We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Thornton Motel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thornton Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thornton Motel
Ranked #26 of 31 Ucluelet B&B and Inns
fort mcmurray
1 review
“Thornton Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

My family stays here when we visit the island mostly because we are treated so well here .management is awesome the rooms are great we will come back here.It feels like home away from home.front desk service was outstanding my kids really like staying here walking to the aquarium and shopping is minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
178 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights and because of a fire in some regular rooms, we got an upgrade to a big appartment, with living room, two bedrooms and kitchen. Interior was somewhat older, but I liked that actually and it was definately kept clean. Originally had plans for 3 nights, but because of a late departure from Campbell River we were not able to make it and called them to save the room for the other 2 nights. Apart from the free upgrade, they did not charge us for the first night, which was very very kind because usually our cancellation for the first night was too late. Considering their problems with the fire and income they miss and all the work in the first place, that, again, was extremely kind. Thank you and hopefully things will work out in the near future for this good motel and friendly folks!
The location by the way is perfect, within walking distance of shops, coffee places, breakfast diners and restaurants. Ideal and much quieter than nearby Tofino in the first place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room for 2 nights
Arrived at the motel and since they had a problem with the room we ordered we got a suite with a full equipped kitchen
The property is located in the center of this small vilage
Rooms are nice and clean and the lady running this place is nice and helpfull

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DK5179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This motel was centrally located and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Everything is clean and well kept.
The rooms are large and comfortable with all necessary amenities.
This is a good travel value.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Four of us stayed in the Thornton Motel for 2 nights. It was a perfect, spacious set up for a group of our size. Two rooms, one with a double bed and the other with twin beds, a kitchen with everything you needed to prepare food, and a living room, as well. Beds were very comfortable!
Bathroom looks like it has been updated; modern sink, tub surround.
Everything was a clean as a whistle.
As reported by other guests, you can hear people walking around on the floor above, but we had no trouble sleeping.
The motel is located close to many services.
We appreciated our stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Islander280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Large dated rooms. Glad we were upstairs as I think it would have been noisy to be under given the elevated walkway and thin walls. Summer rates in Ucluelet are very high. This was one of the more affordable places, though it felt overpriced even then for the quality of the room and furnishings. You need to go into the office to get ice, and this triggers the staff to come out and see what you are doing which felt a bit weird.

Room Tip: Upstairs toward the end of the walkway will be quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PTRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in a room with kitchenette for 3 nights while visiting the Pacific Rim. The hotel does not look like much from the outside but the room exceeded our expectations. It was spacious, clean and comfortable and the kitchenette had everything one might need. Laundry facilities available. Like many other motels, you could hear people above, but we've experienced the same in more expensive hotels. The price was so much lower than most other places in the area that we traded off a view of the water for price. In retrospect, it would have been nice, at least for one night, to come back after a day of hiking and sit on a porch overlooking the water.

As another person mentioned, the woman at the desk was as welcoming as most. We had booked through Booking.com several months before and she did not have our reservation in her stack. She had to check booking.com to see it. Had the hotel been full, we would have been in a predicament. We've never had this problem before but, in this case, I would confirm the reservation.

Room Tip: Seems like the kitchenettes are on the bottom floor which get the overhead noise. If that's a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandmVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
Pacific Rim Motel
Pacific Rim Motel
#19 of 31 in Ucluelet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
19.6 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#38 of 42 in Tofino
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#9 of 10 in Ucluelet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
C&N Backpackers-Ucluelet
C&N Backpackers-Ucluelet
#10 of 25 in Ucluelet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Motel

Property: Thornton Motel
Address: 1861 Peninsula Rd | PO Box 490, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornton Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Thornton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing