We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 30 Ucluelet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The owners are very friendly and helpful. Some dorm rooms are very small but the beds are good and clean. There is a big kitchen to cook something and everybody has place to stow his food. The kitchen and the bathrooms are very clean. Everyday comes a cleaner!!!!!!!!!!
The guests of this hostel were very nice!
Nice place to stay :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smp147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 81 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

Stayed in the main house Hostel (not the guest cottages out back). Rates are very fair, Check-in was super simple & friendly. Main floor has kitchen, living etc, and 2 Hostel rooms: one Bunk room and 1 Private. Upstairs has more sleeping rooms as well as a 2nd Bathroom.
This property gives a discounted Surf pkg rate at Relic- ask about it!

NEEDS IMPROVEMENT:
- When I say sparse I mean it: the Bunk room we were in had 2 bunk beds, an old plywood dresser, and that's it. I don't imply that there needs to be any expensive upgrades- seriously, just a few rows of hooks to hang drying towels/swimsuits, and maybe a mirror with a shelf. This would greatly cut down on the bathroom requirements for the potential 6 guests : 1 Bath ratio on the first floor (putting in contacts, applying sunscreen/makeup, etc).

- BBQ's are in pretty rough shape and are positioned outside completely in the dark; there's a floodlight just around the corner so there doesn't seem to be a good reason for having to cook by flashlight??

- if the Inn says quiet time is 11 PM, I'd hope they'd maintain the rule. It's smoother for everyone if the Inn owners enforce the rules, rather than leaving it to guests. My experience of lying in bed, with a very loud chat in the main living room over Skype until midnite was irritating, to say the least. I was unfortunately privy to both sides of the whole His & Hers conversation to Australia as she had her computer speakers turned up so loud. Granted, the Inn can't be blamed for rude travelers but it would have been nice for them to have been on hand to tell her to shut it down. I had gone to bed an hour earlier & tried instead to imagine the sound of soothing waves (no dice).
- on that note: As in most shared accommodations, you may want to bring earplugs. When I saw the quaint older home now turned Hostel, I had imagined it quite cozy- but the reality is there are large gaps under all of the room doors and loud wooden floors throughout. So if people are in the kitchen at 6:30 am having a chat (as they were on my stay), prepare to hear the conversation in your first floor room.

GOOD STUFF:
- Clean rooms & washroom
- BBQ available
- Comfy (foam) beds & bedding
- Recycling encouraged & containers provided
- A smaller hostel with limited amount of guests so you won't end up crammed in a room with dozens of others (very nice!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank o_mountainaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The Surfs Inn Guesthouse has two wee cottages down the back of the property (down the long driveway) which are stand-alone and have all their own amenities.

I stayed here with two friends in late June 2011 and we LOVED the Elephant Cottage - had two of the best nights' sleep in a long time in this extremely comfortable cottage, which is situated right in the forest - so serene.

Ucluelet is lovely - I saw one reviewer described it as Tofino's ugly sister or something similar but I don't agree at all. We thought Tofino was gorgeous but actually very industry oriented; the views of the gorgeous inlets are mainly obstructed by all the kayak/boat tour outfitters and I felt (my opinion!) that the village itself had lost some of its charm. Ucluelet, on the other hand, was lovely and the location of the Surfs Inn was great, which gives you the opportunity to see both villages.

The Elephant Cottage comes with a fully equipped kitchen (oven/stove, microwave, full-size fridge, pots, pans, cutlery, plates, glasses, etc etc - literally all you need!) as well as a BBQ and chiminea (remember your ingredients for s'mores!). We went grocery shopping in Nanaimo as we heard that food prices in Tofino/Ucluelet were more expensive and it turns out there is no supermarket in Ucluelet so we were glad we'd shopped. We cooked dinner and made packed lunches in the kitchen so it really has all the equipment/utensils that you'd need.

There are two bedrooms (each with its own ensuite), one bedroom with a king bed and a single bunk over the top of it, and a door that opens up to the back of the cottage and directly into the forest - simply gorgeous. The second room has double bunk beds so technically the place could sleep 6-7 people but I would say is more suitable for 4 or 5 since the sitting room area is very small. The sitting room has a gas fire which is fantastic, very rustic and beautiful. The place is genuinely lovely.

The cottage is perfectly clean and provides towels/linens, as well as free wifi and its own parking space.

The staff were fabulous with their suggestions for hikes, and providing us with everything we'd need for our stay (firewood for the chiminea, maps, etc). We really, really enjoyed our stay at the Elephant Cottage - I would definitely go back if I make it over to Ucluelet again. It really was fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwigirlincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We were very pleased with the hostel in general. The common area has a fireplace and a well equipped kitchen. We got to talking with other travelers, aswell.
The Surf's Inn has friendly staff, however, taking off your shoes any time you enter the hostel turns out to be quite annoying.
The rooms are nice but a little small and there unfortunately is hardly any place for one's personal belongings.
The bathrooms are clean and we never had to queue.
We would go there again our next time in Ukee!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikesh91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

we intended to stay only one night in this hostel. But with the large kitchen and nice livingroom it felt like a home. We stayed for four days. The staff had great tips on where to see bears fish for salmon (awesome free trip!!) and what to do around town.
Good atmosphere, clean, nice rooms.
If you are there, go rent a bike at ukee bikes and explore the island. SUPER friendly staff (picked us up from tofino when i sprained my ankle and couldn´t ride back)
Very good prices on great bikes (we are dutch, we know our bikes)

Altogether, Ucluelet is more real then tofino and cheaper as well.
Another must do!!
The lady rose marine service to or from port alberni.
Beatiful trip and fwhalewatching on the way! Why pay for a whale watching trip..

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delsken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

There are two cottages around the back of the main guesthouse, in amongst some trees. One is split into two 'loft' suites ie a studio bedroom, bathroom and kitchen sink downstairs, and a double bed platform in a loft upstairs (up a ladder!). The modern log cabin-themed accommodation is clean, with a TV, free wifi and a big BBQ and seating outside. Note there isn't a separate hob inside if you want to cook. There are a few great places to grab an easy and tasty bite to eat and lots of good walking/kayaking spots nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andslau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I fear the location of the hostel (in Ucluelet) is going to spoil my overall review of the hostel - Ucluelet has been referred to Tofino's ugly little sister and sadly I have to agree. However the hostel was neat and tidy, the kitchen well equipped for everything you need to make a decent meal, and the beds large and clean. The guys running it were really helpful
in reccomending stuff to do and the best places to eat and get coffee. The open fire was a welcomed extra when it got a little cold in the evening.

However the area is more suited to couples rather than the lone traveller - or the traveller with a car. Everything is as accessible as if you were in Tofino if you have a car, however if you do not the lack of food places and excursions can make Ucluelet very sleepy.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englishbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ucluelet hotels
1.2 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
0.4 mi away
Whale's Tail Guest Suites
Whale's Tail Guest Suites
#8 of 11 in Ucluelet
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
0.1 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#10 of 11 in Ucluelet
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse

Address: 1874 Peninsula Rd | PO Box 496, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Price Range: $37 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages in Ucluelet, British Columbia are set in the forest and central to town. There are several property types to choose from depending on group size to allow for each guest's needs. They all have their own private bathrooms and cooking facilities including a deck with a bbq, free parking and wifi. Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages are all comfortable and clean. The best retreat after hiking, surfing, relaxing and exploring! On the same property, the Surfs Inn Guesthouse is the perfect vacation house for the social traveler or larger groups (up to a maximum of 18). Come sit by our rock-face fire place and tell your travelling tales! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surfs Inn Rainforest Cottages and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing