We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sitting in a jacuzzi outside, with balg eagles above your head!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point West Cottages
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here for two nights, visiting Pacific Rim in between (first tip: check the times of the tides so you don't miss the low tide to visit the tidal pools!)

We loved this place. We stayed at the Hilltop cottage. The "front" is not that attractive, but the cottage itself is perfect! Clean and you have everything. it's nicely decorate, you have a kitchen, and a good bathroom. There is a fireplace (we were there in August but the nights were chilly and we had a lot of rain), and a jacuzzi on the outside deck. this was wonderful to relax! (we had one night with heavy rain so no jacuzzi that night). There are not that many places to eat something nearby so it's also nice to have a (clean) gas BBQ.
It's not cheap but for what you get and compared to the prices of other hotels it still is good value in our opinion.

Only "negative" points: we missed a manual for the TV and the jacuzzi, both quite complex to use. (the owner do explain but when you arrive after a long drive it's not that easy to fully remember it). The owner were also quite irritated that we arrived after the official check in time (there was an accident on the road, so we had to call them) - this is one of the desadvantages of staying at a small scale place....

Room Tip: for two persons the hilltop cottage is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belgian_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 54 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

I initially ran across an internet listing for the Point West cottages while doing trip planning for a visit to the Uclulet Area during September- early October, 2010.. After reviewing other lodging options on TripAdvisor, we settled on the Point West Cottages as being the best fit for what we primarily wanted: nice accommodations with a sense of privacy.

Point West has four cottages. We stayed in the Osprey, which is the furthest one from the check-in area. It had a lovely bay view, no neighbors to the left, and one cabin to the right. It's a small A-frame. The large bed is upstairs in a loft with a couple of armoires and chests.

There is a spiral staircase from the upstairs down. The main bathroom/shower is downstairs. There is a fully-equipped kitchen with a stove, microvwave, and refrigerator.
The TV seemingly was hooked up to an extensive cable package. There was a couch for television viewing and a small dining area with tables and chairs.

The cabin has an aquatic theme. If you look closely at the floors you will notice small sea shells and sea creatures that have been glued into the flooring. It's a nice touch.

The Osprey has a very nice hot tub just outside the cabin, with a great view of the bay. The owners will give you the orientation on how to use the unit, work the jets, along with instructions on opening and closing the hot tub cover. (They are not naggers. They just want you to know how to open and shut the cover without incurring any damage).

There is an abundance of wildlife near the cabin. We saw deer, we heard seals at night and saw them in the bay that was the front view from the cabin. One morning my wife left the cabin and immediately saw a juvenile Osprey standing on the hot tub cover, like he owned the place. While we were there,Pennee and her husband recommeded we go to the salmon hatchery to see the bears who were hanging out there and gave us driving directions to the place.

The one can't miss sight around Ucluelet is the Wild Pacific Trail. It's easy enough for anyone in good shape and will only get you breathing hard a couple of times. The scenery it shows along the ocean is magnificent. Ir you've lived in the NW USA the scenery is not that different from what you might have seen along the Washington or Oregon coasts. But saying that is not to demean from the Ucluelet views one bit. It is a magnificent trail.

I recommend the Osprey cottage for a couple who wants to be away from it all without having to hike in a few miles somewhere to pitch a tent. It is relatively secluded, cozy but furnished nicely, and offers great views. It's the kind of place I was a bit reluctant to post a review of as my "greedy" side does not want to see the cabin booked-up the next time I want to visit the Ucluelet area.

Room Tip: Osprey cabin is most remote and has best view of the bay, in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rottenfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We were looking for a cottage ideal for a couple with a child, we ended up in the Osprey cabin. The cabin inside was lovely and quaint. Well equipped kitchen. Hot tub is very secluded and private deck. Quiet location, easy access to trail into Ucluelet. Nice view to inlet.

We had the intention to put our child in the queen upstairs and us to use the pull-out for us. However the first clue there was something wrong with the pullout was when we pulled it out the first night and it was made up backwards. If you attempted face the other way to watch TV while laying in bed, the pullout would start flipping up backwards. So we 'tried' to sleep the other way. I say try, because it was the most uncomfortable, lumpy, springy and squeaky pull-out we have ever attempted to sleep on. We all ended up squishing into the Queen upstairs. Which made for three un-restful nights sleep. So if you are a traveling couple, not planning to use the pull-out then you shouldn't have an issue. But if you plan on using the pull-out - good luck sleeping. Our only other suggestion would be that the cottage could do with a couple ant traps for the giant black ants that were sneaking around the interior.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Osprey cottage for a couple, not intending to use the pull-out sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed at the guest house for four nights in September. Its a great place in a quiet location overlooking the inlet. Even better than it looked on the website. From the raised deck the views.across the inlet are stunning The guesthouse is very well appointed, the bed was really comfortable and the kitchen fully equipped with everything needed for a self catering holiday. The gas barbecue was a bonus and made the best steaks we have had for some time.

The Pacific Rim National Park is a real gem and the bear watching trip with Jamie's in Ucluelet was the icing on the cake. If we ever return to this part of the world we would definitely stay at Point West Cottages.

Room Tip: The Guest House is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We were looking for a nice quiet place with a water view and kitchen, with easy access to the Ucluelet-Tofino hiking + fishing. Hot tub being a plus. The Osprey cabin was perfect. Very private. BBQ grill was also a plus for cooking fresh caught salmon. Loved returning back to our nice cozy cabin every evening. Beautiful view from the hot tub. The Willowbrae trail is nearby to hike down to Florencia or Halfmoon Bay. (Definitely worth the effort.) Very well located cabins. If you want your privacy this is a great place!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank powderglut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This place looked great on their Web site but it was even better than expected. The setting overlooking the water is amazing and the amenities of the cottage were first rate. We had it for only two nights but wish we could have stayed for weeks. Everything about it was great, very quiet and out of the way but convenient to Ucluelet and Tofino. Highly recommended, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed in the guesthouse for 5 days. We enjoyed it so much. The views, the kitchen, the bedroom and the hut tub - everything was perfect. and also Penee and Jerry. If ever we'll visit again this part of the world we surely will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dovrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ucluelet hotels
22.8 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
248 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
324 reviews
22.7 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
22.9 mi away
The Cabins at Terrace Beach
22 mi away
Wya Point Resort
Wya Point Resort
#3 of 25 in Ucluelet
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point West Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point West Cottages

Address: 2345 Pacific Rim Hwy, Ucluelet, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Ucluelet
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing