We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,754)
Filter reviews
1,754 results
Traveler rating
978
451
201
77
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
978
451
201
77
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfetch restaurantfloat loungerain showermain buildingthe wild pacific trailocean viewdrift spaone bedroom suitepacific spiritfloor to ceiling windowsthe kitchenheated floorslarge balconysoaker tubon the rocksamazing viewscrashing waves
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1,754 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2018

The Black Rock is very impressive. Stunning views looking out onto the Pacific. Our room did not have a sea view although we did request one . The rooms are very well furnished with a mini kitchen, beautiful bathroom and king size bed, our room overlooked the forest. The only downside it was very hot in the room and there was only a fan for air movement which did not make it any cooler, and we did not open the window because of bugs. It is a great base for exploring.

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Director of Sales & Marketing at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Fiona B,
thank you for your lovely review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay on the magical west coast! Please feel free to contact me, I will gladly look into what happened in regards to the ocean view room you reserved. No hotels on the coast currently have air conditioning, but all the patio doors have screen and we also have complimentary cooling unit, which can be brought up to your room.
Looking forward to be your hosts again,
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

We never got as far as a completed reservation.

Sent 5 emails requesting availability for bed n breakfast next June.

Couldn't get the information from their spokeswoman!

Seems our # of guests (4) in a 'family unit' was too difficult a concept to grasp?

Did try to get a costing inclusive of all charges, taxes, and what exactly was included, but twas 'like pulling teeth', as the saying goes, eventually we let it go.

We know the Blackrock Resort from previous trips to Long Beach and region, just wished to get the skinny on staying THERE, as opposed to other options (there are many).

Turns out, it was a "bridge too far".

Got 'partial' info, lots of cut n paste replies, just not INDIVIDUAL for OUR situation "specifics".
As we were inquiring on behalf of another couple travelling together, we didn't know what to report back.

We may drop in personally to Black Rock when we are physically in Ucluelet, as 'mail' and phone inquiries did not bear fruit.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank B V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Director of Sales & Marketing at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear r s,
We would like to learn more about your situation and what exactly happened, and which email or mailing address you have used for the correspondence with us. The email info@blackrockresort.com if monitored 24/7 by our Guest Service team. Please, give me a call at (250) 726-4807. I look forward to hearing from you and look into what happened.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile


We arrived about 17:45 We booked B&B and a very early bear watching tour next morning (before breakfast service), we asked for a picnic because we couldn’t have breakfast at the hotel. The receptionist told to us you need to tell it 24 hours in advance, but sometimes they do an exception. He send a message to the restaurant and they told them it was not possible for us. We were three people in our room, we call to the reception to ask to make ready our sofa bed, they said it was ready, but we have to open the sofa bed ourselves. I tried to exchange some $ dollar but they told me the rate was one one, I find that a really ripe off, in Vancouver and Victoria we got 126 CANADIAN dollar for every 100 USA dollar. As I said great location, but they should think more about the needs of the customers.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank Ricardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Director of Sales & Marketing at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Ricardo P,
thank you so much for taking the time to write to us. We really appreciate your feedback. I am certain you will agree that Vancouver and Victoria have hundreds of options and exchange offices which of course, our beautiful town does not have. We have a total of 3 restaurants on site, and food is available daily from 7am to 10pm. Outside of our opening hours, we have snacks and drinks vending machine available. There are currently no option for food 24/7 in both Tofino and Ucluelet. Although we are a 3-star resort, we thrive on offering our guests with a 5-star experience. We hope to be serving you again in the future,
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

We enjoyed three nights at this oceanfront resort perched on the black rocks lining the coast. Our room was great in terms of the view, comfortable bed, fireplace, sizeable bathroom and shower, balcony and amenities such as coffee, etc. It was nice to stay inside the main building so walking to the restaurant and spa did not require donning outerwear. We enjoyed wonderful facials at the spa and although there was a mix-up with our spa reservations, the staff recovered the situation quickly. The food is great. We enjoyed breakfast and dinners at Fetch throughout our stay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. A highlight is the ability to walk the Pacific Rim trail starting right at the front door of the resort. This is not to be missed. Absolutely spectacular scenery and moderate difficulty. The Artists Loops are wonderful along the trail and take you to the edge of the cliffs. The resort location provides a nice home base to visit the beautiful beaches, rainforest, harbor area of Ucluelet, Tofino and the local lighthouse. A few things that could use improvement: provide directions in the room for turning on the fireplace and the bathroom sink plug. Our sink was draining very slowly so we called for maintenance twice and when they finally came, the solution was simply to press down on the plug to pop it open. We had never seen this type of drain before. Also, our room was right above the pool/hot tub so in the late afternoon when we wanted to quietly relax, read or nap in our room or on our balcony, it could be noisy with kids playing in the pool or adults talking loudly. We would request a different room on our next visit. The lounge area of the spa faces the pool/hot tub so again, if there are kids or people playing/talking loudly, it interrupts the serenity of relaxing before or after a spa treatment. Some type of drapes to obscure that part of the view may help. Overall, we had a very nice stay and would recommend this property to others.

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank kahula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Director of Sales & Marketing at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear kahula,
Thank you for leaving such a nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay; our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise. They work very diligently and it will provide them with great encouragement to keep doing what they are doing. We hope to have the lovely pleasure to be your hosts again on the rugged west coast. Thank you, once again, for your kind words.
Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Not even a breakfast for $500 per night? Seriously?
Both the bed and the sofa bed were extremely uncomfortable. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi were too small and dirty. The amount of money you pay for this resort takes up expectations and expectations were not met at all. In contrast to the rate, the staff and service was very very cheap. The resort is located in a very nice spot though. I do not recommend staying here at all unless they lower they prices by at least %50.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank this_is_randomness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Director of Sales & Marketing at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear this_is_randomness,
thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We absolutely do offer Bed and Breakfast Package; it is really disappointing we did not get the chance to speak with you and solve this. Our room rate starts at $299 per night in the summer months, and will vary depending on the room type and occupancy. Next time, please walk right up a manager and voice your concerns. We want hear all about your concerns and address them in the most suitable way. We look forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews