We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrace Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just spent five nights at Terrace Beach Resort in Ucluelet for our anniversary and had a wonderful time. Morning Mist cottage, beach front, hot tub and BBQ on the deck mad right on the Wild Pacific Trail. What more do you need. This is our second time staying at this resort and the Priestly Family and staff treated us well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    94
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
179
222
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Once again our last night has arrived and you start to ask youself, how do you say goodbye to the most amazing vacation spot we have ever stayed at? You simply say we will see you later!

For the third (and most definitely not the last) time, TBR has lived up to and exceeded our expectations as "The" place to stay while on the island. Every visit has been the same, starting with a warm and enthusiastic welcome by Margie, friendly and courteous service by the cleaning and maintenance staff, and as always the beach which we will never get old visiting. This truly is a resort for all walks of life including the four legged variety. From a small start up family during our first trip, to a larger extended family group this time around, we have loved every second of our stay.

While you can spend your time relaxing on the deck or in the hot tub, there are so many things to do that it really does take multiple visits to even scratch the surface. Starting with walking the Pacific Rim Trail located right next to TBR, to taking a kayaking or whale watching tour, or a fishing adventure, or walking along Terrace Beach or driving down the road for Long Beach or Chesterman's or Half Moon Bay or Florencia Bay or (many more), to exploring the touch tanks at the Ucluelet Aquarium, or experiencing amazing fish & chips from Jiggers in town or fish tacos at Wildside Grill near Tofino, trying your hand at surfing, and on and on and on.

We are already planning our next trip back in a couple of years and even renewing our vows on Terrace Beach in June 2017. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts to the staff as well as the Priestley Family who make Terrace Beach Resort truly the place to stay.

Trevor, Michelle, Cadence, Reece, Izzy & from our first trip Roxy.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank justducky77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I should start by stating I am a busy, well-travelled Travel Agent, who over the many years has grown tired of cookie-cutter resorts and the same-old, same-old. I was looking for unique accommodations with good value, but still somewhat of a luxury feel.

We stayed in the Captain's Quarters (cabin 10) over the May long weekend. I had originally booked it in January as an anniversary present for my husband, and the intention was to take us 2, 3 dogs, and my mother-in-law. I was VERY impressed with the friendly service I received on the phone, their great attitude about the dogs and minimal pet surcharge (quite low compared to others at only $20 per dog per stay), and their reasonable rates for this type of unit in the area. I checked out several properties and most were more expensive with fewer amenities.

In the end we had 4 adults and no dogs (the dogs stayed home with a sitter). The cabin had 2 queen size beds plus 2 pullout couches in the living room over 3 levels. The upstairs loft bedroom had an ensuite bathroom with tub. The main level (where you walk in) had a fully kitted out kitchenette with large fridge/freezer, microwave, coffee maker, and cook top. The inviting living room had 2 leather pullout couches, TV, fireplace, and a balcony. The 2nd bathroom with tub/shower combo was on this level as well. The lower level had the 2nd bedroom and opened out to the deck and our 5-person HOT TUB!

With all these beds we had more than enough space for the 4 adults. The cabin had the feel of a large and comfortable treehouse. The hot tub was where we spent a lot of our time enjoying the ocean views, sunsets, stargazing, and listening to the eagles. The tub was well-maintained and warmed up for our arrival.

Very close to the cabin was an entrance to the Wild Pacific Trail, a lovely well-maintained path following through forest and along side the ocean, leading you to a lighthouse and wonderful sunset views. It is about 1/2 hour to 45 minute walk to the lighthouse, depending on your pace and well worth the walk.

We found Terrace Beach to be a great centre for exploring the Ucluelet/Tofino area, with Ucluelet being only about 1/2 hour drive on a well-maintained highway from Tofino.

If you are looking for a great cabin (they also have hotel-style units) with some luxury amenities but still a rustic cabin feel, next to the ocean and peaceful, with plenty of room, whether you bring your dogs or not this is a FANTASTIC place to stay and I would highly recommend it. Oh - and if you "like" them on Facebook you will be treated to the wonderful photos they post on their page :) Thank you again for a terrific stay!

Room Tip: Captain's Quarters is great for 3, 4 or more people, and the large oceanview hot tub is a fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelwomanYVRisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

For those of us with 4 legged children, being pet friendly is very important when on vacation. This is the place for you! Never mind that the units are cozy, inviting, and beautiful, that the view is stunning, and the beach is steps away... I have never been to a resort that is so pet WELCOMING!!! Treats when you arrive, dog towels and bowls in the rooms, and even a wash station all make you feel like your home.
The most amazing thing happened on this trip in particular... Our 8 year old lab has a bit of separation anxiety in strange places when alone and tends to howl on occasion. When we stopped by the office to give them my cell number in case she made too much noise, they offered to have her come and hang out with them in the office if she got upset. We came home an hour later and there she was, hanging in the office like she belonged there! Never have I had a resort offer to dog sit! Most of the time if you mentioned your dog might make noise, you would be told not to leave her unattended! Can't say enough great things about the place and the gang that work there! We will be back!!! Thank you from the bottom of my dog loving heart!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were impressed from the moment we arrived at Terrace Beach Resort, by the location, the unique buildings, the service and especially the realization that this is THE most dog-friendly resort we have ever stayed at (true to their promise)! The cabins we stayed in (Morning Mist then Sea Glass) were truly RIGHT on the beach, and wonderfully stocked for our plans to relax, hike, cook and indulge in wine. We went to sleep and woke up to the sound of the waves. The access to the trails was perfect, and our dogs (2 giant timberwolf-husky crosses) had the time of their lives! Fantastic amenities for the pups, and the owners made them feel completely at home. We drove away from our cabin this morning completely sad, as we didn't want to leave (in fact we ended up adding a day onto our stay while we were there). We will most surely be back - thank you to everyone at the resort for such a memorable trip!

Room Tip: The pictures don't do the resort justice. Stay in the ocean-front cabins for the best experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've stayed at Terrace Beach Resort several times throughout the years and each time has been just as great as the last. The accommodations you’ll find at Terrace Beach are absolutely wonderful. The cottages are very well maintained and furnished. Each one possesses a very warm and cozy feeling that is especially appreciated on cold rainy days. The thing that I’ve loved most about my stays at Terrace Beach is in fact, the beach! It is a beautiful little cove with rugged rocks around both sides. During low tide we always go and explore the rocks to find the many wonders on the sea. The nearby trails are a lovely asset as well. I’m very excited to return to Terrace Beach this summer and experience it all over again!

Room Tip: The beach front cabins have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadianCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldpriestley, Owner at Terrace Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
What can we say? We agree! But, what a fantastic thing for you to tell others about our Resort and your stay with us.
We appreciate your comments. Thank you so much. Lorne&Norma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We just spent 3 days in a cozy ocean front cabin....#8 (Surf Grass). Friendly staff, early check in (how many places offer that). Comfy bed with the sound of the ocean lulling us to sleep. Close to hiking trails with spectacular coast line/ocean views. Bring or buy the food you want to cook...all the pots, glassware, utensils, etc you will need are stocked in the kitchen.Lots of local restaurants close by if you don't want to cook. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND TBR to anyone wanting to enjoy the West Coast. Already making plans to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenB_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
0.2 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#8 of 11 in Ucluelet
239 reviews
21.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
21.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#2 of 11 in Ucluelet
297 reviews
1.0 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
1.5 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Beach Resort

Property: Terrace Beach Resort
Address: 1002 Peninsula Road | Box 96, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Beach Resort is located in Ucluelet, nestled between the two main sections of Pacific Rim National Park - the Broken Group Islands to the south and the miles of Long Beach to the North. With Beachfront Cabins, Ocean View Lofts, and a selection of suites we can accommodate your needs. Many of our 20 suites have a private hot tub on a private deck. Others have two person soaker jetted tubs. Most have propane barbecue, fully equipped kitchenettes. All have queen beds with Jersey Knit sheets, duvets, electric fireplace, TV, DVD player and free WiFi.Come Home to Terrace Beach Resort Ucluelet! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrace Beach Hotel Ucluelet
Terrace Beach Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing