We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surfer's Budget to camping in style!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Junction Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I truly adore everything about Surf Junction. This place is a Surfer/ campers paradise. Located in the perfect location, close to great surf, beautiful camp sites, with tons of room. There really isn't much that sells a place more then a nice big hot tub and sauna after an awesome surf session filled with rad like minded people. The staff is the best part, making you feel so welcome, with their smilling glowing faces. I would recommend this place to anyone, its more then just a place to relax and lay your head.. It's a real fun experience that completely highlights your entire westcoast trip! ENJOY!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hi Kate!

Words cannot express how much we appreciate and value your kind words! We really love it when our campers become part of the SJC family, and you, my friend, have definitely become part of the family. We look forward to many more summers of seeing your awesome smile!

Cheers!

Kaleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 118 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

This campground was really cool, nice area. Great staff, and store that rented surfboards, bodyboards, wetsuits and offered lessons. About 5 minute drive away from Long Beach and 5 minutes into Ucluelet that has everything you'd need. Ucluelet has a lot of beach trails to walk. Has a hot tub and sauna as well as showers and flush toilets. Also while we were there they offered morning yoga on the beach. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hi!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we love hearing what everyone has to say! Glad you found Ucluelet as awesome as we do! It might not be as famous as Tofino, but it definitely has a lot going for it!

Thanks again!

Kaleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife, two year old daughter and I stayed here for a week at the end of September for a short vacation before the summer's end. Keeping warm as the nights cool off in September is challenging for visitors, so the hot tub and sauna (both very clean and well maintained) were perfect amenities.

Campsites are tucked into lush forest pockets, and there is potable/drinkable water access at each site. Staff are very friendly and helpful, though quiet and respectful, and the office/reception has many items you may have forgotten while packing for your trip.

If you are looking for a great site off the beaten path, Surf Junction is a sure bet regardless of whether or not you are seeking the swell!

Room Tip: A site close to the hot tub/sauna seems to be a wise decision....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hello!

Thank you for writing a review, we really appreciate it! 2012 was our first year owning and running the campground, so I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. It means the sweat and tears paid off :)! But we hope to see you in the future and if you have anymore ideas or advice, please send us an email, we'd love to hear it!

Cheers,

Kaleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

stayed with friends and service and location was horrible. then we were asked to leave after the complaint and no refund and there was one other group on site at the otherside. I would say away from here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaune H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hi,

I'm so sorry that you found your stay with us so disapointing. Our goal is never to upset our campers, however, our goal is to provide the best stay for the greater majority of people camping with us. This is why we have to be so firm with our quiet rounds. We have a lot of families that stay with us, a lot of people who want to surf really early, so we try very hard to protect the integrity of everyone's night sleep. With that being said, we usually do give out multiple warnings and try to be as clear as possible with our campers what is and isn't tolerable for us. We understand that people are on vacation and just want to relax and have fun, all we ask is that you do that while being respectful to other campers. Even if there are only a couple of other campers.

If you feel that we weren't fair at all or that we were difficult to deal with, please feel free to send us an email or give us a call and we would love to work something out.


Cheers,

Kaleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Have reserved a site here for an upcoming trip in Sept 2012 - and wow - some of these reviews are giving me cold feet! We stayed at this campground 4 years ago & had a really good experience. We have a truck & camper & stayed in a larger unserviced site. Bathrooms, showers & hot tub were decent - very clean considering how busy it was.

They were very up front about having to charge for showers/firewood - we didn't have an issue with that. We did have to pull out & move to Green Point for the weekend as our spot was booked by someone else, but we happily came back to SJ. Green Point, by the way, is a beautiful facility, but I have a liking for access to a hot shower after hiking around & getting damp and sandy all day!

Staff that we encountered were friendly enough though a bit jaded - definitely got a bit of that "we're just here to enjoy our off time" vibe, but that's pretty standard with young staff in Tofino/Ucluelet especially in the summer. Once college is back in session things thin out and people seem less stressed. When we were friendly and nice the response was positive, though we did overhear some encounters that made us pay attention - the staff shut down a group of people wanting to bring wine into the communal hot tub, and also got after a group that left stuff out in their site when they left for the day - the campground had a "bare site" policy (ie. NOTHING gets left out overnight or while sites are empty, not even towels or tablecloths) - because of the bears in the area.

We enjoyed our stay, and were looking forward to the next one. I'll update this review when we've had a chance to see how things are in 2012.

Room Tip: Look at the site map and inquire about layout of sites - they vary greatly from crowded side by side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 373Barb123373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hi!

Thank you for writing a review! We are constantly growing and we really appreciate any advice our campers can give us.

I hope your stay in September was as good as your last visit and that you found the staff to be more welcoming and friendly.

We are very strict about no alcohol in the hotub area- if we see it, we have to do something about it. It's a huge liability issue for us. We know it's not the most fun policy, but our number one concern is always safety.

We are also pretty firm with our bear policy as well. This is because they do not re-locate problem bears, they just terminate them. So we do our best to protect campers and the bears. And anything that has a scent can be a bear attractant. We once saw a bear take down a tent for a bar of soap!


But thank you again for the review and we truly hope that your other stays have been just as enjoyable, if not better.


Kaleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I was checking for pricing information to recommend the surf service to a friend. We stayed at Surf Junction in July 2009 and had a great experience. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Surf Junction is located where the east west section of Pacific Rim Highway intersects with the north south section of the highway. This allows for a nice day trip to Uclulete, another nice day trip to Tofino and easy access to a quiet beach by car.

I had never surfed before and arranged a lesson at the main office. I was thoroughly impressed with the quality of the directions provided by the surf staff and the assistance provided to myself and other members of the lesson while in the ocean. I have since sought other surf experiences because the experience was so enjoyable.

I also developed a new appreciation for bears during out stay. I observed a mother bear and two cubs moving through a remote section of the campsite and went to tell the staff. The staff were concerned about the well being of the bears but I was taken back by the limited concern shown for campers. I was always taught to be very afraid of a bear cub because mother bears can be very protective. This bear was avoiding campers but did go past a remote sight. I spoke to the campers from that sight later and heard that their dogs had gone after the bear and the bear had protected itself and its cubs by taking three swipes at the attacking dogs. The dogs received three superficial scratches from the attack including a scratch on the nose and hind quarter. I realized that the bear had no interest in hurting the dogs as it was giving a warning in no uncertain terms to leave it alone. When the dogs backed off, the bear continued on its way to avoid further contact with humans. I now have a greater understanding that bears really do want to be left alone unless humans have neglected to safely store food. I had no concerns for the safety of my young family after hearing about this incident and slept soundly in a tent that night, although we were very careful to put all food in a vehicle.

Despite the poor reviews, I would not hesitate to stay at Surf Junction. I will still recommend the surfing service to my friend who has already made alternate arrangements to stay in Tofino. Google plus had much nicer reviews.

Room Tip: RV's seeking hookups will find some sites do not have much privacy or shade as most sites are pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDNTravellbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hi!

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our campground and that you would not only come back, but recommend us to a friend. That means the world!

As for the bears, we are very dedicated to being "Bear Aware" for not only the safety of our campers, but for the bears as well. Each year, a handful of bears are terminated because they get too comfortable with humans and their food. We see this too often out here on the coast. So thank you for sharing your experience and for carefully storing your food in your car at night!

If you have anymore ideas or advice for us, it's much appreciated! You can email us at surfjunctioncampground@gmail.com

-Kaleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The campsites are nice but far from the beach, and the staff are terrible

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnismyname1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleighsjc, Owner at Surf Junction Campground, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hi John,

I'm sorry that your stay at our campground was anything but great and I'm also sorry that it's taken me this long to respond! In 2012, that was our first year owning and opperating Surf Junction. There was a lot of mistakes that we made, and have since corrected. It was a summer of learning, especially in May, that was our first time ever with our staff. These aren't excuses, but an acknowledgement of our disapointment to some of our campers. I completely understand your frustration with us and I hope that you are willing to come back, for free of course, and see that we have made huge steps in the right direction.

Again, we are sincerely sorry!

-Kaleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
2.0 mi away
Wya Point Resort
Wya Point Resort
#4 of 26 in Ucluelet
180 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Cabins at Terrace Beach
56.0 mi away
Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground
Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground
#2 of 7 in Qualicum Beach
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
17.3 mi away
MacKenzie Beach Resort
MacKenzie Beach Resort
#18 of 20 in Tofino
318 reviews
75.3 mi away
Mountainaire Campground and RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Junction Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Junction Campground

Address: 2650 Tofino-Ucluelet Hwy, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Ucluelet
Price Range: $16 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us on the wild, West Coast for your next camping experience. We are located at the entrance of the Pacific Rim National Park and the UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve. The campground is situated on 18 acres, in the privacy and peace of the forest, but just 5 minutes from the town of Ucluelet and 5 minutes from world famous Long Beach and Kennedy Lake Provincial Park. The Surf Junction has much to offer. Large private sites with clean new facilities and a wide variety of services in a gorgeous woodland setting. Customers can soak in the hot tub or relax in the sauna. By the pond there is a covered cooking and eating area. There is sports equipment available free of charge you can enjoy on our playing field. There's even a place to wash out your wet suit.From surf rentals to coffee and espresso drinks along with firewood, snacks and other camping essentials the Surf Junction has most of your camping needs right in the office. The campground staff can book surf lessons, whale watching, bear watching, fishing and many other adventurers or just give you directions to any of the areas many attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing