We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Fishing with Big Bear Salmon Charters”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Bear Salmon Charters - CLOSED

Big Bear Salmon Charters
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome Fishing with Big Bear Salmon Charters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We went fishing with Big Bear Salmon Charters on Friday - August 3, 2012. It was just the two of us and we were paired up with a father and son from Qualicum Bay. We decided before we left the dock that we would share our catch evenly among us 4 fishermen. Our Captain and Guide Brett Thomas was fantastic! He knew where all the fish were and we had success from the moment our first lines went into the water! Between the four of us we caught 10 salmon, 4 rockfish and 1 super sized halibut!! We felt really safe out on the water with Brett as he is extremely knowledgable about boats and the water out on the open ocean. He was hands on and we all learned something new about fishing.
Big Bear Charters also has awesome boats for the trip and easily accommodates four people comfortably for the trip. Bonus was a bathroom you could stand up in that was clean and private.
(This is very important if you are a woman like me)
The boat was clean and well maintained and perfect for fishing!
After we returned to the dock in Ucluelet we divided the fish between us and Richard & his son Kent. Over 40 pounds of fish fillets each! Yummy!! Freezer load!
We would highly recommend Big Bear Fishing Charters for fishing out of Uclulet, BC. You will catch fish with guys!!

Roxann & Trevor Hurtubise, Parksville, BC

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    3
    1
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We whent on a charter this week.
The staff, equipment boat are top notch.
The fishing is just average for the island.
We were out for 8 hours came back with 5 salmon biggest being 15#. 4 people on board. Also if your a group of two joining another group of two make sure you establish a fair way on who gets what before you depart.(best way is to split the entire catch evenly)
We did take in some beautiful scenery, seen some humpbacks and eagles.
My advise would be if your going to Tofino or Uculet for a fun vacation then go fishing with them!
But if your going strictly for a fishing trip and want to slay big halibut and salmon id suggest checking out Port Renfrew or Sooke.

Helpful?
3 Thank ws3046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally Awesome Fishing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We went fishing with Big Bear for a company outing and it was phenomenal! Everything about the charter was superb. The boats were immaculate and stayed that way all day with the constant attention of the guides. The Guides were the best around. They knew all the secret holes and how to lose the yahoos. All day we fished practically alone and came back with the ultimate bounty. Everyone on the boat caught maxed out and had an amazing time. The location, Boats and Equipment, Staff from front desk to fish cleaning were top notch.

I would recommend Big Bear to anyone. We had a completely awesome time and hope to come back and do it all over again.

Bravo
David from Sebastopol, CA

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Creek, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ultimate outfit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We just finished a trip with Big Bear Salmon Charters this past weekend. Not only was the fishing decent but the service was second to none. Brett Thomas was by far the most knowledgable guide we have ever fished with. Our safety orientation, our gourmet lunches and the attention to detail will have us back next year to fish with these guys again.. They know their stuff..

The Browns

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank TheBrowns_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bear Salmon Charters also viewed

 
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing