We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Special spot for dinner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norwoods Restaurant

Norwoods Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $75
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Special spot for dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

There may be more scenic restaurant locations all around the Ucluelet and Tofino area but you will not find a better meal. Very high end presentation and complexity and combinations of favors. The biggest surprise for me was the pulled pork taco. I was looking forward to the scallop appetizer after reading all of the reviews but the pork taco was the one that really impressed. The halibut is definitely worth having as well. The tall tables allowed us to watch the chefs prepare our meal which is always interesting. Make certain to take the time to visit Norwoods!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fraser131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    85
    38
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Wrong place, wrong time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

On vacation in Ucluelet, and looking for a pleasant sit-down dinner. Stopped at Norwood's and were shown to our seats in a tiny one-room restaurant. All seating, though, is on high stools as if we were being seated in someone's rec room, so the waitresses had to bring a foot stool for my less-tall wife to clamber up. Perhaps that experience threw us off, but the experience went downhill from there.

We were seated in a rear area close to a wall of fine wines. The only other customers that evening were a four business men already into their wine and waiting presumably on their supper.

We looked through the menu for quite a while, and when the waitress asked how we were doing, we were forced to explain that we were trying to find something that (a) we recognized, from amongst the complicated ingredient lists and exotic descriptions on a very short menu and (b) that actually appealed to our tastebuds.

When we were asked again, we decided that there was nothing we wanted and decided to leave. At the door, we were basically given the 'bum's rush' by the manager who stood by holding the door open for us to expedite our departure. Kudos to the waitress who followed us outside and who took a moment to suggest other places we might enjoy

Frankly, Norwood's struck me as a restaurant with an over-inflated opinion of its own importance, without either the menu or the clientele to back it up. The prices seemed very high for the dishes being offered, especially for a tiny restaurant in a decrepit fishing town, and the list of dishes was quite limited. I didn't eat there, but I don't think I really missed out on much.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petey1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardUcluelet, Owner at Norwoods Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Setting the record straight.

Since trip advisor found this review to within their guidelines and would not remove it from my ratings, I feel I must respond.

At Norwoods we try to be hospitable to all our guests. We offer a varied menu and wine list as well as a comforting and welcoming atmosphere.

When a guest may be elderly or vertically challenged, we offer them a step stool to help them get into our bar height chairs. When a guest asks a question about the menu, we answer it fully and truthfully. When a guest leaves the restaurant we open the door for them and wish them a good night. On the occasions that our restaurant is not where a guest is wishing to dine for the evening, we ask them what they are looking for and direct them to other area restaurants where they may be satisfied.

This is all a matter of course in the hospitality industry. The fact that this reviewer decided to take a “glass half empty” approach to his experience at Norwoods we find unnecessarily negative, and hope that readers of this response will take it with a grain of salt.

Richard Norwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dinner at Norwoods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

For dinner, my husband had steak; I had halibut. The halibut was a little on the dry side but my husband enjoyed his steak. The number of entrees is limited to about 5 choices. Expect to pay around $30-40 per entree...The place fills up fast in the evenings...recommend reservations as seating is limited and there aren't too many finer dining choices in the town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank twofidalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“do not miss this place if in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

this place can put into shame many fancy restaurants in Vancouver .. if you're ever in Tofino/Ucluelet area, do not miss this place. $$$ but it's worth every $

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank timelordx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

After reading reviews on this site we decided to visit for our special dinner celebration. Food was not great, admittedly we had high expectations, Bacon wrapped Halibut was ok but not special, small portions, rather bland. Duck breast was pink, chewy, tasteless, again small, 3 small spring rolls were great, but not enough to change my opinion. dessert goat milk cheesecake was really good.
Service was so-so.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hamidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norwoods Restaurant also viewed

Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 

Been to Norwoods Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing