We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but aging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Reef Point Cottages
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Have stay here before. It is great for the price. They are very much "self serve". If you require anything they will provide. A little dissapointed that that there were so many items that were missing on initial check-in. No bath mat, dish cloth, dish towels etc. Maintenance is required beyond arrival prep. Jacuzzi didn't work, plumbing is loose, light fixtures etc. Couldn't use electrical outlet in bathroom as it is blocked by shelving. The place is surrounded by incredible hiking and beaches and is an inexpensive place to stay. If you are looking for a comfortable bed and well equipped but small kitchen this is still a good choice. If you are looking to spend a lot time lounging or want hotel type service this may not be for you

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NV55mw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 247 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

This seems to be a common complaint that there is no maintenance. The care taker, a young guy worked over time to make this as right as he could be his hands were tied by absentee owners that have note invested in maintenance. The good, the beds are firm and an abundance of towels. A good dishwasher. The bad, the stove is old and slow and when it gets hot it stays hot, you hane to cook by moving the pots around, Pots, only two. One floor lamp, wall lamps and not a dimmer switch in sight so all on or all off. Empty cabin nect door all the light in. Thermostates don't work, grossly inaccurate on don't work at all. Broken face plates on outlets and live wires on second floor balcony, a real hazard for children, cheap Home Depot rug. Miniscule old generation TV way up too high (sore neck) and microscopic flat screen in Master bedroom. Several light bulbs burned out, (immediate changed when pointed out) Fur balls behind furniture. No matress cover, just matress and thin sheet. Barbeque was beyond belief. gas tube 100% rusted out (againg our help guy switched it immediately which meant someone else got our fire hassard barbeque. Starter did not work, even when I changed the battery and it was very dirty. No laundry which did not bother me but would be a hassel with children or a long stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you have internet and a working barbeque before you accept the cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BDGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My fiancée and I have stayed here three years running for our Christmas escape. Our stay has never failed to disappoint me. Reef point might have been a pretty good stay, or at least a good value, once upon a time, but those days are long past.

I really think that maintenance is the biggest issue here. If they went through with a screwdriver once in a while they could take care of lots of little issues before things start falling off the wall... The pathetic condition of the kitchen equipment is laughable. This most recent stay the interior of the BBQ was moldy when I went to fire it up the first night. I could go on and on, but it's really pointless. At the end of it all, a little TLC would make this into an acceptable accommodation.

A little better follow up from the staff when issues are raised would be nice too... but I guess the attitude shows up pretty clearly in the end product. I'm sure that there are lots of better options in this wonderful area for the money.

One last word, though... The lone sock in the kitchen by the fridge? Really? Nobody saw it there after the last person left? Epic Fail.

Room Tip: If it's wintertime, bring your slippers... Nobody wasted money insulating anything here, floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed two nights ... purchased from an online auction for about $62 nt. Was worth it in that regards. Cabin A studio.

Check in was easy, although wasn't given any wifi info, although I believe they have it. Upgrades (even paying upgrades) were not available, even though there was many cabins available. Due to the online auction we bought from. We didn't have a hot tub, but there was a BBQ on our deck for use.

Small, functional kitchen with dishwasher. Bed was comfy, although the boxspring wasn't covered and there wasn't a head board.

Overall clean, although the jets in the bathtub are due for a scrub. Ucluelet is about 40 mins from Tofino. There are a couple pubs in town, we went to one on the ocean, which wasn't really busy on the Friday night, but had a nice view. A Co-op grocery store is close by for stocking up.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Clean and well kept, these cottages are comfortable. Walking distance to Pacific Trail, place is isolated. No real view to the ocean or inlet. Crowded by too many trees in the back. No wifi to speak of. Feels like a suburban neighborhood with the cottages all lined up. Place has a good stock of kitchen stuff so no need to bring any pots and pans. They can loan you a crab pot if you decide to buy the local crab..which is NOT CHEAP. Restaurants are scarce so plan to eat at the cabin. It's an experience if it does not rain....but that's the west coast.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hanky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We visited Ucluelet for an anniversary getaway. We stayed in a one bedroom cottage at Reef Point. We liked the location, and the cottages are within walking distance to beaches and trails, which was a plus. We had no view at all from our cottage, but I understand that some of them have forest or inlet views. If a view is important to you, be sure to specify that when booking. The cottage was quite clean. The bed was comfortable, and most of the furniture was simple but nice. The narrow spiral staircase to the loft bedroom was a quaint touch, although impractical - it seemed a bit rickety, and since it was difficult to carry anything up and down the stairs, we left our bags in the living room during our stay. It was also inconvenient to navigate the staircase in the middle of the night to get downstairs to the cottage's only bathroom. All the basics we needed in the kitchen were supplied, and we had no complaints in that area. We appreciated having a dishwasher. It was great having a BBQ on the deck, with easy access to extra propane tanks if we needed them. The staff member at the front desk when we checked in was pleasant (although she didn't offer us any information about the area), and we were able to check in 2 hours early, which we appreciated after a long drive. We did have a few small issues with the cottage. First, the hot tub was on the front deck with absolutely no privacy. Because the cottages are very close together, it's awkward sitting in the hot tub on your front porch a few feet from neighbours sitting in their hot tubs, with people walking up and down the road between the cottages. It was difficult to relax, knowing that your conversation could easily be overheard. The gas fireplace did not work, which was disappointing after a chilly walk on the beach in the rain. Most of the jets in the bath tub did not work. The couch was extremely uncomfortable and the TV was very small. When pulled out the pull-out sofa bed, it had crumbs on it and did not look very clean - nor was it comfortable enough to sleep on. If you are travelling with children or more than two adults, or if you plan on spending much time indoors, the one bedroom cottage may not be the ideal accommodations for you. Our cottage was just fine and we enjoyed our stay, but it certainly wasn't outstanding. This was our first visit to Ucluelet and we don't know how Reef Point Cottages compare to other places in town. Ucluelet is absolutely beautiful. We fell in love with the area and will be returning for another visit later this fall...but we have made reservations to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you want a view, you need to be sure to specify that when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Neat enough little cabins, with kitchens and wifi, both of which are handy, and reception open all day with friendly staff. Although the closer you look at the cabins, the more you realise you're basically staying in a glorified flat-pack shed from B&Q. Reason for 2 star rating is that I think these are seriously overpriced. $170/night is steep even for this area, and there is no view to speak of. Bird's Bay Retreat down the road has a great little cabin for $100/night right on the inlet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnalker5a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
21.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.8 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
1.3 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#10 of 11 in Ucluelet
113 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#5 of 11 in Ucluelet
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Point Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Point Cottages

Address: 1012 Peninsula Road, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range: $69 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Point Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Point Cottages, where the west coast rain forest meets the mighty Pacific Ocean, is located on the West Coast of Vancouver Island in Ucluelet, British Columbia, Canada. Reef Point Cottages offer an exciting, intimate and self-indulgent experience for those who want to explore what British Columbia’s most spectacular and natural landscape has to offer.With over a dozen different cottage styles and sizes, you are sure to find something that suits the size of your party and your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Reef Point Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Point Cottages Hotel Ucluelet
Reef Point Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing