We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 30 Ucluelet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

A huuuuuge thank you for our stay! My 2 yr daughter and I, including 12 other snowboard/ski friends had the privilege to stay at the hostel for the week, my stay with my daughter was initially supposed to be 2 days, however we could not leave! The hostel/HOME was peeerrrrfect! I have stayed in many many locations globally and this is definitely on the bucket list to return to! The staff, the venue and location are mind blowing!I If you love to get off the beaten track and stretch your wings without the stagnate predicability of "resort" accommodation and sharing your holiday with 800 other people then Surfs Inn Ucluelet is THE place to be! Only a stones throw away from everything which is all within easy access, whilst providing the seclusion one craves on holiday! The staff can organise all your surfing/boarding needs and always go the extra mile and some! Thank you for making us ALL feel at HOME and super duper stoked every second of every day! We will be back!

Room Tip: The hostel if you call it that....is a HOME!! The cabins are exactly that, a private oasis in the fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moniche H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlebray, Owner at Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you so much for all the wonderful things you said!! We hope you will be back soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

Myself and several friends stayed at Surfs Inn for a week and couldn't have found a more welcoming, clean, safe, and fun accommodation and environment!!! Mike Bray, owner, and Chrissy, were always making sure that we were comfortable, had enough sheets, towels, toiletries, etc. to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We were also gracious that our hosts were always filling us in as to what local events were going on, when and where, never hesitating to extend an invite and make us feel welcome.
Uclulet is a lovely town that has all independently run shops. You won't see a Wal Mart in site!
The view from the Inn is incredible as well, with Bald Eagles flying overhead and a harbour a minutes walk away. This is a place where I will most definitely be returning.
I would also highly recommend Relic Surf Shop for any rentals and or lessons, which is just down the street from Surfs Inn.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily-Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlebray, Front Office Manager at Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

It was great having you all here and enjoyed meeting all of you! Thank you Chrissi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just spent a week here and it was great. Friendly staff and owners who went out of there way to make my stay unforgettable. The surfing was amazing. I will be back again and again. Thanks again for everything surfs inn.

Room Tip: I only slept in my room. Common room was really nice. Fire place was sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank braydan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Myself and 16 other exchange students had the privilege of staying at Surfsinn in February 2014.
Not only were the staff friendly, they were accommodating with allowing us to pay when all our guests arrived and split it equally between the 18 of us. Information for everything we needed such as surfing lessons (with special deals included), nightlife and hiking trails were all provided for us too which was very helpful! Overall, we had a great experience and i would recommend Surfsinn to anyone staying in Ucluelet, BC, Canada :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassielee91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I know they have a few properties so this is just our experience of Hummingbird cottage - we didn't like it at all, and we would have changed if we were staying longer (we only stayed 2 nights).

This cottage is set in someone's backyard!!

Not a secluded part of town or anywhere secluded, as we were lead to believe!!!
The man in the 'main house' cut the grass as soon as we arrived - which was annoying and made us feel weird.

The cottage is ok, but there is an instruction sheet saying we have to do our dishes and remove the sheets from the bed. Ok, but a bit weird? I have never had to do this before!!!

There is no tv - not a big deal. The internet was slow. There were no SCREENS on the windows (what is it with no screens at holiday cabins?) so to get any fresh air in, the 1 or 2 windows that actually opened did not have a screen. Most of the windows did not open.

Also we were accosted by the lady in the house when she thought she saw my husband smoking INSIDE - he had walked to the cottage, put it out in an ashtray and came inside. She came running in the back door saying the whole place is non-smoking. We didn't know what she was talking about - he only smoked outside. It was VERY WEIRD and made us feel like they were spying on us all the time. She even asked him 'Are you sure you don't have a cigarette behind your back?' because he was standing with one arm behind him.

In conclusion, it did not feel like a secluded holiday cottage with any privacy. Maybe their other cottages are properly private, but this one was not.

We only picked this one because there was a BBQ available, but then when we went to use it last night the BBQ lighter was nowhere to be found, and the one on the BBQ didn't work. So that was pretty annoying.

Also the check in time was 4pm, and check out time was 9-10:30. So it was annoying to have to hang around ucluelet (since we were kicked out of our cottage in Tofino at 10 am as well) until 4pm. I don't understand these late check in times???

Room Tip: Don't stay in Hummingbird Cottage - the other ones sound much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laulaupip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlebray, Manager at Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Hummingbird Cottage. This is a property that we manage and therefore take full responsibility for. It is unfortunate that you were made to feel like this during your stay. We have passed this feedback on to the owners of the cottage who live in the other building on site here. We do regret that you were disturbed by the mowing and interactions with the owners which from your perspective were less than tactful. We have asked that they approach us directly to deal with any suspected breaches in conduct (such as their suspicions that you were smoking inside). We sincerely hope that this doesn't detract from any plans to return to the west coast of Vancouver Island in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Nice one room loft with tiny kitchen, full bathroom, outdoor bbq and rustic atmosphere. Close to harbour, supermarkets, rain forest trail. A little bit small and bed in the "second floor" only for sporty people (ladder). Forest and wildlife (deer) around cottage. Very nice and relaxed place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MUC_PUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlebray, Manager at Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as in general on the west coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Elephant Cottage which lists that it sleeps 6 but actually has enough beds for 7. We are a family of 4 and were quite comfortable. Our children are ages 4 and 1 and found the cottage very kid friendly. While in the cottage you have the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere but are actually in a very central location, close to everything you could want. There is a fire pit outside, while trying to get a fire started my husband almost got runover by a deer! Can't get much more of a wilderness feel than that! Staff are very friendly and clearly work hard to make the place clean and enjoyable for everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soontobemomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlebray726, Manager at Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Hello, Thank you so much for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed the Elephant Cottage on your stay with your family. All the best! Chrissi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
1.2 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
247 reviews
19.5 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Whale's Tail Guest Suites
Whale's Tail Guest Suites
#8 of 11 in Ucluelet
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
0.5 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#10 of 11 in Ucluelet
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse

Address: 1874 Peninsula Rd | PO Box 496, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Price Range: $39 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages in Ucluelet, British Columbia are set in the forest and central to town. There are several property types to choose from depending on group size to allow for each guest's needs. They all have their own private bathrooms and cooking facilities including a deck with a bbq, free parking and wifi. Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages are all comfortable and clean. The best retreat after hiking, surfing, relaxing and exploring! On the same property, the Surfs Inn Guesthouse is the perfect vacation house for the social traveler or larger groups (up to a maximum of 18). Come sit by our rock-face fire place and tell your travelling tales! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing