We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant location could spend a week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Valla Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“brilliant location could spend a week”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had family book a one night stay in a 2 bedroom villa, which was spacious, clean, well equiped, veiws that were breath taking, we loved staying here and wish we had longer than one night. Whilst the weather was not good, we got movies and games from the office and still had a great stay with family.

Room Tip: top floor over looking water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Shoreside Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
susie622 - thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy some of the amenities from our Reception building. Thanks for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    180
    55
    16
    11
See reviews for
174
232
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was an unexpected surprise. The check in was quick and easy. This property is also a timeshare through Intrawest.
Rooms had tubs in the balconies, kitchens, and all have a nice view.
Units were simple but very nice and clean. Tall ceilings and quite roomy.

The front desk has games and DVDs available to use on the honor system.

A grocery store is about a mile away so we decided to make our meals instead of eating out in the limited selections. The only negative about the property is that there is no on site restaurant.

I much prefer Ucluelet vibe over the hippy Tofino.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank congoroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed just one night in this very well furnished apartment. The location is excellent for exploring the delights of the pacific rim area. Views from the room were lovely, over the harbour. If you are here you simply have to have a massage with steven in the on site spa - best massage I have ever had!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We got this hotel last minute from Expedia as had to change travel plans. The pictures online are great but the real thing is much better. Reception staff very helpful . Room/lodge was brill home from home dishwasher cooker fridge freezer dining room table n chair and comfy sofa n fire lovely view of the water only thing I could say could've been better was you had to use your car to go to shops as long walk around harbour as no through road but was brill place to stay in just wished could've stay there bit longer but alas trip around BC had to go on lol
Local shop co-op was brill the meat man was very kind he gave us his fresh salmon
He had caught for our tea and what a feast we had lol . Locals very helpful and kind .
Recommend this hotel
bUT BOOK DIRECT as the receptionist said rooms if direct cost $157 per night but we paid $208 to Expedia

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wintergarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
150 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at the Waters Edge Resort for three nights and found it to be very comfortable and roomy. We had a one bedroom unit with a living space that had plenty of windows overlooking the inlet. There was a balcony with a jetted tub (unfortunately we didn't get to use it). The unit also had a full kitchen and fireplace. The only drawback was that we were on the second floor (entrance) which then had an internal stairway up to the third floor unit. The harbor was nice and there was plenty to see in Tofino which is about 25 miles away. Unfortunately, the better restaurants are there as well (although the Blue Room in Ucluelet was great for lunch).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Shoreside Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
nsacky, Thank you for your review, and for staying at our resort! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We first stayed at Waters Edge one year ago. At that time, we were disappointed in the cleanliness and condition of our suite. Waters Edge addressed our concerns and kindly invited us back for another stay. We made use of their offer and booked a fathers day weekend family trip to Ucluelet.

This time, our suite was in good condition and very clean. We had a beautiful view of the water as well. My wife and I thought the layout (2 bedrooms, kitchen, deck, etc) of the suite was perfect for our family.

When we checked in, the woman at the front desk commented that there were 100 college students staying in the resort for the weekend. My wife asked if resort staff would be on site in case it got too noisy. The staff member explained that she would be on site only until 10pm. She added that the "supervisors" of the student group were staying on our building, so it should not be noisy near our suite.

Well, to make a long story short, the party below us went until approximately 12:15am on Friday night. I'm not sure how many party goers were there, but it was loud. The music was blasting, people were on the patio. Not only were they talking but were screaming and chanting.

The next morning we stopped in at the office to borrow some movies. The staff member had received complaints from other guests about the student party and asked if we had been kept awake. We let her know that it was very noisy and the party kept us up late. She said she would be giving a warning to the "group leaders".

Saturday night was worse. More loud music, lots of people outside on the deck/patio yelling and screaming. At about 12:45am I was so frustrated, I called out our window asking them to please go inside and keep the volume down. There was no response. At about 1:00am we heard another resort guest visit the party to ask them to keep the noise down. The group finally moved inside and I fell asleep by about 1:20. My wife said that the group ended up outside again and kept her awake until about 2:30.

The next morning my wife and I both let the resort staff know about the noise. She told us that she was sorry and wished we had called the "emergency after hours number". Although the emergency number is listed on the resort info sheet in the suite, we didn't know there was such a number.

Being kept away by parties both nights meant our trip was not the peaceful and relaxing getaway we had hoped for. My wife and I were frustrated by the experience. Fortunately, our stay at the resort was complimentary. Had we paid the $300 plus per night rate, I would have been furious. We won't be back.

Given the party that took place on Friday, it would have been a good idea for the resort to keep a staff person on site Saturday night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klrphipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Shoreside Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Klrphipps, thank you for returning to Water's Edge for Father's Day Weekend! We appreciate your compliments of the condition and cleanliness of your suite. Our resort changed management in November 2013, and our team has been striving for excellence in these areas. We apologize for the noise and disturbance you experienced from other guests staying with us during your time in Ucluelet. We appreciate your feedback and will take that into consideration, should we have a large student group staying with us again. If you have any other feedback you'd like to share about your stay, please feel free to email us at marketing@watersedgeresort.ca. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I and our 2 children stayed in a 2 bedroom suite for 3 nights and we loved it! The jacuzzi on the deck was awesome, not enough hot water but we just boiled some in pots to top it up! We will definitely be back. Thanks

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
19.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
18.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#6 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Shoreside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Shoreside Suites

Property: Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Address: 1971 Harbour Crescent, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Shoreside Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water's Edge is the only property with access to both the serene Ucluelet Harbour & bordering Marina from every suite! The peaceful harbour suites are located on a private island joined by a causeway and just minutes from Vancouver Island's #1 rated tourist attraction; The Wild Pacific Trail. Waters Edge is truly the ideal location for discovering the Real West Coast of Ucluelet, Tofino and The Pacific Rim National Park (all major attractions within 15 - 30 mins from Waters Edge!). Guests enjoy spacious private suites featuring west coast decor and full kitchens; the perfect home base to explore the areas miles of sandy West Coast beaches, ancient rainforests, fantastic kayaking, awesome fishing charters and spectacular panoramic views. Guaranteed to leave you breathless! Peaceful ambiance on our private island joined by a causeway within the harbour. Bonus Tip 1: Bring your kayak and you can launch right on site because were the only property located on an island within the harbour! Bonus Tip 2: Boaters rejoice! Were the only property located almost right next door to the new public boat launch so bring your boat up and catch yourself some of the best Halibut on the Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Water's Edge Shoreside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Resort At Pacific Rim Hotel Ucluelet
Waters Edge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing