We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/site, ridiculous night manager.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Junction Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in two adjoining sites over the Canada Day long-weekend. The sites were clean and had water/power. All seemed fine with the exception of the passive-aggressive noise-police: Lars.

We painfully had to experience Lars' 3 warnings every night, as did other campsites upon inquiry. He'd begin with his rounds to inform us of 'quiet-time' at 11PM, then return at 11:30PM with a more aggressive tone informing us that our 'voices carried' regardless of volume. This was referred to as the 'second warning' despite the lack of a first warning. He seemed to be more interested in who had the most defiant tone and would accuse them individually, singling out one person each time. In several cases, we were whispering and were still reproached. At this time, Lars would threaten to tell us to go to bed (we were all adults, just thought I'd point that out).

If you're a family that appreciates serene solitude, this is the place for you. If you're a warm-blooded fun-loving individual that enjoys a laugh after dark, avoid this place like the plague.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank BretskiGretzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, as always, we appreciate hearing everyone's experience.

I'm sorry that you found our 11pm noise policy to be too strict and I'm especially sorry that you found our night-time staff to be passive-aggressive. That's never our intention and we definitely don't want our campers feeling this way. Long weekend quiet rounds are tough, the campground is packed with people and every camper's idea of camping is different. Our policy is always to provide the best experience for the greater majority of our campers and with that, comes being strict with our 11pm quiet time policy.

With that being said, I did speak with that particular employee to make sure they don't cross that line between being firm and being rude. Normally, they are great at what they do, it was just a particularly stressful evening.

Again, we are very sorry that your stay was anything but great and thank you for writing a review.

Cheers,

Kaleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 118 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

There is nothing wrong with this campground and I check out most of them in the area it is on par some nicer some defiantly worse. Lots of the other campsites are also more conveniently located by the ocean. If you r going out for dinner in Ucluelet which has some great restaurant it's definitely not a great location for having a couple glasses of wine driving back. I personally thought the tenting sites were a little dark due to there forrest location. I was in a RV and had a full service site in the sunny area. If you r there to surf/explore this is the campsite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratarojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hi there!

Thank you for taking the time to write an honest and fair review. We really appreciate!

Cheers!

Kaleigh at SJC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have been camping at the Surf Junction for the last few years now. Whether I'm with friends, family, or girlfriend, the staff are always welcoming and accommodating. The facilities (hot tub, sauna, bathrooms) are the best! And on the odd occasion I find myself staying at any other campground, I always miss that hot tub and sauna! Nothing beats it after a cold surf. The rules of the campground are more than fair and I have never had an issue getting a nice quiet sleep, even at the campgrounds busiest times. If you want to spend your time enjoying the moody west coast days and relaxing in a hot tub / sauna by night surrounded by like minded campers and staff, then the Surf Junction Campground is the place to be!

Stella Westy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stella w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hi Stella,

Thank you so much for writing a review! We love it when we get repeat campers that truly enjoy our campground. If you have any suggestions for us, please let us know! You can either fill out a suggestions card in the office or email us at surfjunctioncampground@gmail.com.

Thanks again and we look forward to hopefuly seeing you this summer!

Cheers,

Kaleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Surf Junction for two weeks at the end of May, the site was clean and sunny and even came with our own firepit and picnic bench! It was easy to pitch our tent and the friendly staff even let us borrow a tarp in case of rain!
The showers were so nice and warm and super cheap, the toilets were surprisingly pleasant and its cool that the water is from their own well. We were able to rent gear there for a reasonable price and even took a surf lesson with Lars the instructor, he had us standing up on our first time ever!
The beaches are super close and there are some lovely trails to be found, would definately reccomend staying here it was super chilled and all the staff are lovely! Do it!!

Room Tip: They have different kinds of sites, like some are more treed and some are sunny so just mention that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My fiancé and I have been staying at Surf Junction Campground every year for 5 years, and each trip has been excellent. The prompt service for reservations is always excellent, and the friendly staff makes it so worth while staying there. The campground has everything that any camper or surfer could need: a small general/grocery store, cafe/fresh coffee in the mornings, surf rentals/lessons, fire wood, hot tub, sauna, wetsuit drying station, clean sites, the nicest outhouses you can find and hot showers! As far as camping goes, it's far the best place I have stayed in!

If you want a great spot to chill after a day of surfing, or just to escape the city life - this is where you should go. Great prices, great staff and fantastic sites!!

Check out SJC!

Room Tip: If you book far enough in advance, you can actually request to be placed in a site close to the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hi!

Thank you so much for the review! We love it when we get campers that come back each year and we especially love it when they have such a great experience each time! We really value you guys and your advice and comments are as good as gold. So thank you so much for the review and for being wonderful campers!

Look forward to many more summers with you guys!

Cheers,

Kaleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Though October is supposed to be the rain season out on Vancouver Island, we were fortunate enough to have great weather for the first two weeks of it in 2012 for our yearly vacation. Both my wife and myself had done a lot of research on every single camping site out west, as we were determined to be close to the ocean.

Most places seemed to have mixed reviews, mostly based on each person’s expectations of camping. When therefore ended up making online reservations at the Surf Junction campground in Ucluelet (B.C.).

Back and forth communications were easy and cordial. We arrived at the site somewhat early, but we were well greeted and were given our reserved site right away, with no extra fees, as it was already vacated and we didn’t mind that it hadn’t yet been “cleaned up” (we got to keep all the left over fire wood).

The campground itself is wonderful! Our site was superb!! The personnel was simply the best! They were very friendly and resourceful, and most of all, they also were very patient (we did have our curious and playful three year old son with us).

Surf Junction isn’t quite in Ucluelet. It’s really just a stone’s throw from the junction of the Pacific Rim Highway and the Tofino-Ucluelet Highway. Though we would have liked a campground actually on the beach, none offered the space we required (we have a huge tent), nor the privacy we desired, and certainly not in the price range we were willing to pay. We found the location to actually be an advantage to us as it enabled very short hops to make it to all the beaches (some we even walked to).

One thing we really enjoyed a lot was the hot tub at the campground. The prices for the showers were reasonable (but we would like a buzzer to notify the end of the hot water cycle). The fire wood was of decent quality and price, though it’s not a bad idea to either purchase it from the Coop in Ucluelet or even anyone else who sells large quantities good quality at reasonable prices if you like doing huge fires like we did.

We did end up deciding to try our luck at surfing (we hadn’t gone there for that) and the staff was very helpful! Equipment rental was affordable and advices were never in shortage (staff really was helpful and patient).

All in all, we had the best vacation we could have hoped for!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hi William,

Thank you so much for the kind and informative review. We will definitely work on those shower buzzers :). We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our location as much as we do. We're also stoked you were able to get in the water and give surfing a shot!

Thank you again for the review.

Cheers,

Kaleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed at Surf Junction for a 6 day trip to the Pacific Rim. It was very laid back and well organized. The bathrooms were clean, and the compostable bathrooms did not have a hint of smell! It was great to be able to rent everything right from the camp site. We were within 10 minutes of Wickaninnish Beach - perfect place for my husband to learn to surf. Saw the most beautiful sunsets! Only downside is that our campsite was really shady - so nothing would dry and everything was damp all week long. That that's par for the course on the west coast.

Room Tip: request a site that gets lots of sun during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lysmekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hello!

Thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear you found all of the amenitities to be clean, even the composter toilets (no one believes me until they stay with us that they don't stink!). We work really hard to keep everything clean, so we really appreciate hearing it! As for the shady site, we're currently working on opening up some of our tenting sites, but definitely good advice on requesting a site that gets sun, if that's important to you. We have some sites that are a lot more open and get a lot more sun- we just have to know that's what you want :)

But thank you again for the review, we love hearing what our campers have to say!


Cheers,

Kaleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
2.0 mi away
Wya Point Resort
Wya Point Resort
#4 of 26 in Ucluelet
180 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Cabins at Terrace Beach
56.0 mi away
Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground
Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground
#2 of 7 in Qualicum Beach
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
17.3 mi away
MacKenzie Beach Resort
MacKenzie Beach Resort
#18 of 20 in Tofino
318 reviews
75.3 mi away
Mountainaire Campground and RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Junction Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Junction Campground

Address: 2650 Tofino-Ucluelet Hwy, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Ucluelet
Price Range: $16 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us on the wild, West Coast for your next camping experience. We are located at the entrance of the Pacific Rim National Park and the UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve. The campground is situated on 18 acres, in the privacy and peace of the forest, but just 5 minutes from the town of Ucluelet and 5 minutes from world famous Long Beach and Kennedy Lake Provincial Park. The Surf Junction has much to offer. Large private sites with clean new facilities and a wide variety of services in a gorgeous woodland setting. Customers can soak in the hot tub or relax in the sauna. By the pond there is a covered cooking and eating area. There is sports equipment available free of charge you can enjoy on our playing field. There's even a place to wash out your wet suit.From surf rentals to coffee and espresso drinks along with firewood, snacks and other camping essentials the Surf Junction has most of your camping needs right in the office. The campground staff can book surf lessons, whale watching, bear watching, fishing and many other adventurers or just give you directions to any of the areas many attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing