We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Selah Guest House

Selah Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Selah Guest House
Ranked #21 of 32 Ucluelet B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Selah Guesthouse is a gem. I find it hard to see how anyone can find fault with this place. We felt it was a real bargain all things considered. Our room was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and very well equipped with all kitchenware provided. The guesthouse is within very short walking distance to the shops and the walking trails are easily accessible. The surroundings are gorgeous; lots of wildlife and rainforest all around.

Hank and Heather also are lovely hosts who went above and beyond for us even offering to drive us out to Tofino as we didn't have access to a vehicle.

If you are looking for rest and relaxation, you will find it here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatEmmaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Loved the room, quiet, comfortable well appointed and clean. The Guest house is close enough to town and yet it is surrounded by spectacular bush giving the impression of 'being out in the sticks'. In one morning we arose to two deer that had come out of the forest, grazing right outside the door. Highly recommend this place which is situated in a very nice part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bimroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is not a B & B despite some of the online advertising. However, you will get a clean room with most of the amenities. Heather is a friendly person and her husband apparently does whale watching/fishing tours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Large room with fireplace and sitting area made our 3 day stay very comfortable. Heather provides a great in brief and then leaves you to do what you want. No intrusions and come and go as you please. No breakfast but a refrigerator and microwave are provided. Bringing food in is allowed. A hot tub would have been nice. Bathroom is standard style but bright and welcoming. Two sinks would be a nice addition. Fireplace was heavenly since it was cool. Heather does the dishes daily but room service outside of that is only as requested over a three day stay. Her husband does fishing parties and is very busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had the best time. Hank and Heather make you feel right at home.
The rooms are clean and spacious with everything you need.
Pacific king charters made fishing a great experience...we all caught salmon and halibut, ling cod too! Hank made the whole experience great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stay here every time I go to Ucluelet. It is so relaxing, the rooms are clean, comfortable and . Private entrances with your own patio. It's not on the main street so is very quiet including not hearing other guests yet is located close enough to walk to town. Selah is just a short walk to the Wild Pacific Trail which in itself is amazing. Heather and Hank are fantastic hosts and are a wealth of information suggesting places to go and things to do. It's a perfect stay if you wish to fish as well........Hank runs Pacific King Fishing Charters. Selah is my home away from home!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Currently on short trip from the UK - flew into Vancouver & following the weather. Anticipated staying 2 nights max but extended for extra night due to hospitality of the owners Heather & Hank and the invaluable local knowledge they provide. We stayed at the Big Beach room - clean & comfortable with a kettle (we English do like our tea!) Fridge allowed us to stock up on picnic items for when we went wandering locally. TV has helped us with our jet lag and the recently installed soundproofing has meant there is minimal noise from neighbouring guests.
Located close to the harbour we took a trip on Hank's boat - it was great fun and made special by Hank's invaluable local knowledge and sense of humour.
The private entrance & patio is a welcome retreat from the sunshine at the end of an eventful day.
Will definitely ensure this b&b is at the top of our wish list for when we return and will be letting friends & family know it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: A previous reviewer mentioned high noise levels but this was not an issue for us as I believe the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ucluelet hotels
0.9 mi away
Liahona Guest House
Liahona Guest House
#13 of 32 in Ucluelet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coast & Toast Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
The He-Tin-Kis Lodge
The He-Tin-Kis Lodge
#1 of 27 in Ucluelet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
1.0 mi away
Hyphocus Inn
Hyphocus Inn
#6 of 32 in Ucluelet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wild Shores Guest House
Wild Shores Guest House
#13 of 27 in Ucluelet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selah Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selah Guest House

Property: Selah Guest House
Address: 711 Rainforest Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing