We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, acceptable resort but bad customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Island West Resort

Island West Resort
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island West Resort
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, acceptable resort but bad customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Being 9 of us, we booked 1 motel room (for 4) and one RV site (for 5). The staff at the Island West Resort was kind and polite but considering our experience they are unable to handle situation properly. At our arrival, we were asked to ask to move from our scenic & grassy RV spot #22 to #15 to accommodate another guests. We ended up in a muddy (it was a rainy day), no view and noisy spot (#15) although we originally paid for a beautiful, peaceful and calming spot. Despite writing to the management team, no apologies were received and this issue was not even addressed! I would not recommend this location for a family with young children or for older couples. The resort guests seem to use intimidating and bullying method to get what the want - which clearly is not where you'd like your family to end up.
As for the motel room, it was acceptable. Great shower, enough space space but nothing special.

Room Tip: DO NOT request for the RV spot #15
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaCercle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    6
    3
    16
See reviews for
11
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I don't typically write reviews, but we recently returned from a 3-day weekend getaway in Ucluelet and I have to say that our stay at Island West was awesome! It had been recommended by a friend, and although I couldn't find a lot of information online, we decided to give it a shot. A lot of the places in the area are dumps, so be wary. There are also a few nice places, like Black Rock Resort, but i would rather not spend $400 a night with 2 kids in tow if I'm not spending much time in the hotel anyway. The Spa wasn't an option this trip.

There are two main clusters of rooms. The ones directly facing the harbour are currently undergoing renovations and have the best view into the harbour so I was disappointed that we didn't get to stay in them. We had a peek into one of the reno'd rooms under construction and it looks pretty nice. Not sure when they will be done, but it's close. We stayed in one of the rooms directly behind these ones. It had a small kitchenette with a fridge, 2 big beds with amazing comforters and pillows (also looked new). The bathrooms were clean. It wasn't luxury, but it was very comfortable. A more modern TV might make the kids happier in the evenings!

The hotel is situated centrally, right on the inner harbour, but well contained on its own property with ample trees and its own waterfront and wharf. There is even a camping area on the property if you want a more rustic experience. There were a number of people camped up on the hill with a great view over the harbour. We hiked up to the camping area and were blown away at the view from the top!

Notwithstanding the hiking around the Ucluelet lighthouse, surfing at Wickaninnish Beach, visit to Tofino, and exploring the harbour area, there were some cool things on the Isalnd West property that we enjoyed. We were greeted by a number of nesting eagles in the tall trees on the property, and for the 3 days we were there we followed their antics as they flew around from tree to tree. We also woke up to a family of deer outside our window, which was kind of cool for the kids. We also walked over to the docks each afternoon to watch the fisherman clean their catch. It wasn't high season, but there was still a lot of fishing going on.

The restaurant is directly in front of the private docks, and there is an adults only bar attached to it. It seemed that there were many locals at the restaurant as people seemed to know each other, which is always a good sign, and we had dinner twice in the restaurant. I was surprised. It wasn't your basic pub menu. Yeah, they had fish and chips and burgers, but they also had inventive salads and fish tacos. I can definitely recommend the food (at least what we ordered). The kids, picky as they are, also found things that they enjoyed.

We didn't have a lot of interaction with the staff, but overall, the folks at checkin and in the restaurant were pretty friendly. In summary if you want to be centrally located, need a safe place for the kids to play (we felt comfortable letting them play outside near the room), if you like nature, if you want a clean and comfortable room and access to a restaurant with great food and beer (the fish tacos rocked!) then Island West is ideal for your stay.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which had 2 beds in it, but I know they have larger rooms which unfortunately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RatherBeSailing2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We (3 old guys out fishing) just returned from a 4 day fishing trip at Ucluelet where we stayed at the Island West. While I can't speak for every room I can for rooms 114 &115. Both were freshly painted and very clean, the bedding fresh and clean and changed daily, the rooms were a reasonably size and even had a fridge and stove complete with cooking and eating utensils. The staff was great, the food was good and the marina (we brought our own boat) was also very good. The rooms are 1960's cement block construction as are thousands of standard motels. The place is certainly acceptable and I think good value. I don't know what some people expect for a hundred bucks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Well I must say from reading the past reviews I was sketchy on going there but we did and it was very nice and clean happen to be in Ukee on some beautiful days so our stay at Island west was very nice I must say thou of a 7 day stay the public bathrooms seemed taken care of everyday they were clean and the pub food was really good the fish wraps and shrimp penne was very tasty talked to a few people while there and it is under new management and was told the motel had some upgrades new bedding paint and floors but maybe nexted we will stay in the motel will definatly be back in end of August............

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Myself and my partner came here in August and had a campsite out on the point. The veiw of the inlet was beautiful, you could see the eagles flying and sealines in the water, and boats passing by. The grounds staff was very polite and kept the area neat and tidy as well as clean washrooms and showers, which is a bonus when you are camping! We ate in the Eagles nest pub onsite and had bugers, which were amazing! The barstaff were all very friendly.

Look forward to coming again next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The staff can be very friendly the prices are cheaper than other camp grounds And hotels in town(so sure its not as nice but its certinly comparable) and if you are there to fish and enjoy town you cant beat the location. The rooms are on the shabby side and i am sure havent been updated for 20+ years but the staff keeps them clean from what i saw the linens are clean not new but cleaned well and they allow pets(one cleaning girl actually offered to walk our friends dog when she was off work while we were out fishing) We rv camp but had friends stay in a room Its not a luxury resort by anyones standards but it does the trick and thats why we keep going back with friends that both camp and rent rooms every year and like to go here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dngVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The bank now owns this property as the owners could not make their mortgage payments. For 30 dollars a night we got to camp in a parking lot with no privacy or view. The washroom facilities are disgusting and rarely cleaned. All of the sanitary disposal bins in the ladies washroom were packed full! My friend left a piece of paper towel on the washroom floor, and it wasn't picked up for 3 days. Apparently this used to be a nice place, but not anymore. For the same price you can camp at Wya Point with privacy and an ocean view. That is where we are going next year.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChippyDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ucluelet hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ucluelet hotels
0.2 mi away
Pacific Rim Motel
Pacific Rim Motel
#19 of 30 in Ucluelet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse
0.7 mi away
C&N Backpackers-Ucluelet
C&N Backpackers-Ucluelet
#10 of 26 in Ucluelet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whale's Tail Guest Suites
Whale's Tail Guest Suites
#8 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Little Beach Resort
Little Beach Resort
#14 of 30 in Ucluelet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island West Resort

Property: Island West Resort
Address: 1990 Bay Street, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island West Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Island West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing