We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Americano”
Review of Barkley Cafe

Barkley Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: This cozy little West Coast café welcomes you with friendly staff, organic Coffee & Tea Specialty drinks, and delicious breakfasts and lunch items. We serve daily specials, fresh baked goods, & healthy snacks too! Everything is made to order, and delicious! Gluten-Free options available. The Barkley Beans are hand picked, shade grown, fairly traded, and chosen for their high quality and flavor. Roasted daily in Victoria, on Vancouver Island, by Caffe Fantastico. Located in the center of Ucluelet, on Peninula Road, at Davison Plaza.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Americano”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was one of the few places open on a Sunday morning in Ucluelet, it seemed, which was fine for us because it was just what we were looking for. I had an Americano, which was very good quality. However, I noticed that the food seemed very expensive. Like, $13 for their grilled cheese and soup special? I don't think you'd go there for the food anyway. It was a fine place to sit and chat over coffee for a bit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanya007, Owner at Barkley Cafe, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, although it seems very unfair considering you never even tried the food or saw the portions. All of our soups are house-made and fresh, as are all of our products. The sandwiches are too big for most people, and end up sharing. The grilled cheese has Provolone, Swiss & Cheddar cheese - not your average grilled cheese sandwich! Definitely great prices for the quality and quantity served...next time you should try it, then write a review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    92
    31
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ucluelet, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great soup!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Went for lunch today for the first time. Great special of the day - black bean soup with a corn muffin. Large bowl of soup with a drizzle of sour cream on the top and a tortilla wedge for decoration/nibbling - excellent. Corn muffin was a good size and very fresh. Also had Americano coffee - good. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredjune2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great new find in Ucluelet”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had lunch at the Barkley Cafe. The food was delicious as well as healthy and not too expensive. The coffee was also superior. We will certainly return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SMMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hot soup and welcoming smiles”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The soup and sandwich combo was served up with friendly smiles and made for a great welcome to Ucluelet! The mushroom soup of the day was awesome!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank J0hn_and_Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ucluelet, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice family eatery”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Recently ate at this restaurant and found the quality of this restaurant to be exceptional. We fed six people for under 100 dollars. They choice of things on the menu is massive and everything we had all was delicious

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tripping192016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barkley Cafe also viewed

Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 

Been to Barkley Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing