We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy, luxury, comfort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London but always travelling
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Trendy, luxury, comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

Apart from the towels not being quite big enough and no slippers it was almost perfect. It took a while to get the bathroom floor heating working (ESSENTIAL AS IT'S GRANITE). Shower was best ever. Large living room. Good bay/rainforest view. Lounge service could have been snappier and cocktails a bit feeble/weak.


Would definately go back and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    363
    157
    52
    31
See reviews for
302
894
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed at this property shortly after it opened in mid 2009 and although there was still some construction going on around the hotel, it didn't matter. It is definitely a "high end" hotel in terms of price and ammenities, but after our stay I would go there again in a heartbeat. The rooms were great, fantasic showers and the hotel restaurant was first rate. All service was fast, effiecient and performed by pleasant staff. It is an oasis of luxury among the wilds of the Island's west coast, a perfect contrast to the primordial hiking and environment of this rugged area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
262 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

During a two-night stay in September, we reveled in the luxury of our king-bed suite on the third floor of the main building. Our balcony looked out upon the Pacific Ocean through a copse of wind-blown trees. We were close enough to hear the surge and the occasional bark of a sea lion. The only other sounds came from walkers on the Wild Pacific Trail, which winds right past the resort and carries on up the coast for another 4 or 5 kilometres of dramatic surf and scenery.

The resort sits on the shoreline of a small rocky bay right on the edge of Ucluelet. There is a lot of development in the area: resorts, homes, cabins, and all attendant services. This activity, and the proximity of the town centre (only an easy 15-minute walk away) means that the experience at the Black Rock is more about luxury than wilderness isolation. Most of the units in the main building have a glimpse of the ocean, those toward the water end (such as ours in 316) offer much better views than those toward the road. The four-unit “cabins” arranged on a slope near the main building also offer a view of the ocean, but some of these have parking tarmac both behind and in front – not exactly perched above the breakers. Nevertheless, the location remains dramatic, probably more so during winter storms rather than in the fog of August and September.

The development is relatively new and our suite reflected the current standard for luxury: a large lounge with a gigantic flat-screen HD TV, an expansive balcony, quality blinds and windows, a kitchenette better than most full-sized kitchens, a lovely bedroom and king bed with good personal lighting a linen, and an enormous but awkward bathroom. We particularly appreciated the kitchen equipment: a good sink, a lunch counter, dishwasher, half-height fridge, combination microwave and oven, two-element stove, fine dishes, glasses and utensils. The room was well-insulated from sound and cold. All the windows were double-glazed, essential during the winter winds, I imagine.

The bathroom was awkward because it was too large. Even with a rain show in a large glass stall, a free-standing soaker tub, and a granite-topped vanity, there was acres of space left over. Lighting was poor and too complicated. No less than three switches controlled the lighting combinations, none of which was adequate for the vanity mirror. The toilet was tucked into an odd corner. The final bit of awkwardness (or excitement, depending on your point of view) was a non-locking sliding glass window that opened the bathroom on to the bedroom.
.
Checkin was well-handled and polite and staff were obviously well-versed. The lobby and bar and restaurant all have a superlative view of the bay, and fine pieces of west coast art adorn the large public spaces. The Black Rock would probably serve well for a large social gathering or business meeting.

Overall, we were well satisfied. It is an open question as to whether this place is worth its high room rate.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

We were completely wowed by the shear beauty of the resort, magnificently situated so that every room and area of this resort showcased the ocean and beautiful beaches.

When we arrived, our host showed us to our room and told us about the amenities and where everything was. He was so professional and friendly! We fell in love with this resort because of the staff and ambiance, secludedness and most of all beauty.

They are even dog friendly and the reception staff offered to look after our small dog when we went for dinner! The restaurant was top-notch and perfect for a romantic dinner or sunday funday on the patio. When we were about to leave, we noticed we had a flat tire. Our host even tried to help us fix it, lent us his tire pump and directed us to the nearest place to have it fixed.

We will most definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

Very comfortable rooms. Recommend requesting ocean view at time of reservation. New property, well appointed (no room or turndown service), lacking some polish (staff still learning to deliver an experience equal to the quality of the facilities). Very quiet (fridge was loud). Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peislander37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

Fantastic hotel! I really loved that is a 5 star hotel but is not stuck up. Staff were so friendly and amazing, very fast to meet all of our needs. My sister and I had terrific massages in the spa, loved the hot tub (listening to the waves crashing in right beside), the close by walking trails, and the tasty food! Rooms were so so comfortable and posh. Incredible beds, high quality linens and mattresses and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom is amazing! Slate floors, stand alone tub, rain shower. I can't wait to stay here again! We also loved that this resort is a bit removed from Tofino - more relaxing that way.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

Stayed for three days in August. Great location (if slightly difficult to find because not yet in TomTom GPS) with spectacular views to the see. Stylish hotel with good team. Contrary to one of contributors not disappointed by view out in to the bay and with windows open the constant lapping of the sea. August is the time of fog, so some of the view shrouded for some of the stay but create great atmospherics with distant booming of fog horn. Drive 10 minutes in land and full sunshine. Excellent two bedroom suite. Impressive bathroom and show. Possible to open sliding window in bathroom to look through bedroom out to the sea.
Have their own access to West Pacific Trail - a 4-5 Km coastal walk around Ucluelet with good views and access to coves for exploring. 25 minute drive to Pacific Rim National Park and probably 50 minutes to Tofino. Good restaurant (Fetch) - best to reserve, if slightly crowded (tables too close together) with great food and wine - although prices to match. Ate their first evening, while eating in Ucluelet - Matheson's second night (10 minutes drive). Very filling breakfasts and saw Bald Eagle on terrace first morning. My wife strongly recommends the Spa facial. Special mention of Judd, who was working the summer there from Ontario and gave us a great tour of our room at the start.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurofolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
20.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
18.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
18.4 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
0.7 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Property: Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Address: 596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Black Rock Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Oceanfront Hotel Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing