espérons y retourner un jour ....
Eric, Donatella et Alexandra - Genève

Room Tip: Choose the upper deck suite : great view and perfect if you travel with a kid or a friend, and still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donatella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    29
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
145
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Welland, on
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Majestic B&B, what can we say???? As children, we were taught that unless you have something 'nice' to say, to not say anything at all. Well, Norm & I can only think
of 'great', 'fabulous', 'wonderful' things to describe our stay with the 4 of you!!! Warmest of greetings from the hosts and their 2 sweet loyal doggies. Then a thorough run down
of the local sights, including walking trails, shopping and dining. We were then shown to our room, Emily Carr - Chiropractic Bed WOW, the breakfast and lounge area,
the hot-tub (robes, towels and Crocs provided!) and deck. Tracey takes a lot of pride in her breakfasts. Her pride is well deserved. YUMMY!
We passed 4 fabulous days in the area walking the local beaches and rain-forest trails and watching the young folks surfing in Tofino. As we were
leaving, in heavy weather, Ted and Tracey suggested that if we wanted to see a true wonder, we had to go wave-watching at the light house.
Once again they were so right!!! Those of you wanting to immerse yourselves in the local sights, smells and sounds, Majestic B&B is the place for you!!!
Ted and Tracey, THANK YOU VERY MUCH for making our stay so memorable. 5 GLOWING STARS for your B&B. 30 Mar-2 Apr 2012.

Normand & Nancy L

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Normand L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We found Majestic B&B while looking for kayak tours (awesome!) and decided to book the stay there as well. We totally enjoyed the great hospitality and yummy breakfast. The hot tub overlooking the inlet is just perfect after a day of hiking & kayaking. We even had guests in the garden over night - some deer preferred the green grass in the garden for dinner.
Great help with finding a whale watching tour as well! When coming back to Canada we will definitely be back to stay at Majestic B&B!!!!

Room Tip: All three rooms are recommendable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

I visited here with my sister and a friend for a night before and after our kayak trip to the Pacific Rim National Park. The room was very nice and the view over the water was stunning, but the best part was the breakfast in the morning. We were served loads of food that included amazing blueberry french toast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojo120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

We found the Majestic B&B online. We went Ucluelet to celebrate our birthdays. At the Majestic we got a very nice room with a soaker tub & shower. Nice view of the Inlet and an awesome hot tub. It was nice to relax in the hot tub with a glass of wine in the evening and take in the great view of the Harbour and Inlet. Our hosts were easy going people with a vast knowledge of the area. They made us feel right at home and the breakfasts that we were served were exceptional. We had a very relaxing couple of days where we hiked around the area and explored some back roads. I would recommend the Majestic B&B to anyone and to our Hosts, we will be back. Mark & Sandi

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rydr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed two nights in Majestic Ocean B&B,the romms are very nice and very clean.
The first evenig we relaxed in the hot tub with the beatiful view to the sea.Our handmade breakfast in the morning was fantastic,we get some good tipps for hiking and to see bears.
It was a fantastic vacation in Ucluelet

Room Tip: Bed and Breakfast is better than staying in Motels
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

After listening to our teen and I rave about our kayaking trip at Majestic Ocean Kayaking (and being forced to look at some amazing photos over and over!) in Ucluelet BC, my wife expressed a desire to see it for herself. But she does not kayak and has no wish to do so. What to do? No worries, I had seen that Majestic operate their own B&B right at the same facility, so booked a one-day one-night stay for us both, combined with a visit to Victoria the preceding day. On arrival, owners Tracy and Ted greeted me like an old friend, even though they had met me but once. I swear even the resident dogs greeted me like a long-lost buddy of theirs! My wife was immediately impressed by the area, and loved the location of the Majestic B&B, right on the water at the mouth of the harbour. Tracy and Ted have found a small piece of paradise here, as it is incredibly peaceful and tranquil, and yet has lots of interest going on, with various watercraft going up and down, eagles, herons and other birdlife to observe, and a cheerful bustle of activity from the kayaking business next door.
The layout of the Majestic is perfect, with separate rooms and private baths conveniently close to a very warm, comfortable and cosy common area, where we were able to relax and have a cup of tea, watch some TV after our journey, and I was able to catch up with my emails. Later on, we went out for dinner under Tracy and Ted's recommendation, as they know the area intimately (Ted is Ucluelet born and bred and knows everyone!) and also were full of advice for next day, about activities and walks in the area. On our return from dinner, we enjoyed soaking in the hot-tub right on the deck overlooking the water, it was an absolutely beautiful moonlight night, pure magic. And so to bed, as they say - we had chosen to stay in the "Emily Carr' room, as we are fans of her artwork, and it was exactly right, Tracy has great taste in decor and furnishings, very well done and without the fussy, overly-frilly 'tweeness' of many other B&Bs we have stayed at. We had our own bath with a nice big tub, and an exit onto a patio seating area which we did not use, but would be fabulous to sit and watch the world on the water go by. We both slept like logs. Any B&B fan will tell you that the quality of the breakfast can make or break a B&B stay. Well no worries on that score at the Majestic! Tracy and Ted are not only attentive, warm hosts, but great cooks as well, and also pay very close attention to organic, healthy ingredients. There was a beautifully presented selection of help-yourself cold dishes such as cereals, granola, fruit, yogurt, juice etc, plus hot dishes which I believe change daily. When we were there, we were in luck, it was the turn of our favourite, eggs benny! but one of the other 3 guests staying at the time, raved about the French toast, enjoyed on a previous visit. Portions are generous to say the least, and we were glad to walk breakfast off later on a wonderful walk along the Wild Pacific Trail (also on Tracy and Ted's recommendation) with stunning views over the Broken Islands and the ocean. The great thing about the Majestic, is that while they run a thriving kayaking business right next door, non-kayakers like my wife feel totally comfortable and at home, and can enjoy watching the comings-and-goings of the kayakers (which launch right from their own dock and beach area) while enjoying the warmth and comfort of a beautiful home-from-home. We were very sorry to say goodbye. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The Majestic have themed rooms, named after different west coast artists, with appropriate art and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ucluelet hotels
0.3 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.4 mi away
A Snug Harbour Inn
A Snug Harbour Inn
#1 of 30 in Ucluelet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#6 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.1 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
0.9 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Francis

Property: The Francis
Address: 1183 Helen Road, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada (Formerly Majestic Ocean Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Francis is a Eco-Luxe Boutique Inn that welcomes you with casual luxury, personalized service and down-home hospitality. Located in the heart of Ucluelet, the four beautifully designed ‘hotel-style’ rooms are perched on a hilltop and adorned with harbour views. The Francis is just a short drive away from Tofino, surrounded by Canada’s treasured Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, and just minutes to Vancouver Island’s highest rated Wild Pacific Trail. Come stay and be right at home.  ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing