We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Florencia Bay Hideaway
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed in the Halfmoon cottage and really enjoyed it. This is a quiet spot well back off the road just outside of Ucluelet. You can't hear the traffic and we really didn't hear or see anyone the whole weekend. The cabin is beautiful, especially the stairway and loft bedroom. Everything is well stocked and furnishings etc are in good shape. There was no problem with the hot tub and it faced into the forest.

There's no view to speak of other than trees, but you're close to Ucluelet and the Willowbrae trail just beside the kitchen with the walk down to the beach is great as is the Wild Pacific trail in Ucluelet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank heliconone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 83 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you are in Tofino/Ucluelet then you should be staying in a cottage or cabin, not one of those huge hotels. This cottage was lovely, and there was everything you needed - EVERYTHING! BBQ, huge fridge, bathtub, shower, secluded hot tub, fireplace, and the kitchen was stocked well with everything, even including spices, salt and pepper, paper towel, and some condiments in the fridge! We just brought some food and we were set. My negatives about this place is that it is such an amazing cottage - they way it is built and the interior is like a work of art, but then you have the view of a small plot of land in front that is barren and empty? It is bang in the middle of the forest, but perhaps some grass or even some kind of garden would have been nice. The cottage is also very dark inside as the only windows are at the front of the cottage. The hot tub had way too much chlorine it in, and we couldn't get any reception on the huge TV (but then you should be watching TV when you have such gorgeous surroundings!). Well, if you want to shack up and close the doors for a few days, it is the most private secluded spot you can find. It is very luxurious inside and even a walk away from local trails to the beach. It had it's good and bad points, but overall this cabin is a work of art and worth a look.

Room Tip: Great Secluded spot for romantic couples. But not a special scenic view from the cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank BirdyM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florbay, Owner at Florencia Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thanks for your wonderful review. We’d like to add a few things, firstly, that the tv reception is now being looked at and will be fixed as soon as an electrician gets out to the property, either tomorrow or early next week. We were not aware there was a problem until reading about it here two days ago. Reception at the other cabins is not affected, all have been checked, and all remain good. This brings to light how much we rely on our guests to let us know right away if something is not functioning properly, preferably an e-mail or telephone call during your stay (you never know when something can be fixed on the spot) or a note or e-mail on departure. This would help immensely, thanks.

The small strip of land in front of the cabin is a piece that unfortunately had to be cleared in order to build the cabin. We chose to keep hands off this area while the forest regenerates, which it is doing quite nicely with hundreds of small shoots poking through, but we do realize what a slow process that is, so we’re taking your advice and adding more vegetation to the landscape. We’ve transplanted some native species (cedars, hemlocks, ferns, spruce, heather, salal) from other areas of the property already, so will do more of that and add some colour in there as well with some flowering shrubs. We started on this yesterday and it’s already making a big difference! Thanks for your advice.

Regarding natural light, the Copper Cabin is limited to one very large window at the front of the cabin. The cabin is basically a very large one-room cabin designed for privacy, quietude and romance. There are plenty of indoor lights to brighten up the cabin if otherwise needed. We think it’s important to add here that each one of our cabins is quite different from the others, in many different ways, with natural light being just one of the differences. Halfmoon Cottage and Willowbrae Chalet both contain floor-to-ceiling and rake windows which add a lot of brightness. If natural light (or anything else) is important to you, please feel free to ask up front so that we can help with your decision making process.

We hope this helps.

Teri-Ann & Brent
Florencia Bay Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I'm going back this March for my birthday getaway and trying out the Florencia Cabin this time round. Hope it's as delightful as the Copper Cabin was! The Copper Cabin had everything you could think of for a romantic stay. I wouldn't waste my time on the over-priced hotels in the area when these well maintained cabins are here. Lovely place all around!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely little retreat. The cabin (Half Moon) was toasty and bright. It was clean, it was quiet, it was what was advertised. The place was well stocked and laid out for two people. I would very much go back again but probably for longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayatche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed in the Halfmoon Bay cabin and thought it was the perfect size for the two of us. The kitchen had tons of storage and had all the things we needed to make a great meal! It doesn't have a dishwasher but we didn't use that many dishes. The living room is cozy with a futon and a comfortable red leather couch. If decor is important to you than you may want to look elsewhere since most of the stuff isn't new- but it's comfortable so that was all that mattered to me! The loft upstairs was perfect- again felt quite cozy. The bed was comfortable and the linens smelled so good and fresh! The bathroom was the best part! It had a separate shower and bath tub with plenty of soft, fresh smelling towels. We stayed in our bathrobes for most of the weekend (when we weren't out walking along the beach etc.). They had biodegradable products to use in the bathroom as well as in the kitchen. The owners were very hands off as we only saw them once. The cabin is very private as all the windows face away from the other cabins. The location was great- a short drive to Ucluelet and a 20min drive to Tofino.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmurf82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was the perfect spot as a base to tour the west coast of Vancouver Island. Part way between Ucluelet and Tofino, either was a short drive away. Quick access to various beaches and special interest locations made this a great location. After a busy day lounging on the beach, wandering the town, whale watching (and eagles, sea otters, sea lions, etc) the hot tub was a great way to end the day. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SHELDON W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in the half moon cabin. It was perfect! So nice and clean, a cozy, warm, welcoming cabin that we didn't want to leave. We really enjoyed the quiet solitude and privacy. I loved all the "woodsy" touches inside especially the banister leading up to the loft. I have to say that it was more than we expected, pictures do not do it justice! This place must be seen to be truly appreciated. My absolute favorite part about it was that it was nestled off on its own, not attached "condo"style that alot of other cabins in the area are. A really nice touch was the provision of condiments and spices. The owners really thought of everything. The cabin is stocked for every need. We've decided that this will be a yearly trip for us. Our only complaint was with ourselves for not staying longer!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jewelz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
17.8 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
3.0 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
321 reviews
3.8 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.8 mi away
Wya Point Resort
Wya Point Resort
#4 of 26 in Ucluelet
180 reviews
2.5 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#10 of 11 in Ucluelet
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florencia Bay Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florencia Bay Hideaway

Address: 2450 Tofino-Ucluelet Hwy. | PO Box 1027, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Ucluelet
Price Range: $103 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Florencia Bay Hideaway Hotel Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing