We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Location right on the trail”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrace Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our family really enjoyed the quiet location of Terrace Beach Resort. Very clean and well decorated cabins. Enjoyed the the hot tub in the Captian quarters. Thanks for a great vacation and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Grab some groceries before you hit he coast. Price crazy high in the stores.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cm0ser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Terrace Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 516 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights in the Orca room earlier this June. We arrived after the close of the office (5pm) and our key and welcome information were posted on a bulletin board. Our first impressions were positive: the room was inviting, a fireplace (decorative only) was "burning" and everything was clean and nice. The hotel was located right on the Wild Pacific Trail, with easy access to short hikes with nice views. We interacted with one of the innkeepers the next day, and she was very informative and helpful, providing us with lots of local information. There was also a binder in the room with useful info. Other PROS were the fact that we had a separate sitting and bedroom and the sitting room also had a nice little kitchenette with utensils, mini-fridge, etc.

While we enjoyed our stay as a whole, there were some CONS we thought were worthwhile mentioning to other TA readers. First, the walls of the Orca room were paper thin (we cannot obviously comment on the other resort rooms) and we heard not only the conversations and comings and goings of the people staying upstairs, but also their dog running throughout their suite at all hours. Second, the Orca suite, while having two rooms, was quite small. The bedroom barely held a dresser, bed, and lamp, and the shower stall (located sort of in the hallway between the bedroom and bathroom) was extremely small (we are regular sized people). Finally, while not a huge deal, the front office was only open from 10am-5pm, which seemed pretty limited to us.

To sum it up, we would definitely stay here again if we ever choose to visit Ucluelet/Tofino another time, but would choose to stay in a upstairs suite or a free-standing "cottage". I suppose it's possible that our upstairs neighbors were just on the noisy side, but I think that based on noise/size, we might still choose another room.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank mollynmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We would return in a heartbeat. The location, the beauty, the access to trails and everything we wanted inside. Everything was so well equipped, and we couldn't have been happier. Loved the private hot tub on the deck, the great deep bath inside. The two levels provided a great sense of spaciousness and the view was fantastic. We stayed at the Wickaninnish Inn in Tofino a little later in our trip on the Island, and even though Wickaninnish is pricier and more upscale, we MUCH preferred this. If you're the type of traveler who prefers a laid-back vibe with no pretense but just lots of comfort and beauty, this is it!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank OutandOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at Terrace Beach Resort in April 2012. We were in Ucluelet for a wedding, and we choose to stay here rather than the wedding venue. We are so glad we did! We fell in love with this place! It's located on a beautiful beach, right beside the Wild Pacific Trail, and the cabins are wonderful - rustic, gorgeous and comfy. The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating, and they truly welcome dogs! I've stayed other places where it felt that my dogs were merely tolerated, but here they felt welcome! They learned very quickly that the office always has cookies and they took full advantage!

One thing that really impressed me about the staff was that, when I told them that we prefer not to use chemicals to clean our home, they agreed to use chemical free methods in our cabin. I felt that this was very kind of them :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likethegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed here in Febuary for 3 days /nights. We had #8 cabin Surfgrass. Lots of trails to walk with our dog, the beach was amazing. Had a hot tub on our deck and a 2 person soaker tub upstairs in the loft. We are returning for a five night stay this September. We took our own food as there was a BBQ and full kitchen with dishes. Next time we go we will buy our food at the grocery store just down the road. Great staff made you feel very welcome. If you have a dog this is the place to stay, mine had the time of his life and will come with us again.

Room Tip: Cabins are AWESOME, hot tub was so nice.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyriel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldpriestley, Owner at Terrace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Winter storms in February. Next the late summer warmth and cool gentle breezes. We look forward to seeing you in September -- and later for a spring visit and a summer visit. Thank you for visiting Terrace Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We are happily ensconced in the Captain's Quarters for a luxurious 5 nights. Our dog Mochi and friend Frances from Sydney Australia are with us celebrating our 29th wedding anniversary. We are sooo happy we used Trip Advisor and chose Ucluelet and Terrace Beach over Tofino. Hot tub, eagle, comfy digs, location... we feel very satisfied with our good fortune. My only comment is that you should get rid of the word 'Resort' from your title. It is such an anti-resort in the best meaning of the word and that is why we love it.

Best, 2 happy Lopezians from the San Juan Islands, WA.

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong on a cabin. The Captain's quarters probably has a slighty less...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My family has visited Terrace Beach Resort 3 times in the past, the most recent visit in May 2012. The resort is in a truely stunning location and the sound of the ocean waves is something I miss for weeks after I leave. Each time, we have found the cabins to be clean and very well appointed. This past visit, one of the chairs was broken and within 20 minutes of notifying the staff, we had a new one brought to the cabin and a lovely chat with the staff member.

As other reviewers have noted, this is an excellent place to stay if you have a dog! It is so difficult to find good hotels when you have a larger dog, but Terrace Beach Resort goes the extra mile to make guests with pets feel welcome. The treats waiting for our dog when we got to the cabin was a nice touch! Our dog (and the rest of us) look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestKirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldpriestley, Owner at Terrace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Many thanks for the kind words. We are already looking forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
0.2 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
246 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
311 reviews
21.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
1.5 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Beach Resort

Address: 1002 Peninsula Road | Box 96, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range: $81 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Beach Resort is located in Ucluelet, nestled between the two main sections of Pacific Rim National Park - the Broken Group Islands to the south and the miles of Long Beach to the North. With Beachfront Cabins, Ocean View Lofts, and a selection of suites we can accommodate your needs. Many of our 20 suites have a private hot tub on a private deck. Others have two person soaker jetted tubs. Most have propane barbecue, fully equipped kitchenettes. All have queen beds with Jersey Knit sheets, duvets, electric fireplace, TV, DVD player and free WiFi.Come Home to Terrace Beach Resort Ucluelet! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrace Beach Hotel Ucluelet
Terrace Beach Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing