We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the atmosphere”
Review of Barkley Cafe

Barkley Cafe
Ranked #2 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: This cozy little West Coast café welcomes you with friendly staff, organic Coffee & Tea Specialty drinks, and delicious breakfasts and lunch items. We serve daily specials, fresh baked goods, & healthy snacks too! Everything is made to order, and delicious! Gluten-Free options available. The Barkley Beans are hand picked, shade grown, fairly traded, and chosen for their high quality and flavor. Roasted daily in Victoria, on Vancouver Island, by Caffe Fantastico. Located in the center of Ucluelet, on Peninula Road, at Davison Plaza.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We always make it our destination coffee stop for the best cup of Java and treats. Great service and atmosphere. You guys rock.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sonja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 258 of 321 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

I'm usually grabbing something to go when I pop into The Barkley, an amazing homemade soup, a sandwich on fabulous bread, or a travel mug full of delicious coffee. It's a small place, may be hard to find a seat in summer, but hey that's what's great about take-out and having beaches nearby. Lots of local support, I'm especially thankful to them for providing a place to get an awesome coffee on a Sunday in the winter. Thanks :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Miekerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had a great lunch at Barkley Cafe today but next time I think I will share one. I had the grilled veggie sandwich and my friend had the BLT and both of us thought that half of either would have been plenty. I guess it didn't help that we also had to have one of their delicious date squares:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Went into cafe about 2:30 upon our arrival in Ucluelet. We were ready for a latte after the drive from Chemainus. Little did we know they'd be closing up shop shortly thereafter. They didn't ask us to leave but it's a little uncomfortable when all the blinds are pulled. Our lattes were pretty ho-hum. Mine wasn't hot enough or strong enough although I asked for both. Husband also had a rhubarb-strawberry square. The crust was super tough but it sure tasted decadent. A couple of days later, husband got a carrot muffin to go and found it very dry and uninspired (especially for $4). He said it tasted too much like cake. The cafe itself is small but has a nice vibe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luvveggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanya007, Owner at Barkley Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our hours have just changed due to the season. As posted our front door & Facebook Page, our NEW FALL & WINTER HOURS ARE; Monday to Friday 7am to 3pm, Saturday, Sunday & Holidays 8pm to 4pm. Our muffins are always best in the morning when they are right out of the oven & if your drink is not perfect, next time please let our staff know. We always aim to please!!!! FYI - As a special occasion, we will be closed from just before Christmas to February 1 2014 (the entire month of January 2014). Bye for now...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stopped for lunch here, and both had the soup and sandwich.
Simple decor (unptretentious), with no table service.
Food was well made, wholesome, and tasty. The bread was spectacular.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank The_Walrus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barkley Cafe also viewed

Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 

Been to Barkley Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing