We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,819)
Filter reviews
1,819 results
Traveler rating
1,005
472
203
84
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,005
472
203
84
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fetch restaurant float lounge rain shower main building the wild pacific trail ocean view pacific spirit one bedroom suite floor to ceiling windows the kitchen soaker tub heated floors on the rocks amazing views large balcony crashing waves trail suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,819 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2019 via mobile

No idea where all the high reviews come from. There are a lot of fundamental basics wrong with this place for the price point.

1.) Parking is a nightmare. Seems like there are not enough parking spaces for paying guests.

2.) Spa is nice, but the “relaxing” plunge pool seems to be frequented by kids screaming jumping in and out. When we asked them to please not scream, the parents looked at us like we were the ones being rude. Sat in the hot tub enjoying the view and a group of 8 Asian people came down screaming at one another taking photos of the view stood all around the hot tub which is a small area. Again, we paid for use of the spa, which was spoiled.

3.) The room - the blinds are pointless. They are not black out and at night when my wife walked past and I had the lights on, she said she could clearly see me outside in a towel. Which is worrying as there was a footpath right outside our balcony. The coffee in the room is quite possibly the worst we’ve tasted in any of the hundreds of hotels and motels we’ve stayed in across 6 continents and 80+ countries. Which is impressive. It doesn’t taste like coffee. The bed is very hard, and squeaks every movement you make.

4.) Other guests - this can’t be helped but someone’s dog was barking loudly throughout the night and the people above were thumping round like elephants and were up until the early hours shouting and laughing. Then there smoke alarm went off, which they seemed to think was hilarious. Called front desk, nothing was done. Not restful.

5.) When you come to a 4 star hotel spa and restaurant and spend a lot of money for your stay, you expect use of the restaurant. ESPECIALLY when there is nothing in walking distance nearby and even the options a short drive away are limited. But the restaurant was closed for a private function. Sorry but private functions should not be held to the detriment to the rest of the hotel who now have nowhere to eat!

All in all it was a bad experience, and other than it being very swanky on the surface, there are a lot of fundamentals missing to make this close to a 4 star hotel experience!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank ibodyslamrhinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

Front staff was extremely unhelpful. Booked our room months ago, was told “ocean view room not guaranteed”. Why can’t I book an ocean view room when I’m booking months ahead? It’s also off-season.

Black Rock does not offer room service, which was not that big a deal, but what was more frustrating was the front desk staff didn’t seem to understand basic hospitality terminology. They seemed to think “room service” meant housekeeping. Since they don’t have room attendants of any type, this really shouldn’t be considered a “resort”. It’s more a collection of independently owned but centrally managed vacation suites - not at all a hotel.

We ended up getting put in a ground floor room where people would walk by and look into our room. The blinds were not opaque either, so it felt like we had no privacy.

We ate in the lounge where the staff worked very hard, but service was slow and they seemed to be understaffed. The meal was expensive which we don’t mind if it’s good, but one of our meals was over cooked, dried out, and it took so long to receive we just didn’t want to send it back.

The fireplace which was advertised did not work. We tried calling the front desk but was put on hold for 15 minutes. I hung up and called back, could hear the front desk people pick up, and put us right back on hold. We thought about walking over to the front desk but the staff was unhelpful when we checked in, neither of us wanted to change out of pjs and deal with a front desk person saying “yeah nooooooooo” without any offering of alternate solutions.

The in floor heating in the bathroom was disabled as well. This place was built to be a 4 star resort and is actually a very cheaply run air bnb.

The bed was sagging and uncomfortable, probably hadn’t been replaced in years. The carpet outside the room was dirty and hadn’t been vacuumed in at least a day, which added to the other things just shows a lack of care.

There is no soundproofing in the rooms! How did this happen? We could hear people in the room above us walking around after midnight, through the floor!

After a very disturbed attempt at sleep we ended up checking out around 1am and just going home.

We were given a gift certificate for a two night stay. We could only stay for one night, and the Black Rock just KEPT THE DIFFERENCE. We could not use the credit on the gift certificate to upgrade the room, or in the restaurant or the spa. We feel bad that our friend gave us this wedding present and we got only half the value she paid.

We live locally and this is our first stay at the Black Rock. We will never stay again, and do not recommend it.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank WckV3555FO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in March/19. We booked a dog friendly 1 bedroom trail suite with a view. The entire stay was fantastic. Our room looked over a breathtaking view of big beach. Room amenities included a well stocked kitchen, good sized fridge, living room with large flat screen tv and fireplace. The bathroom was massive, with heated granite floors, soaker tub and oversized shower. The bedroom had a king size bed facing the ocean.

Service at the hotel and restaurant was outstanding. Staff were friendly and attentive. We ate dinner at the float lounge one evening and had breakfast at Fetch one morning.

Lots of great hiking around Ucluelet along the Wild Pacific trail. Excellent secluded beaches great for exploration. Took day trips to Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Restaurants in Ucluelet served great food and had a home town feel.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 507mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

Booked three nights in an ocean view cabin and had a wonderful stay. Despite some of the other reviews we found the rooms well cleaned and the staff very friendly,accomidating and proffessional. Isaiah the concierge was perticularily exellent to deal with. He was well spoken and made us feel welcome. Thanks for an exellent stay folks. We will definetly be back.

Snugglefoose and the Muffin signing off.

Ps:Im not alowed to post our picture but i really want to.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Snugglefoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019

The view is stunning and the rooms are beautifully appointed. There is a nice little beach a short walk away. We could hear noise from neighbors but the ocean waves helped drown it out. Unfortunately the restaurant was really disappointing.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews