We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The He-Tin-Kis Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The He-Tin-Kis Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is an amazing place to stay. We enjoyed a great 2 night stay in July. We really enjoyed walks down to the beach and looking at the beautiful views offered by the lodge. The mini kitchenette was very useful. There is only one suggestion we have, you could only wash plates etc. in the bathroom so a small sink would be very useful. Apart from that everything else was perfect. Thanks Tanya for the lovely stay. We hope if we are ever in the area again to visit again in the future :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcfromni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    38
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
145
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ellensburg, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This small and unique lodge was just what we’d hoped for: comfort and privacy, a refreshing change of pace from the usual tourist accommodation. Nestled among huge old-growth trees on the edge of Barkley Sound, we watched a black bear forage across the inlet from our living room window, and were entertained by whales spouting in the deeper water just a bit further out (saving us the cost of a wildlife tour, I might add!). We explored the rocky beaches, visited the local aquarium, and even had a gourmet dinner in a nearby restaurant. But the best part of our stay in Ucluelet was the He-Tin-Kis Lodge itself. A very comfortable, rather rustic yet quite modern establishment with a helpful and accommodating host, it was easy to relax, unwind, and simply absorb the natural beauty of our surroundings. A couple of small things would have made our stay perfect: a bit more "kitchen" to the kitchenette (a small stove or hot plate would have helped, as would not having to wash dishes in the bathroom); a slightly better sleeping arrangement (it was virtually impossible to get out of the bed on the side next to the breakfast bar); regular soap in the bathroom. There was also a certain amount of noise coming from the units on either side (surprising because we really didn't see other people most of the time we were there, and the location is quite secluded). But those things were negligible--the charm and comfort of He-Tin-Kis definitely outweighed the minor inconveniences. We heartily recommend this lodge and hope to return in the future!

Room Tip: A word to the wise: take the gravel driveway REALLY slowly, if you want to keep your tailpipe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The lodge is just as we expected; wonderful views, very comfortable room (even the sofa bed was great) and a lovely restful place, as one would hope for in such a location. We would highly recommend it as a get-away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eilis959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

The accommodation was just what we expected and the views awsome! Very quiet, could not even hear our neighbours and the mini kitchenette enabled us to have a great BBQ. Unfortunately I used the liquie soap provided and had an allergic reaction to it, but this was not the owners fault. I would recommend the accommodation.

Room Tip: Room in the centre had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noreen142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Excellent accommodation in stunning surroundings, helpful but not intrusive owners and close to the town for meals etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyukon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. The room was spacious, very clean, and nicely furnished. The location was great; close to everything but far enough away to be very peaceful. We enjoyed the ocean view and comfortable chairs on the balcony (all rooms face the water). A bonus was the mini kitchenette in the room (fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee, tea kettle, plates, cups, cutlery). The owners of the lodge are very friendly and attentive without being intrusive. I would stay here again and would recommend The He-Tin-Kis Lodge to friends looking for a quiet getaway near Pacific Rim National Park.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We needed some "down time" and your retreat was the perfect spot: lovely and peaceful with a view of the ocean, close to walking trails and yet just a short distance to all the conveniences of Ucluelet. Thank you, we really enjoyed our stay with you.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
21.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
21.1 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Cabins at Terrace Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.3 mi away
A Snug Harbour Inn
A Snug Harbour Inn
#1 of 31 in Ucluelet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.4 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The He-Tin-Kis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The He-Tin-Kis Lodge

Property: The He-Tin-Kis Lodge
Address: 366 Reef Point Road | P.O. Box 861, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The He-Tin-Kis Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The He-Tin-Kis Lodge offers 3 beautiful, self-contained oceanfront suites with spectacular Southwest facing ocean views. Maximum 2 people per suite. Privately situated in a preserved, old-growth rainforest, perched 50 feet above the ocean, in a quiet, pristine bay. Conveniently located near the town center, yet also in the middle of the stunning Wild Pacific Trail. Each suite has a private entrance, connected by a common corridor, and offers private oceanfront balconies. West Coast Contemporary Post & Beam Design. Designer Décor. En-suite Jacuzzi and/or Soaker tubs. Mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, kettle, toaster & dishes. Surrounded by nature, wildlife, and breathtaking beaches! This is an amazing West Coast Retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The He-Tin-Kis Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing