We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New, clean and friendly in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coast & Toast Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 30 Ucluelet B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New, clean and friendly in excellent location”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Tofino is over-popular (worth a visit but don't stay there) while Ucluelet is pretty much unspoilt. This excellent, new and very quiet B&B is near the town centre and the rain forest, where you can walk through lichen-draped trees. It's also a short walk from the Black Rock Hotel, where the food is superb (it's not cheap but try the albacore melt-in-the-mouth tuna) and the restaurant has wonderful views over the sea and islets. The B&B is very comfortable, with a good breakfast delivered to your room, and you are made to feel very welcome. Also handy for whale-watching trips and you get a 10% discount at Jamie's Whaling Station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AS422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I had to go to Vancouver for a conference, and afterwards, based on countless recommendations my boyfriend and I decided to take a trip out to the Tofino/Ucluelet area. We thought we would spend most of our time in Tofino, and stay in Ucluelet. Man, was I wrong. We loved Ucluelet. It has its own amazing trails (Wild Pacific Trail), which we even liked more than the Pacific Rim National Park. The sea side views are just seconds away!! We had an amazing 3 days at Coast and Toast (great food, beautiful clean rooms, such nice hosts). They were so helpful with suggestions of places to go, restaurants to eat at, things to do. We even brought our own food to make some picnic lunches and dinners, and they gave us all the plates/silverware/cutting boards we needed. We even BBQed one night. It was the most amazing get-away. I cannot stress how much we loved it. Worth every single penny!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicrobitaille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our first time in a B&B and we were very impressed! This is a new B&B and the rooms are very comfortable and better than many hotel rooms. We also felt very relaxed at Coast and Toast because of the environment and feel of the rooms (view of the forest, cedar furniture, etc). The extras were also great: mini fridge, tv and dvd, separate bathroom. The owner brought breakfast to our room every day, it was very tasty! We loved the location of Coast and Toast which was two minutes from the Pacific Rim trail and ocean beaches, and surrounded by forest. Even though the B&B is not located in the main area of Ucluelet stores and restaurants,we preferred being closer to the trails. It is a 15 min walk to Ucluelet's main street, or a couple of minutes drive. We would recommend this B&B, without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mireille d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

When searching for and B&B to stay around Tofino or Uclelet there was a lot of choice, often rather expensive even for spring. But looking at several websites we found the Coast&Toast for a reasonable price given the good quality of the place (according to the photographs found on the Internet). We were a bit hesitant though since the place didn't have many critics in any of the usual websites (TripAdvisor, VirtualTourist, Booking, etc). We decided to give it a try and what an excellent decision it was! The place is astonishing! It is brand new in a newly created neighbourhood (and not completely finished, the roads, lamps and sidewalks are all there surrounded by trees everywhere, but most of the houses are yet to be constructed, this gives the whole area a rather unusual and interesting look) that is literally in the middle of the forest (you can only see the trees from the rooms!). The B&B is in a quiet and beautiful place at the end of a road but 5 min walking trough a forest trial behind de house brings you to a brand new very stylish hotel (Black Rock) where you can have diner and/or drinks in front of the ocean before coming back by foot to the room. We were in the Cedar room (room for 2 with Queen Bed I believe). The decoration was very beautiful. Everything was brand new and spotless (better than in some very expensive hotels we have been). There is an independent bathroom with a bathtub, a flat TV with a DVD placer (and DVDs area available too), a fridge and supplies to make coffee in the room, as well as a table with 2 very comfortable chairs where we had breakfast (delicious home-made breakfast brought to our door every morning!). There is also a covered deck outside facing the forest that is shared with the other rooms. The whole thing was heart-warming: we felt at home from the very first moment. The hosts are really really nice and available for questions and remarks, the food is good, the room is beautiful and clean, the bed is comfortable, the deck is cute, and the location is calm…. What is not to like? Go there if you can and stay as long as possible, for you will regret it when you leave!
 
Uclelet is really not far but it is better to go by car (although I am pretty sure that walking over there wouldn't take long). There is a trail that you can catch just behind the property. Tofino is just 35 minutes away so we stayed 2 days in Coast&Toast (although once there I would have rather stayed a month…) and we explored the whole Uclelet - Tofino area easily from there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFP_suisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the Coast & Toast. Everything was perfect. The rooms are modern with wonderful wood furniture. The Wild Pacific Trail is just footsteps away. The hosts are very welcoming and provided a lot of information. We definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I had never stayed in a Bed & Breakfast until our weekend trip to Ucluelet and we fortunately picked Coast & Toast. It was perfect! The back patio of the B&B was surrounded by amazing nature and the room was furnished with beautifully made wood furniture. The hosts were excited to let us know of the best trails to walk and the quickest way to all of the surrounding beaches. We didn't have to waste a second of our trip being lost. This trip made Ucluelet a vacation spot that we will surely return to and we are looking forward to spending more time at the Coast & Toast.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hemlock room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely place. The room is nice, the bed very comfortable, the breakfasts delicious. We really enjoyed our time.
You're just few feets from the wild pacific trail.
The hosts are very welcoming, and adviced us for what to do.
Very nice place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolwenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ucluelet hotels
0.2 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.5 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#6 of 11 in Ucluelet
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
A Snug Harbour Inn
A Snug Harbour Inn
#1 of 30 in Ucluelet
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
0.4 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
2.7 mi away
Wya Point Resort
Wya Point Resort
#4 of 27 in Ucluelet
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast & Toast Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast & Toast Bed & Breakfast

Property: Coast & Toast Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1821 Cedar Grove Pl | PO Box 1243, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coast and Toast B&B offers comfortable and casual suites with private entrances, modern west-coast furniture and home-made bakery style breakfasts. Located on the Wild Pacific Trail, steps from Brown’s Beach, restaurants, spa and the Ucluelet Community Centre. The Wild Pacific Trail weaves through a majestic temperate rainforest, connecting beaches with craggy cliff-top lookouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Coast & Toast Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing