We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome staff and surfing...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Junction Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome staff and surfing...”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I spent one night here in August 2013 during an 18 day camping vacation in BC. We took the surf lessons for beginners with instructors Lars and Tanner. They were great instructors, and very supportive and patient with all of us. We all managed to get up on our boards by mid lesson... The girls in the office at the campsite were extremely helpful with anything that was asked, and knowledgeable of the area. What put this above other campsite was... THE HOT TUB... Very nice. We were on site 2A, close to showers, hot tub, office, and a little pond in the back so less campers around. Great all around site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi Nick!

Thank you so much for the review! So glad you were able to go out and take a lesson with Tanner and Lars, it's definitely one of the best activities to do out on the coast! Hopefully, we'll get to see you out here again.

Cheers!

Kaleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    28
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We pulled in on Sunday, expecting to stay 2 or three nights and stayed a week. We wanted to stay another week and now we can't wait to go back.
Awesome staff! (one of the guys patched my wetsuit for me - soo nice!) helpful, courteous, just so NICE!
Awesome location. So close to Ucluelet and perfect distance to Long Beach for surfing.
Great price!
Oh! And the 16 person immaculately clean Hot Tub was superb each day after surfing! We will be back to this camp for certain. :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thereshegoes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thanks for the review and glad you loved the campground as much as we do!

Cheers!

Kaleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great location, a few minutes from Ucuelet with all the needed amenities . The noise patrol (I think his name was Lars) is very passive aggressive and brings an unneeded negative experience. One of the group sites is right next to multiple sites the other is way farther away. I would suggest researching the site map and other reviews so you are in a site that lets you enjoy your experience. Huge potential here to be a knockout place, the value is there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hi there!

Thank you for writing a review, we really appreciat it and your feedback is very important to us. We're very sorry that you found our nightstaff to be passive-aggressive. We don't want our quiet rounds to ruin our campers experience and I have spoken with that particular employee and it definitely won't happen again. We do, however, have to be very firm with our quiet rounds because of how full the campground gets. We always want to provide the best experience for the greater majority of our campers. But we definitely don't want to achieve this through being passive-aggressive. So we're very sorry about that and we're glad that you were able to see past that one experience to see the other great things about the campground.

If you do come back and stay with us, we'd love to make you a specialty coffee, on us!

Again, thank you for the review!

Cheers,

Kaleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for the first time September 2012 with 4 people, and I have stayed there 4 times in the summer of 2013. If you are looking to shop around Tofino, it is much closer to Ucluelet. This is the ideal spot for surfers trying to wake up and hit the dawn patrol. Everyone is quiet at 11pm so its great if you want to surf first light. Their staff are friendly at the campground, as well as in the waves. The hot tub is always fun, everyone shares their surf stories. They have all the luxuries of an upscale camping spot, at a reasonable price. Just follow their rules or they might ask you to leave, without refund. They spell them out for you, its your own duty to follow them.

P.S. They book up fast, book in advanced!

Room Tip: Away from the pond, less mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Lots of great amenities. Full service sites with picnic tables and fire rings.

There were hot showers, coin operated. The showers could definitely use a little more cleaning (wear flip flops). But they served their purpose.

Hot tub, wet suit dry room, latte bar, ice, fire wood, wet suit and surf board rentals to! It's nice to rent the gear from the site that way you can drive to beach without having to trek into tofino to pick up gear and them drive back to drop it off. Saves a lot of driving.

The staff are good, very laid back.

This was our second time coming out and we will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MissMegL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hi MissMegL!

Thanks for the review, we really appreciate it! Glad you enjoyed all of the things we have to offer here. We'll definitely work on making those showers sparkle! It's something we're going to perfect this summer, so thank you for letting us know.

Cheers,

Kaleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in two adjoining sites over the Canada Day long-weekend. The sites were clean and had water/power. All seemed fine with the exception of the passive-aggressive noise-police: Lars.

We painfully had to experience Lars' 3 warnings every night, as did other campsites upon inquiry. He'd begin with his rounds to inform us of 'quiet-time' at 11PM, then return at 11:30PM with a more aggressive tone informing us that our 'voices carried' regardless of volume. This was referred to as the 'second warning' despite the lack of a first warning. He seemed to be more interested in who had the most defiant tone and would accuse them individually, singling out one person each time. In several cases, we were whispering and were still reproached. At this time, Lars would threaten to tell us to go to bed (we were all adults, just thought I'd point that out).

If you're a family that appreciates serene solitude, this is the place for you. If you're a warm-blooded fun-loving individual that enjoys a laugh after dark, avoid this place like the plague.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BretskiGretzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, as always, we appreciate hearing everyone's experience.

I'm sorry that you found our 11pm noise policy to be too strict and I'm especially sorry that you found our night-time staff to be passive-aggressive. That's never our intention and we definitely don't want our campers feeling this way. Long weekend quiet rounds are tough, the campground is packed with people and every camper's idea of camping is different. Our policy is always to provide the best experience for the greater majority of our campers and with that, comes being strict with our 11pm quiet time policy.

With that being said, I did speak with that particular employee to make sure they don't cross that line between being firm and being rude. Normally, they are great at what they do, it was just a particularly stressful evening.

Again, we are very sorry that your stay was anything but great and thank you for writing a review.

Cheers,

Kaleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

There is nothing wrong with this campground and I check out most of them in the area it is on par some nicer some defiantly worse. Lots of the other campsites are also more conveniently located by the ocean. If you r going out for dinner in Ucluelet which has some great restaurant it's definitely not a great location for having a couple glasses of wine driving back. I personally thought the tenting sites were a little dark due to there forrest location. I was in a RV and had a full service site in the sunny area. If you r there to surf/explore this is the campsite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratarojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi there!

Thank you for taking the time to write an honest and fair review. We really appreciate!

Cheers!

Kaleigh at SJC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
17.3 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
17.0 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
16.5 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wya Point Resort
Wya Point Resort
#4 of 26 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Cabins at Terrace Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Junction Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Junction Campground

Property: Surf Junction Campground
Address: 2650 Tofino-Ucluelet Hwy, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us on the wild, West Coast for your next camping experience. We are located at the entrance of the Pacific Rim National Park and the UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve. The campground is situated on 18 acres, in the privacy and peace of the forest, but just 5 minutes from the town of Ucluelet and 5 minutes from world famous Long Beach and Kennedy Lake Provincial Park. The Surf Junction has much to offer. Large private sites with clean new facilities and a wide variety of services in a gorgeous woodland setting. Customers can soak in the hot tub or relax in the sauna. By the pond there is a covered cooking and eating area. There is sports equipment available free of charge you can enjoy on our playing field. There's even a place to wash out your wet suit.From surf rentals to coffee and espresso drinks along with firewood, snacks and other camping essentials the Surf Junction has most of your camping needs right in the office. The campground staff can book surf lessons, whale watching, bear watching, fishing and many other adventurers or just give you directions to any of the areas many attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing