We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Terrace Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
West Coast Motel on the Harbour(Ucluelet)(Great Value!)
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wild Edge Lodge(Ucluelet)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveler rating
410
101
20
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
101
20
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf grassmorning mistterrace beachsea starsalty dogthe wild pacific trailthe captains quartershot tubeagles nestthe kitchenocean view loftbeachfront cabinshigh tidesea glassamphitrite lighthousemain floorbeds were very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
466 - 471 of 543 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We can't get enough of this amazing resort with its friendly, helpful staff and gorgeous view. We have been staying at this resort for several years, got engaged here last May and just spent our honeymoon here as well. I can't imagine staying anyplace else on the West Coast. This resort is perfect for a romantic getaway and also for unforgettable family vacations.

All of the units at Terrace Beach Resort are spacious and clean, the kitchens are well-equipped and the family dog is more than welcome. We have already booked a return trip and we will keep coming back for years to come. There is no place like this place!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agb123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

I stayed at Terrace Beach Resort in May for 5 days with a wedding party whose ages ranged from 2 to 70+. Everyone had a wonderful time, and our accommodation in Raven #21 was comfy and well equipped (who needs an oven when you can bbq?). That unit was on the boardwalk rather than with a beach view, but we had the best view of the bald eagle nest and saw/heard them every day. Although our accommodation was probably the farthest away, it was still an easy walk down to a secluded beach. The children loved hunting shells and poking around in the rock pools for anenomes and the scenery made a lovely backdrop for the wedding.There is also easy access to the Wild Pacific Trail and Amphitrite lighthouse is within walking distance even for 3 year old legs. Service was friendly, even though there is only someone on site between 10 and 5.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

This hotel is set on in a beautiful forest right on the beach. The views are amazing. However, the office is open very limited hours, maid service (including changing towels) is every other day, and there are no phones or internet service in the rooms. The one staff person we met, Pat, was loud and unfriendly, and seemed to spend most of her time chatting with her friends on the phone. There was a power blackout our first night, which is a relatively common occurance in the area. The management couldn't be contacted and didn't send anyone to see if guests were okay or needed anything.

The hotel is what's left of a large tourist development that went under. Most of the beachfront cabins of the develoment are privately owned, but the residents seem pleasant and do not seem to mind being in the middle of a hotel. Terrace Beach Resort owns three of the beachfront cabins and the buildings above the cabins which orginally were shops and a restaurant but now have been converted into rooms. Our room was spacious and nice, not tacky. The kitchen was fully stocked with pots and pans, etc. The hottub on the deck was a treat, but more suitable for two people than the advertised "five."

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sophielit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ngp, Owner at Terrace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2010

Terrace Beach Resort certainly does have an after-hours phone number available for all our guests to use. This number is posted right outside our Office door and beside the pay telephone on our Boardwalk, and is also in our Guest Information Book placed in every unit.

It is also on the bottom of every Confirmation letter we send to guests when they reserve with us, printed in bold print so as to be very sure that all our guests see this phone number to call us if they need absolutely anything at all after our Office has closed. This phone is monitored and answered from 5 pm right through to 10 am the next morning, every day.

As we said in a previous Management Response, any guest phoning that number after our Office has closed for the evening would have a member of our Staff at their door in less that 10 minutes to address any problems of any nature that our guests may have. This guest posting this review never tried to contact us in any way during that evening - our phone did not ring! For them to now say that Management could not be contacted is simply and absolutely not true.

Regarding the power outage on the night that this guest arrived - first off, power outages are not a common occurance in the Ucluelet area, but do happen periodically. To address this, we have at least two flashlights in every unit. In the unit in which this guest was staying, we also have a large batterery-operated light just inside the front door that lights up the entire area. Also, all of our units have many, many candles around the rooms as well - basically for ambiance but also to light up the rooms in the unlikely event of a power outage.

These guests arrived at 7:30 pm - the power went out after 9 pm. There was plenty of time for these guest to read and see all our after-hours phone numbers that we have posted; to see all the candles around the rooms; and to see the flashlights we provide, not only for power outages but also for our guests to go for walks in the evenings.

Had they had any problems at all, all they had to do was phone the after-hours number when the power went out. The did not do that .

Terrace Beach Resort is not what is left over from a large tourist development that went under. We find this comment, from a guest that stayed with us for only one full day and now feel they are experts on our Resort and its history, particulary noxious. This guest has put forth for all to read on Trip Advisor absolutely incorrect and inaccurate comments regarding our Resort, and we feel it is essential for us to respond.

The Priestley Family and Terrace Beach Resort own and manages 7 of the 10 waterfront cabins, not three - as this misinformed reviewer has deemed to be correct. The three remaining cabins of the 10 on the beach are managed by a totally separate accommodation provider. There are absolutely no residents living in any of these cabins. No residents live in the middle of our Resort.

But, we especially find the comments from this reviewer about one of our Staff, and mentioning her by name, just plain nasty and totally uncalled for. Any member of our Staff is allowed to make personal phone calls when they take a much-needed break on a busy day. If this guest saw one of our employees talking one the phone - for whatever reason, and took offence to that, then Lorne and I both say we must assume that this guest is staying in the wrong place.

We stand by our Staff, and we always will.

Every single one of our employees are the backbone and strength of our Resort, and we take great offense to any one of them ever being singled out by name for any kind of personal remarks about them, and any opinions and nasty comments made about any of them in a public forum from any guest staying with us will not be tolerated.

Norma Priestley - owner, Terrace Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

I was recently here with a large group, and we had a ball. The individual cabins were great for those couples with infants, while the older kids enjoyed the hot tubs. Nice set up, with a bunch of cabins with lofts right in the midst of the forest and on the beach. Each place felt unique, and the whole place seethed with character. It was definitely worth it to spend a bit more on the better locations (the ocean front lofts) as the view from the hot tub overlooking the water was special.
One possible downside was the open concept of our cabin, which meant that between the loft and the downstairs rooms there was no doors for privacy. That being said, it is designed well.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsurf0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a business function and was not impressed with the resort title,there is no services at this hotel, the office closes at 5pm and no information on how to contact the office after hours. The rooms are thrown together cabins with no insulation and poor construction, the floor boards are not nailed down and are very dangerous to walk on, you can also see into the washroom from the bedroom through the shady floor construction, The location is beautiful and if you are wanting to spend a lot of money to stay in a wood shed with a beautiful view then this is your hotel, One thing to note is that they do not want you to make noise at all, if you talk or use the hotubs after 9 or bath in the tub you paid to use after 10 you will be charged an extra night, I will not return here, I suggest chose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ngp, Owner at Terrace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2010

This guest stayed with us as part of a group that reserved five or more units, so therefore he received our "Group Discount" on our room rates. The price he paid for his room was $107.10 per night, and we do not consider that overpriced. You absolutely cannot see into the washroom below from the upper bedroom in this unit - there is a rug on the floor.

In the particular unit in which this guest was staying, there are guests in a unit below. We simply ask our guests in that upper unit to please not turn on the jets in the tub after 10 pm, so as to not disturb the guests below. The jets are a bit noisy, and we only ask our guests not to use the jets after 10 pm simply to show consideration for our other guests staying with us. Certainly a guest in the upper unit can bathe at anytime.

Our Office does indeed close at 5 pm. We have an after-hours phone number that is monitored and answered from that time right through until 10 am the next morning. This number is posted right outside our Office door; in the Guest Information Book in every unit; beside the Pay Phone on our Boardwalk; and is printed in bold on the bottom of every Confirmation Letter we send to our guests when they reserve with us. Any one of our guests phoning that after-hours number at any time would have a member of our Staff at their door within 10 minutes. We are very sorry that this guest seems to have missed seeing all these posted numbers.

This guest was not staying in, or paying for, one our our Waterfront Cabins, our Boardwalk Lofts or our Oceanview Lofts with hot tubs on the private decks, so we are not quite sure why he is concerned about this. We certainly do ask our guests in these units to please not use these hot tubs after 10 pm - once again simply to show consideration for our other guests nearby. We have no rules about "talking" - and we do not know where this guest got that information.

NGP - owner Terrace Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews