We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Paradise at Terrace Beach Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrace Beach Resort
Save
You added Terrace Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Prince Albert, Sask.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Paradise at Terrace Beach Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed at Terrace Beach Resort from April 08-13/09 and totally loved it. We were both in need of a real rest/relaxation from the hectic lives we live at home. Well we found it at this resort. We stayed in the Eagles Nest and found it very comfortable. The hot tub on the deck, the BBQ and soaker tub were our favorites. As for the community it was totally charming. I loved the Wild Pacific Trail we hiked all of it during our stay. We also enjoyed the Long Beach area - great hikes and views. We laughed when we were asked if we part of the "wedding party" from Saskatchewan. Who would imagine so many people from Saskatchewan staying at this remote resort. Loved it and hope to return one day!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 59Sheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    90
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
166
196
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

I am so glad that I picked Terrace Beach Resort to host my small group of family and friends for my wedding out in the Pacific Rim National Park. The people (especially Krista) that worked at Terrace Beach were friendly and accomodating. The price was very reasonable for the six cabins we rented. we especially liked the option to cook our own meals and we LOVED the hot tubs. It was the perfect place to be away but still feel like home. All our guests enjoyed the location, it was very convenient to be close to the Wild Pacific Coast trail, and the small rocky beach. I was very sad to leave, but I know we'll definitely be back next year to celebrate our one year anniversary! Thanks again for the great memories!!!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DA_SK_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

i found this place on the internet and was won over by the other reviews here. i wasn't disappointed. we stayed in #24 high tide, a good-sized suite with a rustic loft for the bed. we immediately felt like we were at home, especially since the lights were on, the fireplace was going, and music was playing when we walked in. we were reluctant to drag ourselves outside to see the sights, but were glad we did...the trail to the lighthouse was an incredible walk; between the green overgrown forest and the huge crashing waves, we felt like we were in an otherwordly place. it was snowing when we went to long beach, and despite paying the $15 to park (i'm still annoyed about that), we were too cold to stay long, but it was still quite a sight.

our original plan had been to stay in tofino, but after seeing tofino, i'm glad we chose ucluelet; tofino is so fake and touristy, whereas ucluelet is comfortable and laid back and sincere.

the resort - or more specifically, our cabin - wasn't perfect; the fridge/stove vibrated and rattled loudly enough that it woke us up a few times, and we were well aware every time the people next door went up or down their stairs, which in turn caused us to tiptoe around so as not to be annoying. the kitchen wasn't useful for much more than making toast or boiling water, which we knew before we went, although it would have been nice to have more space to make proper meals (we tried, since there IS a stove and microwave, but the layout is so awkward that i ended up breaking a dish). but none of these things were that important; despite being in close proximity to other guests, the cabin felt very private, and we could look out the windows or sit in the hot tub and not be aware of anyone at all.

i'm eager to go back; hopefully when the weather is better and we can go outside without getting soaked.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n0be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver,BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

My son and I just had a little mini break with a couple of nights at The Terrace Beach Resort during spring break. It's a beautiful little resort with cabins built among the trees all joined together by a meandering boardwalk but when you enter your cabin you have the most beautiful view of the water. The cabin we had was like a pretty little home with everything you would need, fridge, 2 burner cooker, microwave toaster etc.. The living area had a beautiful leather couch that folded out to a bed .Upstairs was like a loft with a big comfy bed and a humungous jacuzzi tub that looked out over the water. There were candles everywhere for a nice romantic touch.
We went on a hike around the waters edge to the lighthouse and again the trail was partly through the forest on a boardwalk trail and ended up right back at the resort. Saw lots of wildlife and there is an eagle nest in a tree right outside the office check in!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwen46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

We arrived Dec 19/08 and stayed until Dec 22/08. Vancouver Island was being hit hard by a snowfall. Driving through Nanaimo was hairy at points and we considered turning back … But so glad we didn’t. Once we arrived and walked up some stairs (there is a ramp) it was breath taking. The reason for the stairs is that you are high enough to see through the trees and view the ocean. Margie explained coffee, hot chocolate, sugar and powered milk are free and the board games and DVDs can be borrowed. Nice surprise. We walked into #27 storm watcher. Two floors, Jacuzzi tub in each bathroom (two). Shower, kitchen supplies, garbage bags, hot tub, and the electric fire place was on-warming the whole cabin. We fired up the BBQ both nights, listened to music, watch the bald eagles, walked through the snow to the lighthouse, hand fed a Stellar Blue Jay and not to mention had some drinks in the hot tub. The sectional couch was a nice surprise and the beds were very comfortable. The cabin also had alarm clocks and if you do not watch cable you can view the inner harbour or Ucluelet light house. We met Lorne and Norma Priestley and they were so hospitable. In fact, we needed chains for our tires and Lorne drove us to town, waited for us. Ian the “handy man” tried to help us get our car out of the parking lot and was “on watch” for other vehicles. We felt like such family. I called them once we made it back to Victoria to let them know we had arrived safely. But don’t get the idea they are around you all the time.. No, I went looking for them to talk to them!! The pictures make the resort seem a bit like the Ewok Village but that’s not the case. You cannot see into other people’s places. If someone was walking in the forest and wanted to look onto your deck while your in the hot tub. Whatever. You are in the forest. The beach access was right there, the trails were great. I just cannot get over how friendly they are! My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed it. On Sunday he did get to watch his football and I got to Jacuzzi (it can fit two people-wink).

  • Liked — The Cabins
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VICTORIA-ISLAND-GAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Vancouver Island, BC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

This was the third time my husband and I had been to Ucluelet for an extended weekend in the late fall/early winter in the past four years, but the first time we stayed at the Terrace Beach Resort.
It took a little doing to find the registration office (not the Terrace Beach Cabins, we learned) which is way up a flight of wooden stairs. In fact, our place was way up a flight of wooden stairs and we were a little taken aback because we had to make three trips with luggage, coolers, dog stuff, etc. But that was the last of any "concerns" we had. We LOVED the place!
It's rustic and perfect for its location. We had a loft bedroom, a heat-throwing electric fireplace, good gas BBQ, private hot tub on the deck, and enough kitchen stuff to cover all our needs. November was also "dogs stay free" month so that was a nice bonus! And they are set up for dogs - there are dog towels and a wash area outside the apartment doors and we used it several times after beach and trail walks. Even though we didn't use them, the office offered free DVDs and free books to use while staying there.
The sheets were heavenly, the furniture comfy and the price very good. Location is great - out the back and you're on the excellent Wild Pacific Trail, and easy walking distance to Amphritite Lighthouse. We would definitely stay there again. And likely will!

  • Liked — Location, decor, amenities, dogs accommodated well, price
  • Disliked — Stairs to the units, no oven in the kitchen other than microwave and stove top, no roof over hot tub area in case of rain or snow
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank WileyFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

Just got back from staying at Terrace Beach resort with five other friends and had an amazing time. The cabin we stayed in (#25 Hummingbird) was newly furnished and spacious. It easily accomodated six of us and was cozy and comfortable at the same time. Both nights we BBQ'd fresh seafood and soaked in the hot tub while listening to the surf splash on the beach.
We were able to spend one full day surfing together - which was awesome! It was so nice being able to come back to our cabin and soak in the hot tub after a long day in the ocean.
Another site we enjoyed was walking the 30 mins to ucuelet lighthouse from the resort's beach. The open ocean pounded the shore and we took pictures of each other in front of the lighthouse and then beach combed the beaches. It was fantastic!
Their web site was super helpful in showing what each cabin/room looks like and the service I received when I called the resort was professional and nice. I would HIGHLY recommend people to visit- it's great for all ages and is such a tranquil place to stay.

  • Liked — cabin and location
  • Disliked — love everything!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahgVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
0.3 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#6 of 10 in Ucluelet
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
21.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
19.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
1.5 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
19.5 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Beach Resort

Property: Terrace Beach Resort
Address: 1002 Peninsula Road | Box 96, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Beach Resort is located in Ucluelet, nestled between the two main sections of Pacific Rim National Park - the Broken Group Islands to the south and the miles of Long Beach to the North. With Beachfront Cabins, Ocean View Lofts, and a selection of suites we can accommodate your needs. Many of our 20 suites have a private hot tub on a private deck. Others have two person soaker jetted tubs. Most have propane barbecue, fully equipped kitchenettes. All have queen beds with Jersey Knit sheets, duvets, electric fireplace, TV, DVD player and free WiFi.Come Home to Terrace Beach Resort Ucluelet! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrace Beach Hotel Ucluelet
Terrace Beach Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing